We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abbey Hotel

1.4 km from Roscommon centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

580 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 572: English reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Attended my cousins wedding here and it was brilliant. The setting with the old abbey as a backdrop is unique and magical, the staff and the food was very good. The rooms very comfortable and they were very accommodating for those of us who wished to keep the party going into the wee hours.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irishrob88
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We went to this hotel for a night away from Dublin. Cute area, with access to local restaurants and pubs. We enjoyed our morning in the leisure centre - with plenty of offerings. Only complaint I have is to open your leisure centre later in the evenings. Otherwise, had a lovely stay with my husband. Breakfast offerings were wonderful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatelynSpurr
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel offers a really well presented 1920's setting while remaining modern with the huge flat screen tv's in the room and basic amenities. We had a bottle of prosecco and chocolates as part of our deal and it was a lovely touch to perfect our stay. We had a drink at the bar and it was quiet enough but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ioana R
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ioana R, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Abbey Hotel and delighted that your overall experience justified your hotel selection. It is always especially pleasing to receive guest feedback that draws on all areas of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Regards, Elaine McNamara

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We attended a wedding at the Abbey Hotel on 21/12/2016. The food served was fantastic and seconds of the main course were even offered to anybody who had enough room left! The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I would recommend the Abbey hotel for a short break or a wedding venue.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Estelle H
Wexford
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised with the beautiful setting. Bar has a nice modern twist but in keeping with the beautiful Hotel exterior. Staff are excellent, I had enquired the time it would take me to get to my destination in the morning at reception and when I returned later in the evening I was presented with a map and an AA road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carraiglodge
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carraiglodge, Thank you for your great review and for choosing to stay with us at the Abbey Hotel. We continuously strive to offer an exceptional level of quality in all areas of the property while still ensuring value for the experience received, so to receive feedback to this tune is really rewarding. I look forward to welcoming you back...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The Abbey Hotel, Roscommon is a family hotel within a short walk of the town centre. This is a traditional family run hotel with a leisure centre and numerous rooms for meetings, weddings etc. Friendly staff and comfortable well furnished bedrooms. Good food from the bar or restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael71042
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael71042, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Abbey Hotel and for taking the time to forward your valued feedback. It is always especially pleasing to receive guest feedback that draws on all areas of the property. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards, Elaine McNamara

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Arrived at 8.45 pm My wife and handicapped brother in law were with me.Went straight to the bar ,had an enjoyable bar meal.Enjoyed 3pints of well kept Guinness.I have always found the staff to be most helpful and pleasant,which is typical of people from rural Ireland.We had a large bedroom with a well equipped bathroom.In the morning we enjoyed a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wolverhampton100
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We were two adults two children, and from the first point of contact on the phone we were treated exceptionally, I had made 3 phonecalls! The Hotel is cosy, comfortable and the hospitality is so genuine and great to see this still exists in Ireland. We used the pool twice which was immaculate. The bedroom was clean and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David l
Donabate
Reviewed 7 November 2016

My 6th time staying here. It's always nice to come here. The decor in room does need a spruce up ( material on wardrobe torn, bath panel broken) and pool could have been a little cleaner around the water line. but the facilities in pool area lovely, shame they charge you to use the lockers. The beds are comfy and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank caz921
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caz921 Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during a recent stay at the Abbey Hotel. It is lovely to hear that it is your sixth time to stay with us. I have passed your comments in relation to our leisure centre to the manager. We are in the process of updating our televisions in...

BELFAST
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Ok so here we go. I very rarely leave reviews but when your self employed and don't generally take time out with your family you expect to spend time in a nice hotel. Unfortunately not the case here. Ok so the swimming pool/spa was stinking womans changing room was so dirty I didn't even want to put my feet on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DREWGRAICE
abbeyhotel3, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DREWGRAICE We find it hard to reconcile the above with our recollection of your stay. You left the hotel of your own accord at 10.30pm due to noise emanating from children in the rooms adjacent to your own. We had offered you an alternative room far away from that area. You rejected this offer. Earlier in the evening you...

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.8 km away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
201 reviews
28.2 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,739 reviews
22.1 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
205 reviews
22.4 km away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
25.6 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Price Range: $106 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Tuam, Ireland
over a year ago
Dublin,Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in 30's seem to be rundown, old, smelly and noisy. Ask to be in the new area of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles daniellenrogers, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles doveandhawk, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not stay in room 49”
 of 5 bubbles jill433, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The older part of the hotel might not be so easy if you are disabled but the newer wing is fine, with a lift. The rooms facing the old ruined Abbey are usually quieter if there is a wedding.”
 of 5 bubbles Aldebertsue, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we had room67”
 of 5 bubbles cathy705, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5