We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Duke's Head Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Duke\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 928: English reviews
Norfolk England
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Cold and wet outside we were reluctant to leave home for our prebooked meal offer Christmas present. We were so glad we did. The cocktail bar was new to us as it was a bistro last time we came. Definetly a smart move it provides a welcome change from the competition across the marketplace. The restaurant was unsurprisingly not too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelmad68
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

If there was 3 and half stars i would give that, we booked the room on the day of arrival, was feature room 20, at first glances the room was very nice and very spacious, the bed was nice and big and very comfy, staff were ok, not very friendly, so to the bits that i was annoyed at, for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J O
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here on New Years Eve and ended up having a very good evening. The hotel is well known in Lynn and the surrounding areas and has a very distinctive frontage with the blue colour, The offical car park at the back is somewhat small and not many spaces and tricky to navigate around if you have a big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carl Y
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Massey,s cocktail bar is amazing love the cocktails.Staff are friendly and foods are superb.Definitely one of the best restaurant in town. Lovely atmosphere and we enjoy the rest of the evening.Highly recommended to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imeldavillanueva1
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Kings Lynn as part of research for my PhD. We had a groupon voucher which seemed a bargain. I booked the weekend in November. Unfortunately our trip didn't get off to a great start. On arrival we were met with four members of catering staff smoking in the car park, not the best first impression. When we went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After an enjoyable walk around the town centre in damp, foggy weather we visited the Dukes Head Hotel for a welcome afternoon tea break. The receptionist informed us that we should order this in Massey's Cocktail Bar. Upon entering the Bar I was a bit dismayed as this was not the environment I wanted to be in for afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staratmidnight
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our visit to the Dukes Head ,Kings Lynn, Norfolk was a one night stay, cream tea, a 3 course dinner, and breakfast in a superior double room ... this was a groupon Christmas present from my son and daughter in law .... fantastic, the hotel was in the historic part of Kings Lynn were the town was sprawled out around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in an excellent location right in King's Lynn. It has a rear car park (need to pay) and you have to walk down a lane/side street to then reach the hotel. Receptionist staff were not overly cheery or helpful. Our room 206 was like a sauna - the heat was excessive and despite reporting to management straight...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SCC69
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very poor and rude service by the man that I assume was the restaurant manager, he really needs to take a customer service course. There was a group of us and we had pre-ordered our food but the orders kept coming out wrong and with items missing but when this was pointed out to the staff they were very rude....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sc00ts
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Scoots - I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your Christmas meal yesterday, please accept our sincere apologies. Would you kindly email events@dukesheadhotel.com and follow up with Melissa. I am unsure which company or group you were with but we are sorry to hear that there were some issues. Once we have the full facts and correct...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Second visit this year to Dukes Head hotel. Excellent location right in the middle of town. Close to shops, restaurants and pubs. Staff extremely friendly and helpful - would highly recommend. Free on site car park is a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kes98
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Kes98 - Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind regards Darryl

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (316)
Viewed
Classic Room (32)
Viewed
Cosy Double Room (24)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Feature Room Campbells (37)
Viewed
Feature Room Sandringham (31)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 km away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
670 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
729 reviews
2.7 km away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
253 reviews
1.2 km away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke's Head Hotel

Address: The Duke's Head 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Price Range: $116 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Duke's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Duke's Head Hotel UK/England - Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Duke's Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke's Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sandringham room is impressive.”
 of 5 bubbles 877carly, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for a superior room very spacious and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 954jackieg, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to the front older building. Noise from revellers in square was acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles Steve522miller, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quieter on uppe floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 505agnesp, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid rooms above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles TwickenhamTrish, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay