We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cala Sith Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cala Sith Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cala Sith Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Great location, rooms were very clean, food was good, hostess Andrea was friendly and helpful with advice and tea in the evenings when we returned from touring the island and its 8 distilleries. What brings the rating down is the size of the room (in order to open the door to the hall, your suitcase had to be closed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbintoronto
Boxtel, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I went to the Cala Sith B&B as part of my stay on islay and it was great. The service was great, the food was great and it was all nice and comfy. if i were to go to islay again then i would certainly stay here again. -rory

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rory T
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We camped in the garden of Cala Sith after a wet cycle from Port Askaig. Could not have found a better place - great views and facilities, with fresh coffee and a jar of lovely jam thrown in at no extra cost. Our wet things were tumble dried, and great chat was had. Clean, friendly and great value!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlis B
Dundee
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I contacted Andrea about a month before my stay, the communication was great. Andrea was wonderful and the 2 other members of staff I met were very kind. The room was exceptionally clean, and the bed was one very comfortable, you couldn't ask for much more! I stupidly forgot to pack a hair dryer but Andrea was able to provide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmdoogan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had the most excellent experience staying at Cala Sith very welcoming +child friendly . Stunning views from bedroom+dining room no matter what the weather. Staff very pleasant +helpful . Breakfast delicious served in beautiful surroundings . Very helpful people . Close to Ferry Terminal so extra handy especially when you have children . Would return for sure. Very relaxed atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomy G
Sutton in Craven
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I really don't know where to start. In all our tours of Scotland over the years this is possibly the worst I have ever stayed in! The room was supposed to have a sea view, it did but the double glazing was shot and full of moisture making the view consistently foggy. The drafts around the windows were sealed by...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Keith J
CalaSith, Manager at Cala Sith Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Keith and Adele, I'm sorry your stay with us wasn't enjoyable. I wish you'd told me this during or at the end of your stay as we'd have offered you a refund. During a storm this year our windows were damaged as you say. Our builders have been asked to fix both of them. I'm sure you know that...

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had been looking forward to our trip to Islay, and the island didn't disappoint, but sadly our acommodation did. Although the bed was comfortable there are very few other positives. What should have been excellent sea views were obscured by misted up double glazing, some of which was held together by tape. On one day our bathroom was not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Geoff R
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Wonderful experience staying here. Andrea was wonderful and helped us out with our inquiries. (And as we had traveled from Australia there were a few!) Right by the Ferry Clean and Comfortable, you couldn't ask for much more. Highly recommend and would go back again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave H
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Handy location next to the ferry terminal and town of Port Ellen. The weather was pretty poor (it was January I suppose) but the lovely island and fantastic locals made up for it. Coming back to this b&b at the end of each day was the icing on the cake! Had a great time and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a 3 night stay at this fantastic little establsihment. Even before making the booking, the owner (Andrea) couldnt have been more helpful sharing info about the island and suggested things to do. The B&B itself is very clean and well kept and the double room we had was ensuite with freesat TV. From the moment we arrived, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gareth R

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
17.2 km away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
238 reviews
0.1 km away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Ellen
347 reviews
15.6 km away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bowmore
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
114 reviews
32.4 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
240 reviews
15.5 km away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#10 of 13 in Bowmore
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Cala Sith Guest House

Address: 39 Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Ellen
Price Range: $42 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cala Sith Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Islay is a small island but with very helpful locals. Take this location if you can get it!”
 of 5 bubbles ROSEMARIELYDA, 30 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask if the window in the double room has been fixed.”
 of 5 bubbles barbintoronto, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Room number 6 was great but the wifi signal dropped in my room.”
 of 5 bubbles cmdoogan, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Go somewhere else but if you must stay do not use room 3!”
 of 5 bubbles keithj946, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles geoffr843, 2 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5