We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ballachulish Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ballachulish Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,049 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 989: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This wasn't our first visit to this little gem of a hotel. It has been taken over recently and although it hasn't changed much over the last few years from our first visit, promises have been made that there will be refurbishments for the bedrooms in the near future. The rooms are ok, do need a spruce up but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky S
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited this hotel during the last week of November for just one night. The room and bathroom were perfectly clean and the view over the loch(?) was superb.The room was large with all facilities you could need. The staff were extremely friendly and polite. Dinner which was included in the price was excellent with a great choice. Breakfast next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAVID_B504009
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David_B504009, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful 5 star review. I have passed your comments on to our team at the Ballachulish Hotel and we hope you will return to visit soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second out of season 2 night break this year. Once again we are very pleased with our stay. We opted for one of the rooms in the original hotel with views over Loch Leven and the Ballachuilisch Bridge. Our room this time is 105. It is not very big but is quite comfortable and our poodle enjoys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth B
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ElspethB, Thank you for your kind review, we have passed on your comments to the heads of department and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, this old hotel stands on the banks of Loch Leven. we booked a deal for D,B&B. and were delighted with our stay. It is worth playing a little extra to get a superior room which just means it looks out onto the loch. Our dinner was good as was the full Scottish breakfast. The room was comfortable but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barnieboy
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Hi barnieboy, thank you for your kind review, the new owners have a plan in place for the rooms to get makeovers and this should be starting soon.

Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very atmospheric in the old building, lots of character. Single room smallish but fine for me. Amenities good. Staff very helpful, friendly and professional. Beautiful location, close to lots of incredible walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Martin B, thank you for your really positive review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

wiltshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

My car broke down en route from England, so I arrived after 10 pm. I had telephoned ahead to ask for a late supper. I was greeted, shown my room and then given a splendid cold collation. One could not ask for more. All the staff were very helpful and jolly. Breakfast was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireDreadnought
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Hi wiltshiredreadnought, Thank you for the nice review you have given the hotel, we were glad we managed to help you out after your car broke down.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Super 3 night break at the Ballachulish Hotel, all expectations exceeded. Easy to find, easy to park and easy to access. Very charming ground floor reception rooms including a characterful lounge and library. Room considerably larger than expected with excellent heating, a comfortable bed, clean and functional bathroom (slightly erratic hot water aside) and a fabulous 'Loch view'. Breakfast buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dave H, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel , all you lovely comments have been passed on to the departments and we will look forward to your next stay with us.

Anstruther
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our visit to this hotel was part of a 4 night trip to the North West using Vouchers we had bought online (We had become increasingly irritated in visiting hotels and restaurants only to find that other people were enjoying the same facilities/service as us at massively discounted rates!) Overall this hotel did not disappoint, given what we had paid....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stuart K, Thank you for your review, I have passed on your comments to the relevant parties and we hope to see you again in the future

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

12 of us travelled here from all over England for a weekend to celebrate a special event. On the first night we had booked a meal for all of us only to find out they had put us in an area which was being refurbished and not very pleasent. Me and a friend had a word and explained that at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northyorksbeachbun
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Morning Nothyorksbeachbun, Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a lovely review, we go out of our way to try and make every guest enjoy there stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked after reading mediocre reviews citing the hotel as tired. The building is beautiful, the restaurant is very nice, but the rooms are very tired. The room we had was very clean but run down. It does need renovation quite majorly. I would still stay again as it is comfortable and the only down side was the tired rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Fionaw, thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a review, The hotel is just starting the first stage of a long term refurbishment plan under the new owner so the next time you hopefully come to see us you will see the differences.

642 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (407)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Feature Double Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Signature Feature Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
3.4 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
288 reviews
0.4 km away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
794 reviews
0.4 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
73 reviews
2.5 km away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Price Range: $86 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballachulish Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Ballachulish Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View of Loch Leven”
 of 5 bubbles 410elspethb, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They all seem to be good”
  • view just outside hotel
 of 5 bubbles J1069WLmartinb, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is probably worth paying a little extra for a 'Feature' room.”
 of 5 bubbles drkenny2014, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Refurbished rooms are ground level with views of loch.”
 of 5 bubbles ericbray1, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Older part of hotel has rooms overlooking the loch”
 of 5 bubbles nandi1965, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay