We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Seaton Lane Inn

Booking.comUS$92*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Seaton Lane Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of The Seaton Lane Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked a night at this place seemed okay on arrival tried to book for breakfast at 7 and they had all the wrong times printed on literature - receptionist didn't know what to say so stayed silent - not helpful! She called a manager over who squirmed on the spot and denied that the literature would say this until i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scarletava210
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've just come back from a weekend trip to the North East and stayed at the Seaton Lane Inn in Seaham, the hotel was excellent, very clean and the rooms comfortable. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was good and I would definitely stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbara01uk
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review - So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed overnight at this lovely place after our daughter's wedding. They were very accommodating when I explained that we needed to be in our rooms before the wedding as there wouldn't be time to check in after the wedding venue. They kindly changed around rooms to allow us access early. Coming back later I was very pleased with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this great review and for choosing us! So happy to hear we were able to do that for you and to hear you enjoyed it. We do appreciate your kind words and would love to welcome you back in for another stay.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were all made very welcome. Definitely a dog friendly, welcoming place. Made provisions for dog to be with us whilst eating so she didn't have to stay I room. Good field next door for exercising the dog too. Had a lovely meal and good accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nixichip
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this great review, So pleased you and your dog had lovely time with us! We do hope to see you again in the near future.

wirral
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for 5 days,the rooms were spotlessly clean and bed very comfy. Lovely powerful shower and a toasty warm bathroom every morning. Food was superb every time and the staff very friendly. Dont go anywhere else,this is a Gem of a place,nothing is too much trouble.Free Wifi in the rooms,whats not to like !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spikesterWirral
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this great review and for the 5 stars! So pleased you liked our Inn as much as we do, and happy that our team kept you happy throughout your stay - there is nothing we enjoy more! Your kind word's are really appreciated. We do hope to see you again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

This is the first time I have visited this part of the world and our lunch at the Seaton Lane Inn helped to cement a favourable impression. Good service, comfortable surroundings, good selection of food and drinks. Will return next time I visit the local coastline or am passing through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this great review! So pleased you enjoyed you visit here with us at The Seaton Lane Inn, we hope to see you again soon!

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Visited today for Good Friday Lunch, it was lovely and quiet. We could chose our own table to sit at, the waitress was lovely which made a huge difference, the food was wonderful and we didn't wait long at all for the courses. So pleased we chose to dine here today

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonicacaca123
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this lovely review - So pleased you had a wonderful time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband last night whilst we attended a nearby wedding. Very reasonably priced, lovely comfortable rooms with plenty of space. Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Staff were attentive and even located a mobile phone charger for hubby as he forgot his! Would recommend the Eggs Bennadict!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charis B
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this great review! So pleased to hear you and your "hubby" had a lovely time with us, we do appreciate all your kind words - We do love to make everyone happy which means going that extra step! We would love to see you both again soon!

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Won a free meal via a charity event for me and my wife to use at the seaton lane inn, decided to use on Mother's Day Nice bar/restaurant , lovely food with good variety and friendly staff Will definitely return as a paying customer soon Thanks again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karl W
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Congratulations on your prize! So please you enjoyed your Mother's Day Sunday lunch with us! Thank you for the lovely review and we do hope to see you again soon.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during a swing through the NE - the location was just off the main road with easy access and parking. The staff were extremely friendly - reception, restaurant and the cleaning team. Everything looked recently refurbished, but it's actually been several years, so very well maintained! Biggest reason for only 4 out of 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anchmer
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review and for recommending us. We are always interested in hearing our customers feedback and will take your points on board. So pleased you enjoyed your time at our Inn and would love to see you again soon!

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
2.3 km away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,308 reviews
6.9 km away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
257 reviews
10.2 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,004 reviews
12.1 km away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
465 reviews
14.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
\Imagine you find your ideal country pub, enjoy a fine meal and a few drinks – why move on? Well, now you don’t have to because the Seaton Lane Inn will provide you with somewhere luxurious to lay your sleepy head – at a price you can afford. The roadside inn has been extended with an 18-bedroom hotel which is attached to the main building and overlooks a paved, outdoor area. It is well sheltered from the prevailing winds and surrounded by colourful plants – including a herb garden. At night, the paved area twinkles with sunken lights and you won’t feel cold – the powerful heat lamps do their job. The hotel’s boutique-style bedrooms have been tastefully furnished by a top quality interior design team, decorated in different styles to a high standard and equipped with plasma TV, WiFi and king-size and super king-size beds. En suite shower rooms are of a high standard and hair dryers and tea and coffee making facilities are provided. There is also luxury, ground floor accommodation for disabled guests. Door entry is by card key and guests can take their choice of visiting other North East attractions – or spend a relaxing evening enjoying the culinary delights and friendly atmosphere of the Seaton Lane Inn’s restaurant, lounge and bar. Comfort, pleasant surroundings and a choice of locally sourced food and drinks to tempt the most discerning of palates – what more could you desire? For a start, you may be looking for an ideal base to savour the best of all the North East of England has to offer. That place is the newly extended and tastefully renovated Seaton Lane Inn boutique hotel. Situated by a country road through a village, it is only a few hundred yards from the A19 – making is less than 30 minutes to Newcastle upon Tyne and equally convenient for Durham City. Sunderland is just minutes away. The Seaton Lane Inn has come a long way from its early incarnation as a blacksmith’s forge; it now incorporates a stylish lounge/dining area, traditional bar and a new two-story hotel attached to the original building. The pub/hotel is run by owners who head a talented team. Their purpose is to make your stay at the Seaton Lane Inn a memorable one – for all the right reasons. These include the friendliness of the staff, the affable type of clientele you meet in a country inn, a tempting and varied menu (try the seafood) and wide range of beers, including excellent cask conditioned ales served from the hand pump, wines and spirits. You can relax in the comfort of the lounge, which has Sky TV, or join the regulars in the adjacent bar. The new hotel has 18 en suite double rooms which are tastefully furnished and have all modern conveniences including TV and radio, wireless internet access, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Seaton Lane Inn

Address: Seaton Lane, Seaham SR7 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Price Range: $130 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seaton Lane Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seaton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seaton Lane Hotel Seaham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Seaton Lane Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Durham, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Billingham
5 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Seaton Lane Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We usually have room 1 , but we're allocated room 3 which we've been in before, there is only the noise of guests returning .”
Tamar2676, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sunday lunch only, didn't stay”
VivE187, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms I have stayed in have been equally good”
rachelwD9398BR, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Car park side may be quieter as shielded from A19 but only a hum in the background”
612jonathan, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“easy to fine, just off the A19”
Lenderson, 29 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates