We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jao Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Jao Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Jao Camp
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very attractive, small and ‘polished’ lodge, but it did lack individualised service (that you would expect at a lodge of this level & price range). The rooms were excellent and beautiful, with pleasant indoor & outdoor seating areas. However, the pool was dirty, and therefore unattractive to use. And most of the staff (except for the manager)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_travelsaway
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca, Thank you for your great review and constructive feedback. We are glad to see that your overall stay with us was enjoyable and we are very proud of our Reverse Osmosis water system and the significant difference this has made to reducing the amount of plastic used in camp. This is only one of many ecofriendly practices and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent three days at Jao Camp where we had an incredible time! The place is beautiful, the food is very tasty and the service is outstanding. We had a lot of fun on the safaris and we got to see the big five!! I totally recommend this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartaGKG
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear MartaGKG, Thank you for the wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to see you had so many great sightings during your game drives. We hope you have tonnes of beautiful photos to mach the great memories. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Jao Camp was amazing! The staff, rooms, food, service, amenities and Safari guides exceeded our expectations. I cannot recommend this place enough. If you want a luxurious Okavango Delta safari experience, this is the place!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Teresa, Thank you for the beautiful words, we are so happy to see how much you enjoyed your luxurious stay with us. We pride ourselves in luxury with a purpose, emphasising our eco friendly initiatives well still providing our guests with all the comforts they have come to expect at Jao and Wilderness Safaris. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I literally feel so at home at Jao. I just returned from my third trip to Jao in the last 10 years. First visit was 2007, second was 2009 and most recent March 2017. Exceptional all three visits. The camp is wonderful. Staff and Guides are first class. Food is amazing. I remember thinking the first time I came I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SParkerJr
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear SParkerJr, Thank you for your beautiful review and delightful words, we are thrilled to see that even after so many return visits you are still so blown away. We cannot wait for your return and will be sure to have the cocktails waiting. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

At Jao, from the moment we arrived at the airport we were escorted with excellent, personal care! Luxury, family touch, The Majic of Africa defined...food like we've never tasted, Hospitality extraordinaire'- all define our experience at Jao. The trip of a lifetime!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanaLackey1
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear JanaLackey1, Thank you for the amazing review, we are thrilled to read your great memories and thank you for sharing some of your great photos with us - they are truly beautiful. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

All the staff at Jao Camp were very friendly and welcoming, and our guide, M.D., was truly exceptional! We loved our safari drives with him and were spoiled with plentiful wildlife everywhere, including seeing three leopards. The lodge and the rooms were beautifully harmonised with nature and the wooden bridges were an incredible way of getting around. The spa ladies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Susan for the beautiful review, we are overjoyed to see how much you enjoyed your time with MD, the wonderful ladies at the spa and all the staff in camp. We hope you got some great photos of the leopards too. Kind regards Wilderness Safaris

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for beautiful accommodations, amazing service and wonderful food this is the camp for you. The tents are beautifully decorated and very spacious with indoor and outdoor sitting areas and showers. The food and service was top notch and don't miss the spa for an amazing massage. We spotted leopard, lions, and zebra on our first day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferrN7290WN
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for the wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how many great sightings you enjoyed while out on your drives. We are thrilled you were able to find some down time to make full use of our beautiful spa and hope you will return soon for a...

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Of all the places that we stayed on our trip, this was definitely the most luxurious. The "tents" were bigger than my apartment in London and more luxuriously appointed with 2 showers (indoor and outdoor) and a beautiful bath. The people were seriously attentive, the food amazing and the surroundings beautiful. I would specifically recommend this location during peak wet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cameron B
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Cameron B for your wonderful review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how much you enjoyed the luxury of our tents. As per your recommendation we hope you will visit us again during the wet season to see how much our beautiful surroundings change. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 December 2016

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Jao camp last October. We have been in many safari camps in Botswana, Kenya, South Africa and Tanzania, last 10 years; this was by far the most spectacular camp we have experienced so far in the Delta and maybe in the entire southeast Africa. Been myself a wild life photographer, the beauty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rossano_giachino
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Rossano and Anita for your wonderful review and high praises, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jakes is a phenomenal guide and one of the treasures at Jao, we will be sure to share your kind words with him, Newman and the rest...

Morzine, France
Reviewed 16 November 2016

From the moment you land on the small landing strip you are transported to a fabulous camp A quick flyover by the pilot to ensure no animals on the landing area, pick up by your personal guide, the wooden bridge approach to the camp which is virtually invisible in the treeline and then the welcome by the staff in beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Raymond, Thank you for the beautiful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed you stay in the trees with us and glad to see Kaiser treated you to some wonderful activities too. We sincerely hope you will return with your family soon, and hopefully in the wet season next time to see how the amazing area...

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
109 reviews
0.0 km away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
248 reviews
0.0 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#13 of 70 in Okavango Delta
180 reviews
0.0 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A sophisticated and hidden Okavango Delta retreat.Located on a large island in the heart of the Okavango, Jao Camp’s individually handcrafted and luxurious tents look out onto the essence of the Delta – swathes of water, swaying reeds, leaping lechwe and dancing cranes. The main area is an elaborate two-storey wooden structure with lounge and dining area, two plunge pools, a library, curio shop and boma for dining under the stars, complemented by an excellent wine cellar. An award-winning spa and gym epitomise luxury in the most remote, scenically splendid setting.HighlightsJao’s position – amongst waterways and lagoons, yet close to dry Kalahari woodland – means you can enjoy both land and water experiences, depending on the time of year and the level of the waters that move ceaselessly through the area. Here, spectacular herds of red lechwe are followed by lion and leopard, while other game includes tsessebe, giraffe, elephant, hippo and crocodile, occasional sitatunga and regular spotted-necked otter. Experiences: Mokoro • Boating (seasonal) • Seasonal catch-and-release fishing • Day and night game drives • Seasonal hide for sleep-outs or game viewing ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jao Camp

Address: Moremi Game Reserve Border, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jao Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Jao Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jao Camp staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Jao Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have river / swamp views. I think rooms 7, 8 or 9 would be my favourite”
Rebecca_travelsaway, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are equally exceptional incl bed, lounge, bathroom/vanity, tub, in/out shower, a large outdoor deck area & siesta napping area.”
SParkerJr, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No bad rooms.”
cameronb482, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6, 7 ,8 probably the best.”
rossano_giachino, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“each room is accessed of an elevated walkway. Animals [apart from elephants] can roam freely through the camp.”
raymondmD3218HC, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5