We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Santos Express

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Santos Express
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mom and I were looking for a place to stay that was cheap and affordable. We happend to stumble across this hidden gem down in Santos. We came to have a look and instantly fell inlove. Upon arrival we where greated by Sam. Sam showed us our room (coupe) but there wasnt much seaview and I requested if we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TamaraRobin
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very unique experience! Lovely beach view from my coupe. Staying in a train on the beach is really special. On the rough it side you need to share toilets and one shower between probably a dozen people, but that is part of a train experience. The service from booking, registering and straight through were excellent (Estelle and Sam).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wim_traveler
England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set on a beautiful beach we expected more, the rooms are as original train compartments, the beds are on the seats which are slippy plastic and hard, sheets and duvet were like new, but sliding doors are very old and very noisy, when ever the water is used along the train you hear it, the doors into each carriage are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardHNottingham
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is certainly not your average hostel. We stayed in the royal carriages, and while things were a little cramped and the bed was maybe a little hard, the location and the atmosphere made up for any little foibles we encountered. Restaurant served decent food and alcohol at a cheap price and there is excellent access to the beach. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soh220
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good value for money - you get what you expect - nice comfy small room with shared bathroom. Kept clean. Buffet breakfast does the job and very reasonable considering price of stay. Excellent location and helpful staff. Lovely sound of the ocean when going to sleep

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElmiraG15
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would not stay here again. Probably okay if you are a young backpacker and that applies to the Royal Suites as well. Breakfast menu was very limited if you didnt want a yet another cooked meal. The only reason I gave two stars is for the position right on the beachfront. Mossel Bay doesnt have much to offer but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank recentlybeen
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Recentlybeen, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that our quaint historic town and unique accommodation was not to your taste. We find that it mostly appeals to seasoned travelers with an adventurous spirit. The Royal suites are almost one hundred years old and we are complemented by all of our guests on the...

Amstelveen
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Today I arrived in the dorm in this train-hotel. From the outside it looked pretty nice and the location is good too. The dorm was disappointing, very old and dirty. Only one bathroom and no privacy. The fact that there where no curtains made me leave right away. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I also did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Floor24
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Floor24, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Seeing as you did not stay with us, you should not have bothered. Unfortunately we were completely fully booked, otherwise we would have gladly upgraded you to a single room free of charge, as you were the only person booked into the dorm. Privacy should not be an issue,...

Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We planned our whole trip around the availability of the suite with sea view (booked over 7 months in advance!). It was fantastic. You can park your car within the fence at the train carriage. The suite (B in our case) offered a very comfortable bed, an even better chair, a fridge, water cooker and a separate en suite bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderwomantravels
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Wanderwomantravels, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us so much! The Royal suites are extremely popular and yes, they do need to be booked way in advance. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, The Santos Express Team

Edenvale, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We booked into the Royal Suite and all I can say is Amazing.. The staff was extremely helpful. I requested some roses and a bottle of champaign to be in the room upon arrival and the staff even went as far to put Rose pebbles on the bed in the shape of an hart. The restaurant serves, in my view,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spankfreax
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Spankfreax, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We view our guests as family and we enjoy making your experience top notch. Nothing is too much trouble! Now that you are part of our family, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, The Santos Team

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

The room was clean, the view outside was staggering. The staff were eager to help and always had a smile. Would happily of stayed here longer. Bar open till the early hours so a great place if you don't want a quiet place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dux T
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Dux T, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We would have happily let you stay longer! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Train Greetings, The Santos Express Team

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
3.1 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
133 reviews
28.5 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
287 reviews
1.8 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
2.0 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
79 reviews
0.3 km away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santos Express

Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: $27 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santos Express staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer the privacy and would not stay in the dorm, just make sure you book right. There is royal suites for people that prefer more luxury”
 of 5 bubbles Wim_traveler, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You can't escape the movement of other guests”
 of 5 bubbles RichardHNottingham, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It's worth to wait and book the suites with sea view (B & D).”
 of 5 bubbles wanderwomantravels, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Royal Suites are by far the best. You have a private deck as well as a private gate entrance to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Spankfreax, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all very similar, maybe opt nit to be by toilet of shower, so middle of the carriage?”
 of 5 bubbles Dobsokar, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay