Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Traveller (2034)
Panorama at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
360
Panoramas (11)
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Videos (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#3 of 4 hotels in Maho
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Car park
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Waterslide
Video game console
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Price:Suntans Included - Up to 35% Off

Location

1 Rhine Rd., Maho 02458 St Martin / St Maarten
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Princ. Juliana Airport
Esperance Airport
10.3 km
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,466 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

While Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa boasts a prime location near the beach with the unique spectacle of plane landings, guests have expressed concerns about the pervasive loud music and noise disturbances. Reviewers appreciate the resort's cleanliness but note inconsistencies in pool maintenance and room freshness. The amenities, including the pool and entertainment, are popular, though some visitors encountered issues with service and felt the resort did not offer good value for money.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Rowdy
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,466Review246Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 623
  • 330
  • 196
  • 135
  • 182
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kavita D wrote a review Mar 2020
Trinidad and Tobago
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Sonesta properly is wildly popular, but that it also means there is usually high occupancy, particularly during the peak tourist season in SXM.
I completed a solo 3 day stay at the Maho property and found the following, and would like to make some suggestions to the property management as well as future guests. This was also amidst the COVID precautionary period, and I found that the resort provided ample sanitizer stations. For the buffet areas, staff served instead of self service, this helped contain the spills as well as minimise the cross contamination.

Parking =$5 per day for hotel guests. The car park is secure in within short walking distance

My room was on the 10th floor with balcony overlooking the Mullet Bay Golf course
1. My TV had no signal
2. I avoided turning on the AC since that air brought in the iodine like scent (which made me slightly nauseous) Housekeeping kindly supplied air freshener and left the can with me for the duration of my stay)
3. The floor of the shower was slippery and I almost had an accident

Points for improvement:
1. Notepads and pens in rooms close to the telephones would be useful
2. Installation of automatic air freshener stations on corridors will help the iodine like odor emenating from the Mullet Bay side would be a plus
3. Dust trapper mats on elevator entryways would help keep ele ator floors clean

Before you go
1. Download the Sonesta app and make dinner reservations upon arrival
2. Visit the Maho Cafe for your supply of bottled water and coffee in the lobby

Alcohol is in ample supply with few restrictions. Vegetarian as well as gluten free options are available in all restaurants.

Most of the staff seem motivated to serve, there were a few however who I would imagine require a bit more training in hospitality to smooth out the rough edges.

I look forward to returning to this property in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadeigeMartelly, Management Representative at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear KavitaD Thank you for taking the time to submit your rating and review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa in St. Maarten. We appreciate the recognition of our efforts during flu season. In regards to the points you've addressed, rest assured, management reads all reviews and appreciates the feedback. We will certainly address these points with teams involved. We look forward to welcoming you back again at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa. Warm regards, Nadeige Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karin S wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got back from the resort last week and had a great stay! Don't worry about the reviews regarding a virus going around the resort. That has long past and neither myself, my husband or our kids got sick. The hotel is very good about cleaning & sanitizing and we did not hear of anyone sick while we were there. We had adjoining rooms with pool view. It was so nice to sit out on the balcony with my coffee in the morning! Make sure you make your dining reservations at the kiosk a soon as you check in as the popular dining times can go fast! We did an excursion through Sun Wing, which was the rhino rides. A lot of fun and a great way to see the island. They have a desk in the lobby so you can make your booking right at the hotel. Food was good with plenty of variety. Cooking on the lava rocks at Palms Grill was fun for the whole family! My only disappointment was I have 2 teens, ages 14 & 17 and there is not a lot of activities for them other than swimming in the ocean or the pool. I would recommend they expand the "Teen Zone" room to make it bigger, more inviting and with more things to do. A basketball court would be fantastic!! Overall a great stay and we would return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The pool view rooms are nice and you can watch the planes come in
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadeigeMartelly, Management Representative at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Dear Karin S Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, and for helping potential guests and concerned travelers navigate through past reviews. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay with us! We appreciate the feedback and recommendation of the Teen Zone expansion and while we do have a basketball hoop in the pool, the suggestion to add a court is a fantastic idea that management is considering and looking into. Happy to know that you enjoyed Lava Rock and found it to be fun for the whole family, and that you had an overall great stay! We can't wait to welcome you and your family back again soon! Warm regards, Nadeige Management Representative
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Matthew wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Sonesta Maho with my best friend and her two kids. We were very excited about the trip after travelling to st. Maarten we arrived at Sonesta maho the front desk person who dealt with us was very pleasant. After checking in we arrived at the room and it was not cleaned. We alerted front desk who sent house keeping. House keeping was very understanding and took out the visible trash left in the trash bins and continued to clean the room. We were very exhausted from travelling and would have preferred to take a nap, especially the kids as it was already the kids bed time but we decided to go to the buffet while the room was being prepared for us. The buffet was great. What I didn't like about the room not been cleaned upon our arrival is that no one apologised to us. I checked out a day earlier as I had another engagement and my friends and her two kids stayed a extra day. I came back to pick up my friends and the security guard was so rude to me.. he told me I'm not allowed to enter the hotel not even to alert my friends at the front desk that I was waiting in the car. Although I explained him that I was here to pick us my friend which I pointed out to him at the front desk area from where I was parked. He said it is the procedure and I must stand at the entrance of the front desk and shout my friend name out so she could come out to me. That I found was so unprofessional. I could have dealt with the room not being cleaned, but the incident with the security guard left a bad taste in my mouth. Sonesta Maho please train the security officers as they are the first ones we guest see on entering the hotel. The hotel is not the building it's the employees.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadeigeMartelly, Management Representative at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear vensiam Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa. We regret to learn that we did not meet your expectations with your room upon arrival, and do apologize for this misunderstanding. Rest assured, management takes all guests' reviews and feedback seriously, which will help us improve as we continue to ameliorate our services. Regarding the 24/7 security detail, they are not employees of the resort but operated by a contracted security company and highly, and solely, trained to keep our guests and staff safe and secure within our resorts. While most of the officers are hospitable and friendly while on duty, they are security officers contracted to do their job. We regret to learn that this experience compromised your overall impression of our resort and the services our staff delivers but hope you understand this experience is not reflective of how our staff is trained. Should you wish to discuss further, please don't hesitate to contact our Guest Relations Manager Ms. Eloy at aeloy@sonestastmaarten.com. Warm regards, Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cdnhotdog wrote a review Feb 2020
ON canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived February 2 for 7 days. Currently still here.

Being an owner in a Canadian Food and Hospitality business and an avid traveller, I expect a high level of customer service, cleanliness, safety and entertainment while on vacation.

The price you pay for a vacation doesn’t always reflect the resort itself or it’s amenities. For anyone who travels, they should know that location location location is what dictates a large portion of your expense. Having said that, this resort delivered on all levels. St Maarten is an wonderful island full of amazing friendly people, yet still recovering from a devastating storm. Don’t worry, that won’t affect any of your vacation.

I came here a little concerned after reading many of the recent reviews. One thing I’ve learned after working in the Hospitality business for the better part of 20 years is that people complain, a lot. They exaggerate things and even fabricate stuff. That’s not ok. The customer is NOT always right.

The workers at this property are some of the kindest hardest working individuals I have seen in most of my travels. The drink service at the buffet by far the weakest link. Needs improvement.

The food is better than most all inclusive. Not a massive buffet but the quality is what’s important.

Everything that you would expect like free wifi, hot water, cable tv, clean rooms cold Ac, comfy beds and pillows all rate a perfect 10.

There is a slight sewage smell in some spots outside but I’ve never been to a Caribbean island where I haven’t had that experience. So why even talk about it. Don’t like it don’t travel anywhere in the entire Caribbean. Problem solved.

I’ve never been to the same resort twice in probably the 20-25 resorts I’ve travelled, but I’d come back here and hope to one day soon.

As for the whole virus issue. I feel bad for the resort as people are outright making stuff up. There are so many causes for people being sick. Usually the main one on resorts is excessive drinking and sun, yet blamed on food. Food is not the issue here, and therefore not the hotels problem, only it is, because the resort wants nothing short of happy healthy guests. It’s really good for business!

Wash your hands frequently while travelling, STOP SHARING DRINKS!!!!! I’ve seen this daily here. Grow up! The vast majority of people are having a great vacation, me included. And I can’t wait to come back.

I’m getting my monies worth and a whole lot more! Thank you to all the staff and the friendly people of St Maarten.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadeigeMartelly, Management Representative at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Feb 9, 2020
Dear cdnhotdog We appreciate this very much for taking the time out off your vacation to submit a current account of your stay at Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten, especially to help potential guests and concerned travelers navigate through these previous reviews! Thank you for recognizing our hard working staff and pointing out how we do care and put our guests safety first. We're overjoyed at the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon - we wish you a wonderful rest of your stay and please don't hesitate to contact us should you need anything further. Warm regards, Nadeige Management Representative Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TERRI F wrote a review Feb 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm not a complainer at all so please when you read this take heed!! I read some reviews before we went to this resort and thought ohh you can't please everyone all the time soo i took it with a grain of salt. We do travel every year and i do read these reviews to help out somewhat with excursions and the resort itself. I'm here to tell you that this resort is NOT worth the money that they are asking for it!! If you read a few of the reviews around mine you will see!! Please take them seriously especially Andy K's review from Feb 2020. His review is bang on but i can add more. We were sooo disappointed with this resort and the Manager could not give a flying F#@K! We were a party of 6 that flew in right in the middle of the gastrique virus!! Check in was fine and fast. We flew in at 4:30 so room was ready. Room was clean and new. Bar fridge was stocked when we got there and was never stocked again but they had no troubles taking the money that we left for them to stock it! Food was terrible and they had the smallest buffet that i have ever seen on the Islands. Service was extremely slow and the employees were not happy at all. It almost seemed like they were bothered by us. There was not nightly entertainment! They had a theatre across the road but only had shows on Thursday-Saturday only.They definitely need a bigger pool. We found that there was alot of kids there and they stayed in the pool for adults and not the kids pool. It was very noisy. One of our party wasn't feeling well and stayed in their room for most of the afternoon. About 4pm they asked the maid if they could please clean the room and she said in a snotty voice that now she has to work late! Soo we booked 4 excursions with the sunwing rep right in the resort and if you can believe it they screwed up all four excursions with wrong prices, dates and times. 75% of the resort was sick when we got there. Two of us got it. It lasted 24 hours with us as we were the lucky ones. This resort was expensive and more than we usually spend on a yearly vacation. We thought "oh well it's Sint Maarten and must be worth it for the price". ABSOLUTELY NOT!!! We have been to quite a few islands and have spent way less and received alot more!!! This resort needs alot of work to warrant the money that they want for it. The beach is a nice place to visit to see the planes taking off but you are not allowed to have lounge chairs on it and the waves can be quite large at times. The cruise ship people take over the beach. I do recommend the 4 wheeler tour with Charlie and his komakazee sidekick. That was a good tour. Soo in the end please take heed when you book this resort for the money and the services i would not recommend it at all. We were soooooo disappointed!! Now i have to wait until next year for my next vay cay!!! Thanks for listening.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If i had a choice i would choose the adult side with the pool right outside of your room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadeigeMartelly, Management Represntative at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Dear 728terrif, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa. It's disheartening to learn that members of your group fell ill during your stay. It’s never fun to get sick, and we can certainly understand how you must have felt when you or members of your group fall ill whilst on vacation. Rest assured, our commitment to our guests has not changed and we have the safety and wellbeing of our guests and staff top priorities. While we had three spikes since your time last month of reported cases of this gastro-intestinal illness or stomach flu, the peak of reported cases didn't pass 4% of our total weekly occupancy. It has also been contained and downgraded for a couple of weeks now as we've only had under 1% of total occupancy reporting an illness, most of which were unrelated to Norovirus. Please note that you must have 3 or 4 symptoms to be positive for Noro. The above figure is counting guests with 1 and 2 symptoms. To clear up any misinformation or assumptions for our readers and concerned travelers, we do base our information on medical experts and health department professionals and to put numbers into perspective our resort occupancy levels range between 900 to 1100 guests a day. We have not had reported cases of Noro of recent. Recent reports also indicate that senior management effectively restricted the spread of the virus and prevented further cases in this difficult-to-control environment as the fall in recorded cases documented in the log confirms that enhanced measures were effective. While management teams continue to implement enhanced measures in addition to the already established procedures, increasing hand hygiene remain to be the most effective in preventative measures one can take especially when traveling and throughout flu season. It is to be noted that we are a family resort and we do not have an adults-only pool. Our signature Oasis Pool is open to our guests, including our young guests who enjoy the waterslides. We do have a small Aqua Park for children also just next to the Oasis Pool. It's with a heavy heart to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay with us nor our beautiful island of Sint Maarten. Should you wish to discuss further, please contact your Sunwing representative or our guest relations management Ms. Eloy at aeloy@sonestastmaarten.com. Warm regards, Nadeige Management Representative Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony N wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As an employee in the travel industry I have seen my fair share of good and bad hotels and resorts. I had read all the reviews prior to booking so here is the honest truth.
check-in: The check in process was simple. We arrived handed them the card for incidentals and our room was ready.
Room: First Night -The room is a fairly modern room due to a refurbish after Hurricane Irma. However my GF has a mold allergy and is very sensitive. There was mold in mostly the bathroom, but some throughout the rest of the room. (Second Day) The staff was very accommodating and moved us to a room that was free from mold. The room was very quiet and comfortable as was our previous room. The rest of our stay was enjoyable.
Pool: The pool area near the bar is small for the amount of people that congregate there, but the pool itself is fairly large. The pool is also not heated, and there is no hot tub.
Beach: The beach area is not super large unless you walk over to Maho. There is plenty of room though to lay out, swim,etc. The views are incredible as it face east towards the airport and you can view airplanes landing while lounging.
Restaurants: Many reviews had people getting sick from the food. The resort staff was serving the food during the buffet as to not cross contaminate. While this slowed the process down, I found it wise as to reduce the risk of spreading germs. Additionally tourists in foreign countries eat more than they should and eat items they aren't accustomed to. This can lead to the many reviews of travelers falling ill. Know your limitations. The Italian restaurant was disappointing as the food wasn't real tasty, we preferred the buffet instead. The Grille however was delicious too. The Lava Rock dinner is amazing! Wish we had eaten there more than once.
Drinks: Not alot of Whiskey choices, really only Jim Beam and Scotch. Aside from that they'll make you just about anything!
Staff: The staff was friendly and kind. I'm sure on a occasion they may be disconcerted or seem uninterested, but they are there to help. Treat them respectfully.
Overall the resort is fantastic and relaxing. The vacation is what you make of it. You wont be served Fillet Mignon and Caviar but the food is good. Its quiet and quaint even with kids running around.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for pool view rooms (Even numbers...I.E. 428)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadeigeMartelly, Management Representative at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear antnest82 Thank you for taking the time to submit your excellent rating and honest review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa. We are pleased to know that our teams were able to relocate you immediately and that you the rest of your stay was enjoyable. Rest assured, management reads all reviews and takes all guest feedback seriously, and have addressed this to teams involved to ensure this doesn't occur again. We take pride in listening and understanding our guest’s needs, ensuring that our guests’ expectations are met and delivering exceptional value to our guests is fulfilled. We appreciate the recognition of our commitment to our guests, ensuring their health security if of utmost priority, and thank you for noticing how we continue to implement preventative measures during flu season although we have not have any reported cases of the stomach flu for a few weeks (also to note that it was medically reported not to be foodborne). Remaining cautious and increasing hand hygiene remain to be the best preventative measure any one can take, especially while traveling. Our staff do work hard to ensure our guests are comfortable, so thank you for this recognition as well. We are grateful that you've been able to navigate through past reviews and had an authentic experience - we appreciate you sharing a professional viewpoint of your stay to potential guests and concerned travelers. Thank you again for the kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten soon. Warm regards, Nadeige Management Representative
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bgoldstucker wrote a review Jan 2020
Boston, Massachusetts
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The first issue is the poor quality of the food. The hotel has 4 restaurants but with the exception of the Italian, the other 3 are very very poor!
Popular wisdom says that you get what you pay for but ...... in this case that is you don’t get what you paid for. Quality of the food is very low, very basic and service is extremely substandard. It is evident that this property needs desperately new management! The disastrous presentation of the food plus the low low levels of service exacerbated the issue. If you are providing free expressos, make sure that the machines are clean and properly calibrated. Costs the same !! Many similar priced all-inclusive packages in the Caribbean provide a much better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadeigeMartelly, Management Representative at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Jan 5, 2020
Dear bgoldstucker Thank you for sharing your review with us. We regret to learn that we missed the mark in meeting your expectations. Our staff work hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and our Maho Cafe hostess does clean our machines and properly calibrated. regularly throughout the day. We regret to learn that you experienced this inconvenience while attempting to get your espresso. We also wish to correctly inform potential guests that we have five restaurants including The Point, Palms Grill, Ocean Terrace, Ascot Pub, Jing's Kitchen. Rest assured, management reads and takes all guests' reviews and feedback seriously, and will address your concerns with our team as we continue to find ways to elevate our guest experience. We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback and should you wish to elaborate more, please don't hesitate to contact our guest relations manager Ms. Eloy at aeloy@sonestastmaarten.com as we are intent on restoring your faith in us once again. Warm regards, Management, Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bobmarley804 wrote a review Jan 2021
Clovis, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited sonesta maho beach resort December 29 through January 3 2021. Resort is beautiful and our view from 8th floor is amazing. It tells you when booking that you get 10th floor if you booked ocean view but they give you 8th floor I believe because it’s not as busy as usual. Resort consists of two resorts one adults only sonesta ocean beach and second family resort where we stayed which opened November 17th so spa and gym is not opened at sonesta maho beach resort but is at the ocean beach. At the gym you have to wear mask and in the lobby. Spa was booked till January 4th, completely booked all the treatments were completely booked. But people who had massage said they do it off the cliff with beach view and massage is amazing just pricy ( ranges from 125-145$ for 60 min). Food was okay, every day they had a bit of a variety at the buffet and only few other restaurants were opened. They have small casino at the maho beach resort lobby, slot machines only though but accross the street from resort there is big casino which closes at 2am but can drink for free there if playing. Resort has some games at 3pm by the pool. So far we played bingo and trivia game by the pool those were fun other than that they say they have 70’s party with dj or 90’s but nothing really happening at the resort itself so most people go party across the street at wet bar or 3 amigos bar. New Years party was fun at the resort. They offered two options free one by the beach and one for $150 with dinner and entertainment somewhere up top restaurant by the adults only side of resort. Free New Years party was fun and there is an amazing fireworks off the boat right at the resort at 12 am and goes for about 15-20 minutes. You can also shop for very cheap souvenirs just steps away at the shops in town near 3 amigos bar. All the restaurants and snack bars at the resort close at 10:30 so if you get hungry later like my kids do take to go plate, there is a small refrigerator in the room. Room is cleaned daily and refreshments replaced daily just outside wasn’t so bad to go get bottled water at the front desk because they wouldn’t bring it to you. I wouldn’t say service is amazing but was so so I travel a lot and wouldn’t come back here again I just wasn’t impressed with anything. My kids loved two big slides that go to the deeper pool and there is also area for little kids with tiny slides. You can watch planes land and take off right here at the resort that was very cool . There are no water activities on the resort beach so have to go on the other side of island if want to do any activities.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nadeige Martelly, Other at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Dear bobmarley804, We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa. While we are delighted to know that you found our resort beautiful with amazing views from your room, enjoyed the surrounding shops in town, your kids loved the water slides as well as the Aqua Park and had fun at the NYE party, it is with regret to learn that you were still left underwhelmed. We hope to receive additional feedback in regards to your stay to understand the rating provided. Please contact our Guest Relations Manager Ms. Eloy at aeloy@sonestastmaarten.com as we are intent on restoring your faith in us. Warm regards, Management Representative Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
d h wrote a review Jun 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not stay at this resort, change your reservation before it is to late. Terrible accomodations and food.

I called ahead of arrival, 3 weeks, after reading the negative posts on here. I was reassured 3 times (by 3 different mangers) that the resort had

1. no musty/mildew rooms
2. offered gluten options
3. had 5 dining options

We arrived at the resort on 6/26/21, and only spent 1 night. We literally could not breath in our rooms due to the mold and mildew smell. Our travel agent moved us to the Secrets property because the Sonesta Maho needs to be closed and completly repared it is not in any kind of condition to have guests stay there

We arrived to find only 2 dining options and no gluten option. After complaining we were told we could go to the sister property next door for lunch only. So we are paying for all inclusive but can only eat 1 meal a day
We had to leave property on 6/26 to go find food at places in town.

The wait staff is very unfriendly, especially Angelique at the pool area.

The managers tell you everything is fine and will be taken care of, only to send the housekeeper up with a can of spray - that is not going to correct the mold and mildew.
There is no hot water on property, the managers will say that the issues was only a 1 day thing - WRONG we spoke to other guests who booked direct with the hotel so they can not move to another resort without losing their money - these guests said there has been no hot water for over 5 days.

Givanni and Kevin (managers) say that everything is fine, they know it is not but say that so that you will come to the resort

Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere. Do not stay at this resort
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nadeige Martelly, Owner at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Jul 4, 2021
Dear dhM4249XY Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback regarding your stay at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa. We regret to know that you feel this way and that we didn't meet all of your expectations. We do wish to clarify a few points made for potential guests reading this review. While we have some gluten-free options in all of our menus, for dietary restrictions, please note this in your reservations and upon arrival so that our chefs are aware of any allergies. Yes, there were three very separate water-related issues that occurred the past two weeks from the island-wide water plant that lasted a couple of hours to the hot water in boiler room again for a few hours and pressure valve causing sporadic water pressure — all of which have since been resolved. All of our staff fervently work hard to ensure that our guests are comfortable and having an enjoyable stay. We do have more than two dining venues open, of course during hours of operation (ie breakfast, snacks, lunch, dinner and late night snacks). Only two restaurant we anticipate reopening this summer based on capacity. It is clearly stated on our website, for a year now even before reopening, that in accordance with local health and safety guidelines, some facilities and services may be limited until further notice. We do encourage you to please contact our guest relations manager Ms. Eloy at aeloy@sonestastmaarten.com as we are intent in restoring your faith in us. Warm regards, Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten Management Representative
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike A wrote a review Mar 2020
Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and cleanliness of the hotel. The rooms were always cleaned early and well stocked with towels and refreshments in the mini-fridge. The grounds were very kept with lots of areas to lounge or to grab a drink and watch the sunset. Above all the staff were extremely friendly, from the bartenders to the waiters and waitresses, we were always treated with that warm Caribbean charm. Can't wait to go back and grab a whiskey sour and watch the sunset. Mi Luv dee Island!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadeigeMartelly, Management Representative at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Responded Mar 25, 2020
Dear DiggerBala Thank you for taking the time to submit your excellent rating and review regarding your recent stay at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa. We're so pleased to know that you had a great time, and you were pleasantly surprised. We appreciate the recognition of our hardworking staff ensuring that all of our guests are treated with that warm Caribbean charm! Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Management Representative Sonesta Resorts Sint Maarten
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
April W asked a question Jun 2024
Cincinnati, Ohio5 contributions4 helpful votes
Do the televisions have an HDMI port?
Answer from April W
Cincinnati, Ohio5 contributions4 helpful votes
Is there shampoo and conditioner in the shower?
Answer from Sam L
Cozumel, Mexico31 contributions20 helpful votes
There is a large poker section.
Answer from Nelson
Madison, Wisconsin84 contributions60 helpful votes
I did not wear a mask. I stayed here for 8 days. It was amazing! You should have a great time. Enjoy!
Answer from William B
Madison, Alabama443 contributions32 helpful votes
The Sonesta Resort boasts an exceptional location that provides guests with immediate access to the breathtaking Maho Beach, which is located just a few steps away from the property. While Mullet Bay is not included in the Sonesta package, it is conveniently situated near, allowing guests to easily explore this nearby beach during their stay. I will say, there is a pool right before stepping on the sand to the beach. I have included a Youtube video of our stay and you can see as we walked it and give you a better idea. You will enjoy the vacation/ visit.
dsr1122 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Milford, CT140 contributions102 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's worth spending a little more to get an Ocean View room. You will be on a higher floor and get a better nights sleep. "
Read full review
John M wrote a tip Jun 2024
New York City, New York4 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drinks: All watered down. Your best bet, head into town and buy a bottle for your room Food: Italian restaurant and Buffet"
Read full review
Jasmine S wrote a tip Jun 2024
5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool get super crowed fast, so I recommend going early in the morning. Its really hard getting a drink at the swim up bar"
Read full review
CMOT Dibbler wrote a tip Jun 2024
Buntingford, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to breakfast early. Request a room away from the road (noise)."
Read full review
NorthStar764434 wrote a tip Jun 2024
9 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s a decent budget option for all inclusive, don’t expect any sort of efficiency anywhere that involves food. The bartenders were good."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maho area.
PRICE RANGE
C$358 - C$502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sonesta maho beach hotel, st martin sonesta, sonesta maho beach resort & casino, sonesta st. maarten/st. martin, st maarten sonesta, maho beach hotel, st. maarten/st. martin sonesta
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt Martin / St MaartenSint MaartenMaho
NUMBER OF ROOMS
420
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Radisson Jewels (0.1 km), Jewels & Beyond (0.3 km), and J.N. Jewelers (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include JAX Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar, Roma Restaurant - Cucina Italiana & Artisan Pizza, and Spices Of India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Amsterdam (7.2 km).
All Maho HotelsMaho Hotel Deals
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars