We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moorland Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 526: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Large hotel on the edge of Dartmoor. Staff were helpful and smiling. Breakfast was very good. Rooms spacious overlooking moorland gardens. Attractive public rooms. Will stay there again. No lift but only one floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonJen
London
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location of this hotel is perfect for access to the wonderful moors, where you can walk for miles and enjoy the stunning scenery and fresh air. The reception staff on arrival were pleasant and the process was swift and without complications. Upon arrival in my room I found it to be fairly clean and compact with, unfortunately, the thinnest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mez306
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My Husband and I got married here in August 2016. It was a beautiful day, in beautiful grounds. In the lead up to the day, the Events Team were very helpful, and this continued on the day. We spent a lot of money on our special day after saving hard for exactly what we wanted. All in all, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TEAR1978
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in this lovely hotel, just outside Plymouth and Tavistock. We had a lovely garden view in our premier room, which was large, bright and very clean. We had dinner and breakfast in the Wildflower restaurant and enjoyed it immensely. The service and food was extremely good and we will definitely dine there again. Overall the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teensjohnson
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Coningsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

20 plus of us visited this restaurant on 6th Nov 2016 to celebrate mums 80th four generations of the same family sat together for the first time. this was a pre booked event and we were given a 3 choice 3 course menu for £25.00 per head. the food was great all arrived hot and nicely presented. I was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your luncheon party so much. I am sorry that the waitress did not answer your question correctly in relation to your fish dish, and this has been addressed with the restaurant team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A stay overnight with a beautiful room and view. Food and service very good. Unfortunately a few improvements are needed mainly the pot holes on the road on the exit out of the hotel. A few more choices of lager and the flickering of the dining room lights

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brunel25
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have addressed the pot hole issue outside, and I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused. We are working on correcting the dining room lights, and I have noted your comments in relation to the lager selection. I hope to have the pleasure...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just want to say how pleased my wife and I were last Saturday night the whole occasion was absolutely impeccable. Good food, good company, beautiful room and a group of staff who were extremely professional. Thank you for an awesome time to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your New Years Eve celebrations with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight after a Christmas party. Food at the party was very good, especially considering it was a full house. It was hot and tasty. The big let down was the room and breakfast. The room had not been cleaned properly requiring the toilet to be flushed before use! Door to bathroom was dirty. Poor sleep due to some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John3k
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas party, and thank you for your feedback in relation to the food. Please can you contact me in relation to the issues you had with your room as I would like to discuss them with you directly. My e-mail address is gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk Kind regards, Andrew

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely Christmas dinner, the two young girls who served us were incredibly helpful, attentive and friendly whilst still giving us space to enjoy our lunch. They even entertained our little one, and nothing we asked of them was too much, one of the young girls with plaits (I can't remember her name I think it was Emilie) even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lmaccdlbe
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas lunch with us, and thank you for your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

All in all, the sandwiches, scones and cakes were a delight. So it was a shame that each pot of tea or coffee we had was impossible to pour without it spilling all over the table. A small detail but something that should absolutely be right in order to make this a good afternoon tea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHC20
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea, but was sorry to learn of the issue with the teapot, which I am now in the process of addressing. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Balcony Room (40)
Viewed
Garden Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Lilly of the Valley Suite (32)
Viewed
Peony Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Premier Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Second Premier Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
10.3 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
598 reviews
5.7 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
420 reviews
21.2 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
435 reviews
9.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
248 reviews
8.3 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range: $105 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“balcony rooms are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles TEAR1978, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles chelsea6969, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All quiet as hotel set a little way away from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeA398, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't have afternoon tea”
 of 5 bubbles RobandBev_79, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balconies have the best views over the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Garandjaninvan, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay