We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 496: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are very large but with very little light. The bathroom and shower are very old fashioned and outdated. Bar and restaurant area make up for the average rooms. Spent two fun nights here and would still return even though it can do with a refurb. Make sure you get the fire lit prior to eating dinner so when you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunbro
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We stayed 3 nights. The staff was very good - friendly and helpful. They do a lot of little things that improve your stay such as lighting a fire in your room if you are there for any length of time, cleaning your boots when you come back, putting hot water bottles in your bed at night....etc; The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Better than average in a lot of ways, friendliness and service, but the lodge is pretty 'tired' and in need of an upgrade. Great location with the volcanos as a backdrop.Buffet style meals a bit of hit and miss, go for the freshly cooked stir fries, omelets and avocado and tomato slads etc.Bring plenty of small bank notes to tip....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We had a 2 bedroom cottage for our family of 3: us two and our adult daughter. Each side had its own bathroom, very nice. It was cool in the evening. The fireplace was lit with charcoal which helped a little bit, but smelled. I guess we have traveled enough that we are happy with safe, clean, comfortable and quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donna_Lucky-Now
Salisbury, Vermont , U.S.A.
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The setting for the Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is spectacular and we had a cottage that looked right out to one of the mountains. The property seems to get high ratings which is a surprise because the facility is quite outdated. My guess is the ratings are due to the proximity to the mountain range and amazing views. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hkillary
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the land of thousand hills. Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share your feedback which is truly helpful and will help us improve our services. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay, rest assured that this have been corrected. We look forward to hosting you in...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2016

As other reviewers have stated the bungalows are large and clean but but very basic. The grounds are park-like and our bungalow was tucked away so it felt like we had the place all to ourselves. The restaurant and lounge areas are well decorated and comfortable. The traditional singing and dancing in the garden at 5pm and the traditional music...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCS62
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you and taking your time to share your valued feedback on this forum. It is unfortunate that our rooms standard did not meet your expectations, we are working on that area to serve you better next time. We are glad you did appreciate the rest of our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

This is a good lodge well spread out and the closest to getting to the park HQ for gorilla trekking. Cottages are very large with basic furnishings. The bathrooms could certainly do with an upgrade, although are functional. Food was very good, with a nice selection at Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Staff were attentive and friendly. It is a peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DivingK
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Receive warm greetings from 3B Hotels team. We are glad you choose to stay with us during your last trip to Rwanda and many thanks for taking your time to share your valued feedback. We are working tirelessly to improve our facility and we promise to serve you better next time you visit. Murakoze cyane. Kind Regards, Ann...

Roxby Downs, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch at the mountain gorilla view lodge, was an average lunch I thought. The views from the back of the hotel are stunning though. Great to see the beautiful mountains in the back ground while eating lunch. Staff were also friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April-lee2
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for stopping over for lunch and taking your time to share your review on this forum. We hope you come stay with us next time you visit Rwanda and enjoy more of our wonderful meals and services. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing.

Darien, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The bungalow is large with plenty of sitting room next to the fireplace which is lit every evening. The beds are comfy and warmed with hot water bottles. The bathroom is huge so can be a bit chilly so we put the electric heater in there and it warmed right up. The food was plentiful and very good - so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank punch599
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a million for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to share an excellent review on this forum, from your comments it is evident you have a lovely stay with us and enjoyed our services, meals and accommodation. We look forward to host you again on your next trip. Murakoze cyane! Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge,...

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Unfortunately I can’t compare this lodge to others in the area. It’s large and pretty spaced out. We were in one of the perimeter cottages, so it was somewhat of a hike to the main building housing the front desk, dining room, bar and gift shop. Our cottage was very spacious with five chairs, coffee table and wood burning fireplace...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dskid
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Much greetings from the land of thousand hills. Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you and mostly for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our property. We are glad that you had a lovely stay however we did not meet your expectations, we apologise for that and...

453 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (437)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
5.0 km away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 14 in Ruhengeri
245 reviews
2.7 km away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#4 of 14 in Ruhengeri
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Flame Tree Village
Flame Tree Village
#10 of 113 in Kigali
51 reviews
3.9 km away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#2 of 10 in Musanze
14 reviews
11.6 km away
La Palme Hotel
La Palme Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ruhengeri
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge stands amidst real wilderness with panoramic views of Rwanda’s volcano mountains and located just 1km away from the Volcano National Park, making it the desired location for Gorilla Trekking enthusiastic guests. Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is surrounded by an exciting and rich biodiversity of shrubs, trees and various bird species among them the Grey Crowned Cranes or Balearica regulorum. The Hotel has an eco-tourist approach whereas Natural Conservation is a priority and the local community is empowered. The Intore (local Cultural dancers) will spice your stay and your days at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge will always be memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Address: Volcanoes National Park | Kinigi, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Ruhengeri
Price Range: $446 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Gorilla View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Gorilla View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Gorilla View Hotel Ruhengeri
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago
Vancouver, BC

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 1 close to reception and great views of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles jog35, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“cottages are on a path around property. #2 is 2 bdrm 2 bath across a little bridge. 5 minute walk to main lodge with WIFI and dining.”
 of 5 bubbles Donna_Lucky-Now, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request mountain/sunrise view”
 of 5 bubbles hkillary, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the right of the main building away from the grassy area would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles DivingK, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a room close to the main entrance if you don't want a long walk to your room”
 of 5 bubbles BambiLaFawn, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay