We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge

May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted with a friendly and helpful reception staff, who quickly got us checked into our rooms. I was travelling with a colleague and he always stays here when he is visiting the area. The rooms are named after fish and I was given tiger fish room. The room was small and I could hardly fit between the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lglobal
Overland Park, Ks
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I traveled here with a group of 13 people from the U.S. We were all very happy with the hotel. First when we arrived we received a fresh juice and help with our luggage. Then the rooms themselves are very comfortable. There is AC, the rooms are spacious, the showers have very warm water and are rainfall style. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
Kisumu, Kenya
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Visited their restuarant on a sunday evening. Sat by the pool. Ordered some type of stir fry dish. Was not anything close to a stir fry.The service wasn't spectacular either. Although I did not encounter any rude staff. But the ambience is great. They have a lot of vegetation within the grounds and its a nice place to stay away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ratimo A
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed my 2 day stay. The place was good with friendly staff, food was good and their rooms were spacious and clean. They have a big enough pool that was very clean, Unfortunately we were not provided with slippers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edith C
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel was OK though the rooms were abit squeezed to make a family room. The food was generally fine including there breakfast. I'd commend their staff who were very friendly and helpful. The air-condition in the room wasent working despite having called for help. There television also lacked variety of channels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juddie W
Reviewed 19 May 2016

It is sad to see a hotel without slippers. This was a first. Kindly invest in them its cheap and very essential to have especially since you dont have wall to wall carpeting. another thing is a directory. dont expect guests to imagine the extensions for the hotel. these are simple and very essential things a guest requires.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivy O
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I stayed here on business for two days. The owner is a great guy who you can tell takes pride in his hotel. The food is amazing and the pool is sparkling clean. If you are in Kisumu, this is a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbymoore13
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Had lunch here with my sisters and 3 year old niece. Was disappointing that no child raised seat was available and my little niece struggled . The food was ok when it finally arrived. No fresh juices available. Staff were friendly though and it was lovely sitting by the pool side.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Philo D
Jonyemo, General Manager at Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry for responding to your review this late. I must thank you for raising your concerns, they have made us to be more keen on our stocks and availability of our items. I promise we will do more improvements to make sure you and other clients are 100% satisfied and feel comfortable. Welcome again!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We had made reservations several weeks ahead of time.....only to discover they did not have the twin room we had requested. However they did give us a single at no extra cost. The staff really tried to be helpful. We had reserved 5 rooms for our team. The air conditioning did not work in some of the rooms....very disappointing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BVB4750
Kapaa, Hawaii
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We have stayed here twice. It's a peaceful place in the hustle of Kisumu. Good security fencing and safe. Nice rooms with AC, comfortable. Can walk around a bit and has a nice pool. Food is also good on site so you don't need to leave if you don't to. Recommend the ginger curry soup with rice and talapia fish....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee C

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
0.0 km away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#4 of 26 in Kisumu
123 reviews
0.0 km away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
151 reviews
0.0 km away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
95 reviews
0.0 km away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#2 of 26 in Kisumu
268 reviews
0.0 km away
Pinecone Hotel
Pinecone Hotel
#7 of 26 in Kisumu
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge® is a striking piece of architecture, a converted merchants house with attractive walled gardens and a 12 meter swimming pool, bar and outside restaurant. The hotel is on the outskirts of Kisumu town, home to 200 NGO offices and Kenya’s third city, the only UN appointed Millennium city in Africa and is situated between the middle class residential estates of USAID and Robert Ouko Estate.At Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge® our professional and friendly staff are dedicated to excellence to ensure a memorable experience.Le Savanna is 7 minutes away from the airport we have our own dedicated transport service, and 5 minutes away from the main high street.There is a dedicated conference facility that can accommodate up to a hundred delegates.Excellent security with an entirely walled garden and electric fencing and good business facilities that includes free high speed internet is complemented by air conditioning in all rooms. Kisumu can get very hot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge

Address: Robert Ouko estate, Kisumu 3050, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Price Range: $109 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Savanna Country Hotel Kisumu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid bedrooms downstairs that are next to the restaurant”
lglobal, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floors looking out to pool area nice.”
797reneec, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Pick a room on top floor”
silaso2015, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“anything above 2nd floor works great”
alexsV1303YF, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room in the the lower block of the hotel. It's newer and rooms are better.”
BussiaTravels, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates