We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Caledonian Hotel

Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Caledonian MacBrayne
    0.2 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 7 September 2014
Good Value and Location
Good Hotel, although a bit of a maze around the corridors to... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 434: English reviews
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 20 September 2014

I had a one night stay here and if I was in the area any longer, I would have chosen somewhere else. I had a single room - it was very dingy and tight. The hotel needs a bit of a revamp - very dated and wifi is only available in the reception area. But if you're looking for somewhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pesh18
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Read the reviews on TripAdvisor and must admit I was very apprehensive but booked it anyway as everywhere else was booked.I am not going to say it's a fab hotel as it's desperately in need of an upgrade but we had a very nice stay.we asked for a room on the front, which we got and there was no noise...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann S
Andrew M, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is appreciated

Dunnet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Spent 1 night there on trip to Western Highlands. Hotel is in good location for town near restaurants and pubs. Had a twin room and it was clean and comfortable with view over Loch Broom. Popular with tour parties and caters to that clientele so expect tartan and pipe music. In all a satisfying stay and would recommend for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank broughbadger
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 10 September 2014

Most if the staff were lovely, very helpfull and friendly espically in the bar and waiting staff. But this is the noisest hotel I have ever stayed in , paper thin walls (could hear my neighbour snoring) creaky floor boards , cicterns that seemed to be filling up all night, stray hairs and dirty hand prints in the bathroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMac1972
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, please accept our apologies for this - our wi fi is avaialble in the lounge and bar area and is free of charge, your first attempt may have slow due to the numbers of people usuing it at the time. THank you for the kind comments regarding our employees

scotland
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Just arrived back from a 2 day stay here 4th time at this hotel and hotel definitely improved since last visit. The twin room we had (24) was compact but it was clean and more importantly bedding and bathroom clean. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Did not eat in restaurant , but had a meal in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 03whitfm
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments - we look forward to seeing you again

Basildon
Reviewed 8 September 2014

We stayed here from Monday to Saturday as part of a coach holiday. On arrival a nice friendly greeting and room keys quickly distributed and directions issued. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the harbour and there was a broken sash cord in the window which was also had rather worn woodwork. The bed was very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan E
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments they have been discussed with our team and your comments will be used in our team training

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Good Hotel, although a bit of a maze around the corridors to rooms. The breakfast was fantastic self help except for the tea and toast. Bar meals at night were 5pm till 8:30pm the choice of beers is small and expensive. Right in the centre of town within easy access of everything around the town. Car parking is around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments!!

Lancs. England
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were lucky in having a reasonable room that had a side view of the harbour. Reasonably clean but could do with a little bit of love and attention, all a bit run down. Stayed for one night as we were catching a 10.30am ferry to Stornaway. In hindsight would have been better to get the 6.30 pm ferry and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david 3826
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we apologise to you that our bed and pillows were not to your liking and uncomfortable.

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed one night in July 2013. This is a large oldish hotel which appears to have been well maintained. I had a first floor room overlooking the rear. It was a big room which suited my needs. The hotel is just off the centre but it is just a short walk. Had to park opposite the hotel, no problem. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GasFromSomerset
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to seeing you again

Ullapool
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I requested a double bedded room on a high floor and was allocated a twin bedded room on the ground floor. The room was old fashioned and very 'tired'. The floor/ceiling structure was so thin we couldn't sleep for the noise of the people in the room above. We could hear every footstep they took - almost to the point...

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret F
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor they are very much appreaciated. We apologise to you that everything was not up to the standard that you were expecting.

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
227 reviews
7.1 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
152 reviews
28.5 km away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
405 reviews
25.9 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
198 reviews
1.9 km away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#3 of 6 in Ullapool
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Price Range: $85 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Caledonian Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We would not return to this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles BarbR763, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not eat in the hotel at night”
 of 5 bubbles brianjH1639CC, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Facing front”
 of 5 bubbles georgee233, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“please note that there is no lift so higher floors could be a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles jilldavid3, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably in the older original building”
 of 5 bubbles js638, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5