We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mornington House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mornington House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night before heading to France. Warwick and Ann were lovely, and made us very welcome. The bed was so comfortable, and the room so spacious. Warwick cooked us a great breakfast before we left. It was served in the beautiful dining room. I felt like "Lady of the Manor". Very enjoyable stay.

Helpful?
Thank Jeanob55
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Warwick is a brilliant host & cook. We enjoyed three days in his beautiful historic house its a real gem. The walled garden and yoga building are in a great setting. It is great to get the opportunity to stay in a magnificent house like this.

Helpful?
Thank Kate O
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Six of us stayed recently at Mornington for a family occasion. Warwick and Anne couldn't have been more accommodating hosts, looking after every detail of our visit. The rooms were excellent and extremely clean and our breakfast was cooked to perfection. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank ciarancreilly
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Thank you so much for letting us visit your family home. We were welcomed by Warwick and Anna with lovely home made cake and tea. We chose to eat out but diner did smell lovely and great value. When we came back at about ten o'clock all our bed was turned down and our shutters closed which was a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Kivik, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

It was about 30 years ago when I was looking for a farm to buy in Ireland. Mornington House became my favourit place and many detailed plans I had worked out, but at the end I decided to buy a different place. So far so good instead I / we came there several times after the new owners had turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank karlfsievers
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Next time you come to Mornington do call in for coffee. The place wasn't sold and indeed it is still owned by the O'Hara family as it has been since 1858. More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we could only stay here one night, as we were leaving in the early A.M. for our flight home via Dublin. What a beautiful home....full of history. The owner was very kind and attentive. He left me a nice pot of coffee to start my long day of traveling. The location is in a lovely town, with a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank megsnspales
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you made the connection with your plane on time. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We are regular visitors to Ireland and found Mornington House in the "hidden Ireland" brochure. We didn't know what to expect after usually staying in hotels. Our fears were soon forgotten when we were warmly greeted by Warwick. Whilst we were unloading the car he was making us afternoon tea and homemade cakes. The room was fabulous with the most... More 

Helpful?
Thank G3867BIkathleenm
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your first experience of staying for bed and breakfast in a private home. Thank you for posting your kind review. More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Many of us have had that trip where the experience does not live up to our expectations this was definitely not one of these. The Mornington House experience will not disappoint you. The house built around 1849 and does gracefully show its age this is part of the thrill when staying in this truly wonderful place. We stayed overnight with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon O
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington House. Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review. More 

Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed with Anne and Warwick for two nights in a huge beautiful bedroom. Mornington has been in Warwick's family since the mid 1800's, and the history of the house and the furnishings is fascinating. The gardens and grounds are expansive and were coming into bloom when we were there...beautiful! Dinner was such a treat, Anne is a wonderful cook.... More 

Helpful?
Thank easygroove
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We were pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here at Mornington. Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. More 

Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night after dropping out son to Body and Soul music festival. Arrived just in time for a quick change and then pre drinks in the drawing room. Kate and I were the only guests in the formal dining room. Starter was deep fried Brie with fresh leaves from the garden. Mushroom soup was rich and teaming with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Conway
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We hope your son enjoyed the Body and Soul music festival. Thankyou for taking the time to post your kind review. More 

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
15.3 km away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
11.4 km away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mullingar
552 reviews
6.4 km away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
337 reviews
11.4 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
104 reviews
11.3 km away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Mornington House

Address: Multyfarnham, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Price Range: $190 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mornington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Mullingar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mornington House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are quiet ours was huge located on top floor front left.”
 of 5 bubbles 147simono, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely but the Master bedroom and the other double room in the main house (on the west side) are particularly nice.”
 of 5 bubbles coolaboola, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had the East Room. It is very large and has a lovely view of rolling lawn, flowers and trees.”
 of 5 bubbles ks53, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“choose a front room”
 of 5 bubbles Cucullus, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The two bedrooms at the front of the house are absolutely exquisite. We didn't see the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles roberti212, 7 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay