The Ffolkes Hotel

The Ffolkes Hotel

Traveller (244)
Room 6
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#8 of 12 hotels in King's Lynn
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Ffolkes has been lovingly refitted and refurbished with a £2m investment. Think Poldark, think pewter, copper, Hessian, leather, soft velvet, and rustic wood. We have taken down barriers and let in the light to create a comfortable open space with nooks and crannies to suit even the most discerning of travellers. We currently have 6 double bedrooms available to book, with a further 18 bedrooms due late July 2017.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Mini golf
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Darts
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles320 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Ffolkes Hotel stands out for its unique and eclectic atmosphere, with many travelers charmed by its distinct room decorations and warm vibe. While opinions on the hotel's value vary, with some deeming costs high, others find the pricing reasonable for the food and accommodations provided. The rooms, often lauded for their comfort and unique decor, occasionally face critiques regarding noise. Service at the hotel earns praise for staff friendliness and helpfulness, although there have been rare mentions of delays. Amenities, including the comprehensive options and cleanliness, receive positive nods, especially the thoughtful in-room additions of fresh milk and shortbread.
Atmosphere
Eclectic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
320Reviews6Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 168
  • 66
  • 54
  • 20
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BoardingPass815694 wrote a review Sep 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 4 nights end of August into September. The breakfast here is better than a five star hotel usually overseen by Marlene and Sally. The food is lovely and fresh with a fantastic choice with also the option of omelettes and pancakes freshly made by the chef. You get a choice of coffee the bread is not the usually cheap sliced bread The hot stuff all vey fresh and served with a smile, this is also an unlimited breakfast.

.

The rooms are done lovely a large bed and lovely touches like fresh milk in the fridge biscuits replenished, a good shower and overall a very equipped and clean room even the hairdryer is of quality not the usually travel type.

The food at night ok but something not gelling at night time and I am not sure about the street food menu for guests staying over bearing in mind there is no where else to go locally. I think Marlene or Sally should oversee the night service. We booked a table each day for the night but it was all over the place we were offered the conservatory one night which was lovely but not for two adults for dinner when 50 screaming kids running in and out of the play area we did ask to change and did get a table in the main restaurant.

Not happy about dogs in the main restaurant they should be in the conservatory also need to learn how to serve a pint of San Miguel needs to go in the a correct glass it was like water most nights.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ebishop8 wrote a review Sep 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here last week in the hayloft and had an amazing time.

The room is the best we have stayed in and they had literally thought of everything. The room was huge with a separate sitting room, sky tv with movies and sports, microwave, coffee machine, fridge/freezer even with ice creams and biscuits and selection of hot drinks, massive bed with dressing table and 2 wardrobes, 2 hairdryers, a large roof terrace, a den area if you were bringing children with 4 single beds and tv and the bathroom was amazing-was huge, had two showers, two basins and the best hot tub bath, we spent so much time in here. Even had slippers and dressing gowns.

Everything was spotless. Only slight downside we thought was that the roof top looks over the car park and play area which doesn’t make it very private, maybe some plants or screening may help with this.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was pleasant, my husband was slightly disappointed with the cheese board though. Service was ok but there were a lot of new staff so this may have had something to do with it.

Breakfast was amazing, best we have probably come across. Great selection, everything you could think of and the lady behind the counter making pancakes and omelettes to order was brilliant, really friendly. We really enjoyed that you could have pancakes and omelettes made to order and fried breakfast was really good too.

Outside play area looked great for kids too.

We had the Norfolk passport so got 10% off so worked out really good value for money.

Overall we had a lovely time and we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
trumpysmum wrote a review Aug 2021
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Because of all the Covid shenanegans over the past couple of years, we have been holidaying in this country by taking luxury short breaks, and in July we stayed in The Ffolkes for two nights. The rooms did not disappoint, they are very stylishly decorated with imaginative and nice little touches and the bathroom is large and clean. However, sadly the rest of our stay was underwhelming. I think the hotel needs to decide what it wants to be, the luxury boutique style hotel or the family friendly fast food place? There is a wonderful huge play area for children, and I believe there is a wedding venue too, and for families and wedding parties I can imagine it would be perfect. We were neither, and if I had known what to expect I would not have booked this particular place. The food was a huge let down, very little choice and all brown (by that I mean no fresh ingredients with colour and texture, no variety and choice for those that don't eat burgers, and poorly executed and served on a plastic tray) We very nearly decided to leave, if we hadn't arranged to meet friends that night we would have just gone as it was definitely not the experience we were hoping for. On the plus side, the staff were lovely and I appreciated everything they did to try to make our stay better, so thank you to them!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lollipop88 wrote a review Oct 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at The Ffolkes in The Mews room for our wedding anniversary on a Saturday night. I booked this due to the marketing on their website with funky looking yet luxury rooms and it being a sister hotel to The Pigs, which I have stayed at previously and was great. Unfortunately our stay at The Ffolkes was not as good and being in a similar price bracket I expected more.

Some practical things to point out in the room which I hope get taken on board because it really hindered our stay was there are no curtains, only slated blinds in the bedroom. There is a bright light outside that stays on all night and I struggled to sleep because it was so light in the room. The untreated ply wood of the room is also dirty because you can’t clean it and it makes the room echo as there are no soft furnishings, it’s all untreated wood and metal. The stairs feel dangerous and the top step down is a lot deeper than the other steps, with the toilet being downstairs this is a problem, especially during the night. It was also noisy, I’m not sure there is much sound proofing going on in the rooms. You can hear the road and It’s also a really bad idea to have a communal place outside the front of the bedrooms where people can play noisy parlour games. You’re also directly opposite the children’s play area and crazy golf, we heard kids screaming throughout our stay. I booked this for a touch of luxury and felt like I was staying in a kids play area. There are no luxurious finishing touches in the room either, for instance, it’s just sachet coffee which is pretty poor for a £220 night stay.

Eat to the beat is also a really weird concept. It’s just trance music playing repetitively really loudly. I’m not an old person (in my early 30s and it drove me mad!) the DJ also looked really bored and grumpy when we arrived, we were obviously trying to find the bar and he had his hands in his head slumped over his decks. Maybe don’t put him at the front where guests come in!

The identity crisis is, who are you trying to cater for? Is it meant to be a luxury stay with the rooms and spa cabins? Is it a pub for the locals as there is nowhere else to go, is that why the eat the the beat is a thing? Is it a family entertainment place? Is it a wedding venue? I think trying a scattergun approach to cater all of these things is not really working.

For balance, the positives are;

The bath in the room was really lovely, as was the lighting in the bathroom this was by far the best bit of the stay.

The flooring where plywood wasn’t used was also very nice, put that on the stairs!

The food from Oshii was nice and the breakfast in the morning was really good.

The lounge area where you can have drinks away from the restaurant was comfy and nicely decorated and wasn’t too hindered by the music.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie M wrote a review Jun 2021
Driffield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 2 night stay in a delux room and was worth every penny. Couldnt fault it at all. Spacious room with air con, mini fridge (with small bottle of fresh milk for tea/coffee), beautiful towels, even a sign on wall giving paint colours used on walls.

Evening menu was very limited but presume this is due to Covid restrictions. We both enjoyed our meals and couldnt complain.

Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choices. Nice touch was small bowls of fresh melon. Filled us up for the day ahead.

We was in the area looking at choices of places to move too and the location of hotel was just right. All staff pleasant and very helpful.

We will definitely be returning in the future. Thanks to all staff for making our stay so pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suze216 wrote a review Jan 2020
March, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our third stay. Very set up for families. Super family room with separate, adjoining kids room. Nice homemade biscuits and fresh milk. Started our break with lunch there and this was the only dissapointment, had to wait nearly an hour and the meat was overcooked. The Indian dinner buffet was fantastic though with something for everyone and the kids could either join in or choose off the kids menu. Again breakfast had a superb array of food and endless coffees, such a treat. Only thing I missed was the butterscotch sauce for the waffles - please bring it back it was the best bit! Hope to return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom_O-The_Ffolkes, Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Dear suze216, Thank you very much for leaving such a detailed review of your stay with us, though we are sorry about your disappointment with your lunch. Our Curry Feast is growing ever popular and we do hope to see you all return again soon! Best wishes, Rozanne, on behalf of The Ffolkes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophie H wrote a review Oct 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the second time we have stayed here this time we decided to stay in one of the delux rooms and was disappointed.
Took a bath only to find that the white towels supplied were stained with brown marks! Couldn't work out if it was make up or if someone had used it instead of toilet paper either way not very nice ended up using a hand towel.
In the morning we went for breakfast it took an eternity to be served when we finally got our food it was freezing cold the pot of coffee and tea was also cold and came with only enough milk for 1 cup of each we also had asked for pancakes which never arrived we asked again and was told they would get them for us after nearly 30mins waiting we gave up and walked out very disappointing don't think we will be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Oakley, General Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel
Responded Oct 23, 2020
Dear N754Rsophieh, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at The Ffolkes, though we are saddened to learn of your disappointment. I do hope that we rectified the towel incident whilst you were here, and can only apologise for the stains. In regards to breakfast, with the many changes we have had to undergo in respect of the Government guidelines, it did take a day or two to smooth things over, however, from recent feedback I like to think that we have finally cracked it. We do hope that you will return, and look forward to welcoming you back once again. Best wishes, Rozanne, on behalf of The Ffolkes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jaydeejnr wrote a review Oct 2020
Zakopane, Poland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I and another couple who are good friends of ours stayed at the Ffolkes for a two night midweek break on an Autumn special deal.
Our room was very clean, comfortable, and very well equipped. The main bar/restaurant area is a very pleasant place to be, and staff are all excellent and very welcoming. We ate at the Ffolkes both nights of our stay, and the food was very good, pub type dishes, but at a different level. Breakfast was excellent.
The location is great for proximity to Sandringham, Old Hunstanton, Holme etc. They are all a very short drive away.
The only slight downside is the proximity to a main road. The Ffolkes is situated right on a busy-ish road, so traffic noise could be heard in our room at all hours, and did wake us early in the morning. This is the reason why I’ve scored the Ffolkes 4 stars instead of 5. Our friends also commented that they were also a little disturbed by road noise.
If you are a light sleeper this may be an issue, but it actually didn’t overly bother us. Overall the Ffolkes is a very well run welcoming Inn with great rooms, great location for exploring, great staff, well kept ales, and very good food. I would definitely stay there again, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Oakley, General Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel
Responded Nov 1, 2020
Dear jaydeejnr, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a very informative review regarding your stay with us during Autumn. We're really pleased to read of your enjoyment with your stay and do hope that you will all be back again as soon as possible! Best wishes and take care, Rozanne, on behalf of The Ffolkes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LIMPIT wrote a review Dec 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent Pre-Break Communication received using the Web Site Chat facility.
Upon arrival we were allocated Room 24, Large Double but upon investigation this was closest to busy road and managed to swap for Room 21, which whilst road noise was experienced it was not a major issue.
Parking was easy and plentiful, location of Hotel was excellent to access Sandringham and North Norfolk.
Our allocated room was perfect for our break, bathroom was large, plenty of storage and very comfortable bed and pillows.
We tried the Feast food option on the first evening, the order by App system worked incredibly well, but it was rather cold even in the inside area. The choice of food by the individual outlets was good as was our selection of food, however think this probably works really well in the warmer evenings, and although we understood why plastic screens were placed to separate tables inside, we did not like this arrangement.
The DJ played a good set of soulful chill out tracks.
Breakfast worked really well with wide ranging selection of dishes, and well organised system of service and cleanliness, food was delicious and good quality products.
We found the staff throughout the Hotel to be very helpful and efficient in carrying out their duties, we really enjoyed our weekend visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid rooms located close to the road
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire S wrote a review Aug 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Ffolkes last weekend for a little break for my Husbands Birthday and our Wedding Anniversary.
Our room was a double with a sliding door to a very large bathroom. Although very trendy and lots of design features it was very dark and there were not sufficient lights to brighten it up.
We had a few issues with the room, the TV has been fitted into the wall so the sound is very muffled but the bass is then extra loud. There was no bin in the bathroom, the trendy sliding door wasn’t fitted well so it went past the gap and was loose, we couldn’t open the window because the nearby road is so noisy you couldn’t sleep so we had to sleep with the air conditioning on. There are no curtains, only a slatted blind so I didn’t sleep the first night because the light bled around the outer of the window.

The Breakfast was very nice with lots on offer, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, cereals but the cooked option with freshly cooked eggs and toast. You could have as much as you liked.

The evening meal was very nice, lots on offer with again as many starters and deserts as you wished. The mains were freshly cooked to order and then you were served as much as the hot buffet as you liked. It was more pub grub than cuisine and I think as it’s such a nice building it would be nice if they did have an a la Carte option.

The staff were AMAZING! All of the staff were smiley, polite, and happy to be working there. It was a lovely atmosphere and the staff are a credit to the Manager, they really did blow us away with their attitudes.

This is a fairly basic place to stay, beautiful decor but it lacks finesse. It’s very clean and the Covid measures they have in place work very well. I would recommend it as a family stay, not really a couples place or somewhere as a destination to eat.

It’s literally just around the corner from Sandringham and the Norfolk Coastline if you want an easy place to stay to get out and about. It kind of felt more like a motel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Oakley, General Manager at The Ffolkes Hotel
Responded Oct 23, 2020
Dear Claire S, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a very informative review of your stay with us at The Ffolkes. Receiving feedback such as yours allows us to improve and make amendments where necessary, our customers' happiness is of the upmost importance. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Best wishes, Rozanne, on behalf of The Ffolkes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Plantaholic asked a question Aug 2022
Norfolk, United Kingdom86 contributions62 helpful votes
Are any of the rooms dog friendly please?
Amanda L asked a question May 2022
Edmonton, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi there, is there the ability to laundry at the hotel?
Answer from Meercat1964
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom63 contributions51 helpful votes
I don’t think so
Answer from Jasper T
United Kingdom98 contributions86 helpful votes
I am sorry I don’t know the answer to that question, I am sure the establishment would provide the information that you desire.
GameKing asked a question Oct 2020
West Malling, United Kingdom
Are family rooms at back of hotel please?
Answer from Tom O
Hi, thanks for your question. Our family rooms are situated in the courtyard, to the side of the main hotel. If you have any further queries or questions please don't hesitate to give us a call. Best wishes, All at The Ffolkes
itsjustkiwi asked a question Jul 2018
West Mersea, United Kingdom43 contributions15 helpful votes
Could you do vegan breakfasts at all? Thank you!
Answer from Melandmuffy
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom151 contributions96 helpful votes
I bet they would do but if you advise them on check in they would have it sorted for the next day. They really are happy to go above and beyond. It’s a superb place you’ll love it.
18Kel wrote a tip Jul 9
Cambridge, United Kingdom219 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expensive stay."
Read full review
suzanne h wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Booking advised"
Read full review
NormaC wrote a tip Apr 2024
Essex, United Kingdom32 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking behind the hotel well away from the main road!"
Read full review
sammi1905 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Norwich, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect for a peaceful get away"
Read full review
jameswatling wrote a tip Feb 2024
Norwich, United Kingdom183 contributions162 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to breakfast early, to avoid the busy periods."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the King's Lynn area.
PRICE RANGE
C$177 - C$282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkKing's Lynn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Ffolkes Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ffolkes Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Ffolkes Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Church of St. Mary Magdalene (4.9 km), Castle Rising (5.1 km), and The Sandringham Estate (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ffolkes Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Ffolkes Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Ffolkes Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ffolkes Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ffolkes Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Three Horseshoes, The Rose and Crown, and Petals Tearoom.
Does The Ffolkes Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ffolkes Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Appleton Water Tower (2.5 km) and St Lawrence Church (5.1 km).
Is The Ffolkes Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All King's Lynn HotelsKing's Lynn Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in King's LynnHotels near The Ffolkes Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars