We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barbon Inn

4.2 km from Kirkby Lonsdale centre
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Nr Kirkby Lonsdale, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2LJ, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 345: English reviews
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights with a great deal on TZ. Arrived on Sunday evening 12th Feb, it was cold and dark outside but upon opening the door we were greeted by the warm glow and heat from the 3 open fires, a great start, as was the welcome from Amy who showed us around and took us up to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alantowell29
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great staff, great food, great location in one of the most scenic parts of the country stayed for two nights, it's also great value all in all you won't go far wrong here, highly recommended Barbon is just small village and is very peaceful but you are not far from all the surrounding towns and the lakes

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobBrent
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husbands Nana treats us every year to a valentines weekend away, and what a treat this year! Just back from our one night stay at the Barbon inn. Having never visited the village before we loved how quaint and rural it was. The pub is lovely warm and welcoming with log fires and friendly locals. I didn't catch her...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori G
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review. look forward to seeing you again in the warmer months. Kind regards.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just enjoyed a 2 day TZ voucher weekend break, I was looking for your stereotypical english pub experience and The Barbon Inn did not disappoint, roaring fires in every room, decent ale, decent pub food but most memorable of all, great friendly service,..and the locals were also very welcoming. Rooms were only average but what can you expect from a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Comfortable and cozy the essence of the Barbon Inn, Thank you John B, you get it! got it! Good! We don't try to be something that we are not. Look forward to seeing you again.

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the most hospitable places I've stayed. Full marks for friendly, helpful, inviting staff. The locals made us feel welcome too! Good pub food, not quite gastro level, however. But a lovely steak an ale pie after exploring the area. A great location, amazing views from our window and a very pretty peaceful setting in which to relax. Roaring...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie P
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review and photographs, check out our Valentines menu on line its looking good. see you soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed 2 nights on a Travelzoo special offer. We paid an extra £30 to up grade to a 4 poster bed room. When we arrived the pub was very welcoming with popes fires and friendly staff. Unfortunately our room which was huge was very cold an distinctly unwelcoming. There was no central heating in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew R
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments, in all fairness the week-end of the 27/28th January was particularly cold and I appologise to you about our heating or lack of it. We don't have central heating in the conventional sence, we rely on the electric convectors, which are adequate most of the time until we get a cold snap....

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called for a lunchtime drink having enjoyed the beautiful scenery on a walk around Barbon Park. Sat ourselves next to the roaring open range log fire. Made very welcome by the landlord and his staff. The pub was busy, several dinners in the bar and in the restaurant. Beers were excellent and quickly renewed as were the chips which just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rectoryjules
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate your kind words, I will pass it on to all the staff. look forward to meeting you again, Thank you from Andy and all the staff.

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely couple of days in the Barbon Inn. Sandra the owner and staff were so friendly , nothing was too much trouble. The home cooked food was fantastic. The log fires were so welcoming and cosy Our little dog Rosie also had a fab time and was spoiled by all the staff. We will definately return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RitaSteOrmy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch today after a lovely walk in the nearby fells and had a lovely two course meal but wouldn't go back we had 4 children with us and we're chatting between themselves as they do and a couple behind, asked to move. Then the owner came and told the kids if they were quiet she would...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kevin John H
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a gem, good food, warm welcome and the best staff ever. We return time and time again and the standard never drops. Maybe some people would find their generous approach to pets off putting but I have yet to find any pet or owner who were anything but well behaved!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank durkinjillian

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
5.1 km away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,033 reviews
27.6 km away
Shap Wells Hotel
Shap Wells Hotel
#1 of 2 in Shap
990 reviews
9.5 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
262 reviews
2.9 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
189 reviews
4.1 km away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barbon Inn and Restaurant near Kirkby Lonsdale has been around since the 1650s and started life as a farmhouse. Situated in the peaceful and tranquil village of Barbon, this country inn offers old world elegance in its accommodation restaurant and pub. The Barbon serves traditional English cuisine with a modern twist. Specialty dishes using local produce with choices like confit duck leg served with dauphinoise potatoes, sautéed leeks and a rich blackberry sauce; menu choices change with the seasons. The inn has an excellent wine list which has been a labour of love for one of the owners, and she will help you select from the connoisseurs list. The Barbon Inn has 10 bedrooms one with a four-poster bed. It’s located halfway between the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park which makes it the perfect base for exploring both. The pastoral feel is added to by a local racetrack that holds the Barbon Hill Climb. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barbon Inn

Address: Nr Kirkby Lonsdale, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $159 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Barbon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbon Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barbon Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Northiam, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Calgary
Dumfries, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Barbon Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay to upgrade to the 4 poster room, it's freezing and definitely not worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles Y2211BZmatthewr, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 seemed a good choice”
 of 5 bubbles lindasL2160ID, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 8 so could not offer advice.”
 of 5 bubbles JanetS153, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 3 and any rooms where dogs have been allowed”
 of 5 bubbles ajsykes, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would check the size and quality of the room you are offered”
 of 5 bubbles Felicity90, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5