We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shearwater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Shearwater Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shearwater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 656: English reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

To whom it may concern, this evening whilst meeting a friend for dinner in the shearwater hotel, we had what could only be described as a sub-standard experience. Firstly we waited for approx 10 Mins before I was forced to get menus for us, after another 20 min wait we were finally approached by a staff member who enquired what...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Micheál K
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Micheal K, Thank you for you feedback and due to the very serious nature of your feedback I will be trying to make contact with you direclty, Should you get the opportunity I would be most grateful if you could contact me at the below email address. Yours sincerely, Garrett McGuinness gmcguinness@shearwaterhotel.com

Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for my daughters communion.We had the full celebration at the hotel so we were here for the full day and stayed the night in a junior suite. The hotel itself is very nice, beautiful entrance, clean toilets and friendly staff, however it is clear that the air conditioning is broken in all areas of the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth S, Many thanks for your feedback and concerning to learn of the poor guest care you experienced. You can be assured that this is being dealth with to ensure we maintain our consistent high standards. Should you be staying with us in the future, please contact me directly when making the booking. Yours sincerely, Garrett McGuinness gmcguinness@shearwaterhotel.com

Reviewed 26 July 2015

Went for a 3nite stay with breakfast and dinner for all 3 nites with a 3 piece spa for one of the days. Apon arrival we were in the town the world forgot, we could not even get a taxi to the hotel but wen we arrived it was like walking into a time portal from the town to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mercy U
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mercy U, Thank you for feedback and apologies for the initail issues with your guest bedroom. Delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel property and that the team took care of all your requirements. Yours sincerely, Garrett McGuinness

cork
Reviewed 22 July 2015

I got a very good rate for a single room via one of the booking websites. Room was superb and spotlessly clean, My room was at the end of a corridor a long walk from the lifts, so bear that in mind if you have problems with mobility. Ask for a room nearer the lifts. This was the first time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BernieCastle
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Berniecastle, Thank you for your valued feedback and great to receive the postive feedback regarding your guestroom, Surf and Turf dish and the great guest care that Kristina delivered on front desk. However, concerning that the level of consistency in guest care was not at its usual standards, regarding the service in our bar area. This will be addressed...

Reviewed 19 July 2015

I've stayed here for three nights during the past few years in November for the AOIFE Festival conference with my hubby who's involved. I just enjoy the break. It's a lovely hotel and has all the amenities like leisure centre and pool which I use, and the restaurant in the bar has a lovely variety of tasty dishes. The banqueting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine R, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your conference experience with us, all of which will be passed onto the team. We have recently undergone the required process to amend the property Wifi sign in process, which will essentially remove the requriement for the sign in process. Many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to...

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I visit the Shearwater regularly. I've to say that it is a nice hotel. You pay for what you get. However, the service is very slow.(especially in the restaurant!- the service is terrible!) The outside of the hotel and surrounding area is very disappointing. There's nothing nice about the drive into the hotel but the interior does make up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laoise1990
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laoise, Many thanks for your valued feedback and you can be assured that your experience relating to your restaurant experience is being shared with the relevant team members, with full corrective action being taken. Your comments regarding the rear of the property have been shared by a number of guests, but we are currently trying to address this with...

Mayobridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

we had booked a two night stay at the shearwater hotel. When we arrived we were quite pleased with size off the hotel. It's just a pity there is nothing but waste land all around it, not very pleasant to look at. At check in we were told that we had to pay when we checked out but we thought...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank unamcb
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Unamcb, Thank for your feedback regarding your stay with us, but naturally very disappointing that we fell short in many areas of your experience with us. Your feedback regarding certain physical attributes of the property has been noted and indeed there is planned works for particular areas of the property. Most conerning however is the poor level of guest...

Dublin Ireland
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Great lea sure centre. Food was ok. Had steak on the stone fab but vegetables are awful. Garlic potatoes dry as was ordinary potato es. Mushrooms leathery. Could not order chips? Bar dark and could do with background music. Good location. John the bar man very friendly and interesting to talk to. I'm not sure I'd go there again. Pillows...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bannerdublinireland
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bannerdublinireland, Many thanks for the feedback and John will be delighted with the special mention, as he takes great pleasure in meeting and gettting to know guests at the Shearwater hotel. Disappointing that your meal fell short on both the vegetables and potatoe, as the Steak on a Stone option is extremely popular with both local and guests alike....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a family suite in this hotel it was roomy but very run fown . Breakfast buffet was just functional . Ok priced . Well located to the big Tesco , aldi and Lidl stores . Car park is underground and it's not possible to drive up to the main reception door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileen H, Thank you for both your postive and constructive feedback. I note your feedback relating the guestroom presentation, and we have painting/touch up programme planned for the guest room in the latter part of the year. Many thanks again for the valued feedback. Yours sincerley, Garrett McGuinness

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We had a short weekend trip to Ballinasloe last month to visit family. We stayed at the Shearwater hotel and found this hotel still to be welcoming and homely. The staff are absolutely great and can't do enough to help you. We had breakfast at the hotel each morning and there was a good selection for our family group -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pam-Ruislip
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pam-ruislip, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Shearwater hotel and delighted that you got to enjoy all of the property facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Garrett McGuinness

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.5 km away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
21.8 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,672 reviews
28.0 km away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,849 reviews
21.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
18.4 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#8 of 9 in Athlone
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Price Range: $69 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Shearwater Hotel Ballinasloe, Ireland - County Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shearwater Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Shearwater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use the free underground car park”
 of 5 bubbles PatW798, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure it's not a smokers room”
 of 5 bubbles 102patrician, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If not part of a big event there, ask for a room away from where the groups are lodged. Higher up floors might have some view of area.”
 of 5 bubbles CAMermaid, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to check the security of your doors”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewPellowe, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Overnight truck deliveries to stores on the front side. Perhaps quieter in the rear!”
 of 5 bubbles mmi6, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay