We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Arkansas House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Arkansas House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautifully restored historic hotel in Jasper, AR within walking distance to the Little Buffalo River as well as downtown shopping and restaurants. We chose a two room suite for our Anniversary and we were not disappointed. Very nicely decorated with comfortable beds. Convenient parking street side. Eventhough our suite was facing The highway, traffic noise was not a problem....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
Xinbei, Taiwan
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We book this place at the last minute as alternative to the cliff house cafe and little Switzerland. We stayed at one of the suits, it is very clean(like I can sleep on the carpet clean), comfortable and right in the middle of Jasper(not that it means much it is a very small town! but it is within walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo H
Castle Rock, Colorado
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Room was clean, comfortable with living area and bedroom. Overall, a bit funky, but all we needed for the night before a river trip. Located right "downtown" on the highway, but nicely quiet. Lots more enjoyable than a chain motel, and far more convenient than staying in Harrison. Had dinner in the restaurant that is part of the Inn; food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael9876
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Garden Suite and it was what we expected for the age of the building. The room was comfortable, the bed could be replaced I think it's seen its better days. Otherwise beautiful place and great places to eat, even right at the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christa E
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

7 of us (moms and kids) recently stayed in the cabin by the river and enjoyed ourselves. There was plenty of room and the service was not lacking. The river wasn't an ideal swimming spot for the kids, but they had fun wading. This is a GREAT location for exploring all there is to see around Jasper-we hunted waterfalls!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mom2Twincesses
Park Hill, Oklahoma
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We had the garden suite in this historic hotel for the weekend, very clean, a lot of space. Our hostess was nice made us feel right at home. The cafe has good food, elk burger and chocolate pie Awesome..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 85Mick007
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Jasper is a small town in the heart of the Arkansas Ozarks. We were there for a late April wedding at Camp Orr, a Boy Scout camp on the Buffalo River. The flat river valley, with its spectacular limestone walls, is reminiscent of Yosemite. the principal pastime is floating the Buffalo, which is a "National River." Most visitors camp out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rcbjr479
Bristol
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the ground floor Garden Suite at the Arkansas House. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and overlooked the highway. It takes its name from the green decor, rather than a view of the garden, as there were no windows to the rear. Coffee and coffee machine were provided. It's a shame...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrsladyBristol
texas
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable , but if you run into trouble do not expect good results. We had been on a long hike and were tired. All we wanted was to relax in our rooms. The toilet in our room was broken. It overflowed. After I found someone to help it had flooded the bathroom floor. The bathroom floor that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bentonbell
Joseph M, Owner at Arkansas House, responded to this review

The toilet overflowed because the guest stuffed it with way too much toilet paper...the excess paper caused several hundred dollars worth of damage as it ruined the ceiling tiles in the room below.....we have a full-time maintenance man, who checks our plumbing every day...it was fine when they took the room. And it was fine when they left the room....

Spring, Texas
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We did not expect much when we first came in. We had escaped a big storm and found our way into Jasper. The owner and his daughter were very kind and the room they rented us (a little suite) was incredible. Everything was decorated as if it was from the early last century. The bathroom continued with the theme with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lulyhdz

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper
25.8 km away
1929 Hotel Seville
1929 Hotel Seville
#2 of 7 in Harrison
202 reviews
28.1 km away
Hampton Inn Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
#1 of 7 in Harrison
278 reviews
28.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Harrison
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Days Inn Harrison
Days Inn Harrison
#7 of 7 in Harrison
203 reviews
25.3 km away
Queen Anne House
Queen Anne House
#1 of 6 in Harrison
9 reviews
25.6 km away
Family Budget Inn Harrison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Arkansas House Inn, Cabin and organic and wild food cafe' is the landmark resort in the upper Buffalo River national park. For those interested in lodging in classic Ozark architecture along with local, wild and organic food, this is a must stay property. Located on the banks of the Little Buffalo river, this 82-year old masterpiece of masonry is the place for climbers, hikers, floaters and other outdoorsmen and women, and people who want to just drive around to see the beauty of the mountains, enjoy watching our wild elk herd, and enjoy a great meal at our nationally-famous cafe'. Our cabin rents for 125-150 per nite, our suites are 85-99, our rooms 70-100. We even have a salon on site to pamper you after your outdoor adventure in the highest mountains between the Rockies and Smokies, the Artic & Arkansas River. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arkansas House

Address: 215 East Court St, Jasper, AR 72641
Region: United States > Arkansas > Jasper
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arkansas House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“suits are good, but not sure about cabins”
 of 5 bubbles knightyf601, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you're into river rafting, the Buffalo River is one of the best in the nation.”
 of 5 bubbles WillSherwood, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The back room is the biggest and most remote”
 of 5 bubbles MemphisHoping, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The suites downstairs would have more room.”
 of 5 bubbles hiker70, 12 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We had a choice of rooms, but stayed in the Garden room.”
 of 5 bubbles AveryMississippi, 18 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5