We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Custom House Inn

Traveller (189)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (18)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
696Reviews
228Photos
5Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 252
  • 269
  • 116
  • 39
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We booked this hotel for a night away as we had both worked over Christmas. The hotel is very central for Padstow with its shops, pubs and lovely walks, there is also a public car park directly opposite. On checking in we had a lovely welcome from the receptionist, as we were
Read more
Response from OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by our friendly team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Read more
Another lovely stay in Padstow. Room 10 had a lovely view of the harbour, but a little noisy first thing in the morning by the cleaner in the restaurant below. But really not a problem. Clean towels etc daily and the mini fridge with stocked water was a nice little touch. So
Read more
Response from OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review! I am delighted you had such a nice stay and have booked again with us, we look forward to welcoming you both back soon!
Read more
Padstow is a real treat and a gastro-delight but at this time of year, there is not a tremendous choice of quality hotels to choose from. There are some amazing B&Bs, holiday home rentals (especially on Rock) and some amazing high end places such as Paul Ainsworth’s “Townhouse”
Read more
Response from OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn
Responded Dec. 13, 2018
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful location which overlooks the harbour and Estuary beyond. I apologise that you felt your room, and service were disappointing. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and we have a lovely team that always very willing to provide anything you may wish during your stay with us. We have a wide variety of rooms, our superior rooms are spacious, with lovely views and include bath robes and slippers. All our rooms, should provide small touches such as biscuits! I apologise that this may have been missed. We appreciate the need for value for money, and believe we do deliver this. We very much value your custom and hope you consider us again in the future, where we will ensure you are well looked after.
Read more
We ate here a few nights ago and found the food disappointing. My halloumi stack was £12 and was just a small bun with a mushroom and small red slice of red pepper with rubbery piece of halloumi and soggy chips. My husband had fish pie which he found ok but really garlicky which
Read more
Response from OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn
Responded Dec. 3, 2018
Thank you for your feedback, I apologise that your meals fell short of our usual standards. We will be discussing this with our teams and ensuring the quality of each dish meets that standards we expect. We appreciate your continued custom and hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Read more
we had a great stay last weekend, good location, great comfy bed, nice staff and would book it again in a flash, also thank you to sally who was very helpful when we checked in. comes highly recommended...
Read more
Response from OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn
Responded Nov. 22, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback, and will of course pass on your kind comment to Sally who we are very fortunate to have as part of our team. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementOld Custom House Inn
Bedroom
Photo provided by managementOld Custom House Inn
Bedroom
PreviousNext
12345611
Hello, I am truly sorry if you felt our reply was aggressive. It was never intended that way, we very much care for all our guests, and it was lovely to meet your friendly party. I would never wish to come across as anything less than fair and considerate. I apologise if it seemed anything less than this, it was never our intent. We try to ensure reply's offer a balanced view. We really do hope you choose to return in the future where would ensure you are very well looked after with excellent rooms that suit your needs. Please ask for me personally, and I will see you have an enjoyable stay. Kind Regards, Matt Jones.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have to reserve car parking?
No, there is no direct parking but almost adjacent is the harbour car park, so no real problems.
2 votes
Show all answers
Is breakfast included in the room rate?
Yes, breakfast was included. It was absolutely delicious too - lots of variation!
2 votes
Show all answers
hello do you allow dogs in your bar please
Hi dogs are very welcome in the bar area.
2 votes
Show all answers
Hello. Is there any parking available at the hotel?
There is a public car park opposite hotel at a charge of £8 for 24 hours
0 votes
"Rooms directly above the bar are noisy until closing time."
"Harbour view number 10 and 11"
"Self catering apartment"
"Room 1 was good for us"
"Not sure the photographs online and description fairly represent this hotel."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old custom house hotel padstowold custom house padstow
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPadstow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing