We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whoop Hall

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Whoop Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,005 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Whoop Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,004: English reviews
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We had two very good days at this hotel, the pool,steam room and jacuzzi were very good, my partner had a full body massage and had stones treatment as a complimentary treatment. We dined in the hotel both evening and the food and service was very good, breakfast was also good, we slept well, and they allow dogs in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
Whoop101, Owner at The Whoop Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review . We are delighted that like the majority of guests who stay with us you had a pleasurable stay ,and enjoyed the facilities ,food and service . Please don't hesitate to contact us when thinking of a return visit . We look forward to welcoming you back to The Whoop... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2015

I was bought a Deal Monster offer for a 2 night stay at Whoop Hall for Christmas including afternoon tea, use of the spa and dinner on the first evening. I am very disappointed. We were treated like second rate guests and the attitude of the owners of the hotel was terrible. I tried phoning them for days to find... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wheem5

Travellers are raving about these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2015

My husband and I booked (like Sandra M) a 2 night break through Travelzoo on a voucher and can totally concur with her comments. We arrived, first impressions looked good.... soon to be shattered. Reception - was unattended and I had to look around for someone to check us in. Seems that 1 woman was receptionist, waitress, in other words... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret_McGarvey
Whoop101, Owner at The Whoop Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review your feedback to us is very important . We are disappointed that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us . I can assure you that we have many many guests that are completely satisfied with their stay and return to us on many occasions. We are extremely proud of our team... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2015

We booked a 2 night break on a voucher and have to concur with the review which mentions the brusque manner of the man who I think may have been the proprietor. Reception was like the Marie Celeste when we arrived. So we waited in the bar, and waited.... Then a chap came in and threw some wood on the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
Warrington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2015

We have stayed here before and the mere fact that we returned amplifies are thoughts of the hotel. We did not return on a Groupon offer but of our own accord following an email from the hotel around Xmas. Stayed last week 28 & 29 Jan. Pleased to say that we had a lovely time again at the hotel. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Magray39
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed for our anniversary on a deal. Some great features including the bar and excellent leisure facilities. Sat in the spa looking at the snow covered hills...Bliss! We had a lovely vegetarian curry but the afternoon tea was disappointing. We liked the comfy room and big bathroom but the room wasn't the cleanest and the toilet seat was dodgy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2015

My husband bought me and my daughter a "spa day" as part of our Christmas present. We went on Monday 26th January and oh what a disappointment!! a massage was included and we were shown into a very cold room where the therapist gave us our back massage. As I waited for my daughter to finish I had time to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2015

This is the third time we've stayed at Whoop Hall and it doesn't fail. The welcoming open fire and laid back atmosphere set the tone. The rooms are functional but comfortable. My only gripe this time was that we had a bath and no shower. It was full so we couldn't be moved but what we thought was a negative... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank markandsian
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We stayed at Whoop Hall for two nights on the 26th & 27th of January 2015 we found the whole experience to a high standard the food was excellent including the afternoon tea. The staff were very pleasent and helpful. We used the pool facilities and found them very good. We stayed in room 24 this very clean warm and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Oswaldtwistle63
Lincoln
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2015

I have just returned from a 2 night break with a voucher, contrary to some previous reviews we found the rooms to be fairly basis but very clean and plenty of hot water. The pool and gym were very good and well equipped. The female staff were very pleasant and friendly but unfortunately the same cannot be said of the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank bucksfizzLincoln
Whoop101, Manager at The Whoop Hall, responded to this review

Firstly let me say how disappointed we are that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we only wish that you had chosen to address your concerns whilst staying with us with a member of the pleasant and friendly front of house staff that you mention? We are however delighted that you found the spa facilities to be very... More 

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
7.6 km away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
256 reviews
15.1 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
441 reviews
17.5 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
415 reviews
23.7 km away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
1,965 reviews
17.4 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kendal
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Address: Old Station Yard Burrow with Burrow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $87 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, SpeedyBooker.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Whoop Hall staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
10 months ago
TEESSIDE
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Whoop Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The next hotel”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnep549, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not go here.”
 of 5 bubbles Joe90ish777, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 23 it was quite with a great view, the lounge/bar area is relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles andrewrhodes36, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room no 4.”
 of 5 bubbles gillybubbles, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For a really nice room, try the Red Dragon in Kirkby Lonsdale”
 of 5 bubbles sillybillynana, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay