We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moorland Garden Hotel

Hotels.comUS$123*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moorland Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 567: English reviews
Stourbridge
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was very good - well presented and beautifully cooked. There could perhaps have been a slightly greater choice if you were going to stay longer than a couple of days, but as we only stayed over the weekend, it was fine for us. Service was good, but perhaps rather slow. On Sunday, breakfast was self service and cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyTrip63
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Please can you contact me directly on gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk as I would like to discuss your review in more detail. Kind regards, Andrew

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights in this very pleasant hotel, which is located on Dartmoor part way between Plymouth and Yelverton. It is set well away from the main road and has lovelly gardens. The room (110) was large but for some reason we had been allocated this room which has a disabled bathroom even though we are not disabled....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronf197
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We allocated room 110 as it was the only twin we had available for the dates of your stay. We do offer a buffet style breakfast service when the hotel is busy, but other breakfast items can still be ordered from the menu. I hope to...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here prior to the Plymouth Half Marathon. The hotel grounds are beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed a generous cream tea and a cheese tea (cheese scones with Brie and Cheddar). The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately we couldn't have cooked breakfast because we left before the chef arrived, but we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lolabanol
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments in relation to the staff, which I have enjoyed sharing with my team at the hotel. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

This is our regular hotel when we visit family in Plymouth. They always accommodate our dogs and the service is always friendly and efficient. Kitty was particularly helpful at breakfast this time and no request was too much. The room is always clean and the grounds are beautiful. We will be back in May

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ALFIEDAISY
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments in relation to Kitty. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Moorland Garden hotel in May. Kind regards, Andrew

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

have visited this hotel on quite a few occasions and always found it of a high standard . it has a beautiful garden and staff are friendly and professional . however on this occasion i was not so impressed with my food choices but others in my group enjoyed theirs so maybe it was just me . however was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doughnut22
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you were not happy with your menu choices on this occasion but I am pleased that other members of your party enjoyed theirs. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Yeovil
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has lovely walks across the moors amongst a landscape of gorse and heather. I have used the hotel on many occasions when in the Plymouth area on business, it is a very pleasant retreat in the country away from the intensity of the city. The staff are always pleasant and welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRLMRL
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of the wonderful position we have on Dartmoor. Thank you for your comments in relation to the staff and food. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Andrew

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We had a two night stay in a ground floor room. The room was comfortable and well equipped, with a lovely view. The dining room was light and modern, tastefully decorated and with a beautiful view of the garden. The service was excellent and the food good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlendaC378
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and well equipped. Thank you also for your comments in relation to the food and service. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards,...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

My daughter treated me to a champagne Sunday afternoon tea. It was our first visit since the refurbishment and the hotel is looking so much better. Beautifully furnished restaurant with an eye-catching colour scheme and wonderful oversize linen napkins - was beginning to think these had become extinct! Amazing service from young, knowledgeable and attentive waitresses. Good selection of finger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deputy2014
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Brandon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed here just one night on our long journey to Cornwall, and it was a very pleasant place to stay. Beds were comfortable and we got a really good nights sleep. The front staff was so very nice she went out of here way to answer our questions. The only complaint I have and it really is with most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staci446
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments regarding the start time for dinner and will review our present procedures. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

London
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I stayed at the Moorland Garden Hotel in March '17 for a family reunion. The event went really well as the friendly bar, restaurant food, clean comfortable bedrooms and beautiful grounds were all great. From arrival to departure the staff were all welcoming and helpful. One of my highlights was having my first ever Devon cream tea. I shared this,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CD23London
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your comments. I am pleased that Grace was able to help you with your "bad hair days"! I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Andrew

435 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Balcony Room (40)
Viewed
Garden Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Lilly of the Valley Suite (32)
Viewed
Peony Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Premier Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Second Premier Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
5.7 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
444 reviews
8.3 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
9.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
626 reviews
28.1 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,039 reviews
24.3 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range: $118 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have a balcony separated by glass panels. I don't think there were any lifts, but staff offered to help with luggage.”
pennyt435, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay this time”
RitaW127, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Rural area setting, room overlooked delightful gardens. No hesitation recommending to others. Wide range of interesting places to visit.”
regwwaite, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Only saw the Peony Suite so cannot comment on other rooms, just keep well away from breakfast room whinges.”
DavidHamby1, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Balcony rooms have superb views”
MyTrip63, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$123* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$150
Booking.comUS$127
Orbitz.comUS$123
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates