We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed my 2 day stay. The place was good with friendly staff, food was good and their rooms were spacious and clean. They have a big enough pool that was very clean, Unfortunately we were not provided with slippers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edith C
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel was OK though the rooms were abit squeezed to make a family room. The food was generally fine including there breakfast. I'd commend their staff who were very friendly and helpful. The air-condition in the room wasent working despite having called for help. There television also lacked variety of channels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juddie W
Reviewed 19 May 2016

It is sad to see a hotel without slippers. This was a first. Kindly invest in them its cheap and very essential to have especially since you dont have wall to wall carpeting. another thing is a directory. dont expect guests to imagine the extensions for the hotel. these are simple and very essential things a guest requires.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivy O
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I stayed here on business for two days. The owner is a great guy who you can tell takes pride in his hotel. The food is amazing and the pool is sparkling clean. If you are in Kisumu, this is a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbymoore13
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Had lunch here with my sisters and 3 year old niece. Was disappointing that no child raised seat was available and my little niece struggled . The food was ok when it finally arrived. No fresh juices available. Staff were friendly though and it was lovely sitting by the pool side.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Philo D
Jonyemo, General Manager at Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry for responding to your review this late. I must thank you for raising your concerns, they have made us to be more keen on our stocks and availability of our items. I promise we will do more improvements to make sure you and other clients are 100% satisfied and feel comfortable. Welcome again!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We had made reservations several weeks ahead of time.....only to discover they did not have the twin room we had requested. However they did give us a single at no extra cost. The staff really tried to be helpful. We had reserved 5 rooms for our team. The air conditioning did not work in some of the rooms....very disappointing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BVB4750
Kapaa, Hawaii
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We have stayed here twice. It's a peaceful place in the hustle of Kisumu. Good security fencing and safe. Nice rooms with AC, comfortable. Can walk around a bit and has a nice pool. Food is also good on site so you don't need to leave if you don't to. Recommend the ginger curry soup with rice and talapia fish....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 15 September 2015

i spent a night here while on a road trip and this is a fairly good hotel with a brilliant clean swimming pool. service was fairly good. food is average with nothing fancy. The rooms however are brilliantly done and comfortable. I had one of the best night's sleep in their room (wine notwithstanding) :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silas O
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Well sadly there was a break in but it was arrested in the nick of time , none the less the ambiance is lovely , the staff work really hard to please the guests , you have the choice to having your meals in the dinning or by the poolside , Lunch and Dinner KEY TO Remember : local motor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
England
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Ok for a few nights, in a pleasantish part of kisumu. Decent hotel food for this price range (I ate mostly tilapia and chips). Wi Fi was sporadic but otherwise not a bad place to stay. Rooms were clean an staff very friendly. Did not see any cockroaches in my room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimboAndCoco

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
0.0 km away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#4 of 26 in Kisumu
108 reviews
0.0 km away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
245 reviews
0.0 km away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#2 of 26 in Kisumu
120 reviews
0.0 km away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
103 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#17 of 26 in Kisumu
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge® is a striking piece of architecture, a converted merchants house with attractive walled gardens and a 12 meter swimming pool, bar and outside restaurant. The hotel is on the outskirts of Kisumu town, home to 200 NGO offices and Kenya’s third city, the only UN appointed Millennium city in Africa and is situated between the middle class residential estates of USAID and Robert Ouko Estate.At Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge® our professional and friendly staff are dedicated to excellence to ensure a memorable experience.Le Savanna is 7 minutes away from the airport we have our own dedicated transport service, and 5 minutes away from the main high street.There is a dedicated conference facility that can accommodate up to a hundred delegates.Excellent security with an entirely walled garden and electric fencing and good business facilities that includes free high speed internet is complemented by air conditioning in all rooms. Kisumu can get very hot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge

Address: Robert Ouko estate, Kisumu 3050, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Price Range: $107 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Savanna Country Hotel Kisumu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floors looking out to pool area nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 797reneec, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Pick a room on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles silaso2015, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“anything above 2nd floor works great”
 of 5 bubbles alexsV1303YF, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room in the the lower block of the hotel. It's newer and rooms are better.”
 of 5 bubbles BussiaTravels, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
“They have a new wing which is quieter and the rooms much nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertK220, 21 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay