We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Folly

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Folly
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
Start your review of The Folly
 Click to rate
Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Central for anything in North Berwick, we had an overnight stop to visit Fringe shows. Clean and comfortable room and a good choice with alternatives for breakfast. Host was friendly and despite being on a main road the room was quiet. perhaps should give a demonstration of how to use the coffee machine as it certainly defeated us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 398david
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

The Folly is well-situated close to the beach and within easy walking distance of the Seabird Centre and High Street. My room was spotlessly clean, well-equipped and comfortable. The hosts were most helpful and friendly, and I was immediately offered extra tea for the room when they realised I don't drink coffee. Breakfast was excellent, especially the kippers which were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flibbertypippit
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days booked for a single room on trip advisor but ended up in a double room which was large and clean bathroom was small but perfect for single person is a little dated but everything working and clean coffee machine was a massive bonus stayed in £100 a night hotels and not got that!! Bed was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance464
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. Hosts were friendly rooms clean and comfortable. Good selection for breakfast would recommend the full grill sets you up for the day. Thanks for a great weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gretna_12
sydney
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Really good location very close to Nth Berwick golf club and a short walk to the centre of town. Comfortable bed with fresh clean linen. Breakfast was quite good. On the negative side, rooms are very small and cramped. Bathrooms likewise. Appliances such as tv and coffee making machines were frustratingly idiosyncratic. Small would be ok if it were quaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank columbiaSydney
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed for three nights with my elderly mother in room 2 - lovely and clean, with a double bed and a single bed, this is quite a large room. Decor throughout is a bit quirky, but in a nice way. We spent quite a bit of time in the room because of my Mum's age (at 86 she gets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elainegibby
ALNWICK
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Stayed for two nights during the scottish open golf tournament and really enjoyed our stay, The owners were very helpful and totally relaxed about everything, we could come and go with our own door key at anytime. Room and amenities very clean and comfortable. The enormous and filling breakfasts set us up for both days,would certainly stay at the Folly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 113IAN
Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

This is a tired B & B that offers a great breakfast but little else. Room tired difficult shape a limited TV old system. Poor value and housekeeping standard weak. I would not like to recommend to any walker

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnandVickyH
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

It's ideally located near the railway station and High Street. I appreciated the friendly welcome from the personable owners. That was the good news. Less positive is the decidedly compact nature of the rooms. I couldn't have squeezed a cat in the room to swing it, had I had the inclination. The decor was a retro 70s brown and white...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanJuan
peter f, Owner at The Folly, responded to this review

the beds are standard size,you omit to say you are 6'4" a double room single occupancy would suit you better. You did not however find the 58"bath a problem. Tassimo market Costa Coffee machines in all the good stores . The instructions are easy to follow. You had no problems when I initially showed you the room and in fact...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a trip to North Berwick. We stayed at the Folly and it was great. The owner and his wife where great hosts and we all had a brilliant and good valued stay. Nice bar area and the Scottish breakfast was just what the doctor ordered. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim w

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.7 km away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,205 reviews
0.7 km away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
200 reviews
0.4 km away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
14.0 km away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
406 reviews
0.7 km away
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in North Berwick
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Former fire station built in 1912 and converted in 2000 to six en-suite bedrooms and bistro. Situated opposite the eighteenth green of the West Links and the beach. Adult only policy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Folly

Address: 1 Station Hill | North Berwick, North Berwick EH39 4AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Price Range: $220 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Folly 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folly North Berwick
The Folly North Berwick, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Folly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room no2 had views over to the golf course and sea.”
113IAN, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I had room 4 which faced the front, I was quite happy with it.”
Treacle421838, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
2 of 2