We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Santos Express

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Santos Express
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Santos Express
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
England
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Set on a beautiful beach we expected more, the rooms are as original train compartments, the beds are on the seats which are slippy plastic and hard, sheets and duvet were like new, but sliding doors are very old and very noisy, when ever the water is used along the train you hear it, the doors into each carriage are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardHNottingham
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear RichardHNottingham, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that our lodge was not to your taste and that you did not enjoy your stay as we would have liked you to. Kind Regards, Santos Express Team

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

This is certainly not your average hostel. We stayed in the royal carriages, and while things were a little cramped and the bed was maybe a little hard, the location and the atmosphere made up for any little foibles we encountered. Restaurant served decent food and alcohol at a cheap price and there is excellent access to the beach. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soh220
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear soh220, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are charmed that you were charmed!! We look forward to hosting you again soon. Kind Regards, Santos Express Team

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Very good value for money - you get what you expect - nice comfy small room with shared bathroom. Kept clean. Buffet breakfast does the job and very reasonable considering price of stay. Excellent location and helpful staff. Lovely sound of the ocean when going to sleep

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElmiraG15
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear ElmiraG15, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it! Hope to see you soon! Santos Express Team

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Would not stay here again. Probably okay if you are a young backpacker and that applies to the Royal Suites as well. Breakfast menu was very limited if you didnt want a yet another cooked meal. The only reason I gave two stars is for the position right on the beachfront. Mossel Bay doesnt have much to offer but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank recentlybeen
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Recentlybeen, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that our quaint historic town and unique accommodation was not to your taste. We find that it mostly appeals to seasoned travelers with an adventurous spirit. The Royal suites are almost one hundred years old and we are complemented by all of our guests on the...

Amstelveen
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Today I arrived in the dorm in this train-hotel. From the outside it looked pretty nice and the location is good too. The dorm was disappointing, very old and dirty. Only one bathroom and no privacy. The fact that there where no curtains made me leave right away. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I also did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Floor24
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Floor24, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Seeing as you did not stay with us, you should not have bothered. Unfortunately we were completely fully booked, otherwise we would have gladly upgraded you to a single room free of charge, as you were the only person booked into the dorm. Privacy should not be an issue,...

Belgium
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We planned our whole trip around the availability of the suite with sea view (booked over 7 months in advance!). It was fantastic. You can park your car within the fence at the train carriage. The suite (B in our case) offered a very comfortable bed, an even better chair, a fridge, water cooker and a separate en suite bath...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanderwomantravels
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Wanderwomantravels, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us so much! The Royal suites are extremely popular and yes, they do need to be booked way in advance. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Kind Regards, The Santos Express Team

Edenvale, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We booked into the Royal Suite and all I can say is Amazing.. The staff was extremely helpful. I requested some roses and a bottle of champaign to be in the room upon arrival and the staff even went as far to put Rose pebbles on the bed in the shape of an hart. The restaurant serves, in my view,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spankfreax
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Spankfreax, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We view our guests as family and we enjoy making your experience top notch. Nothing is too much trouble! Now that you are part of our family, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, The Santos Team

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

The room was clean, the view outside was staggering. The staff were eager to help and always had a smile. Would happily of stayed here longer. Bar open till the early hours so a great place if you don't want a quiet place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dux T
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Dux T, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We would have happily let you stay longer! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Train Greetings, The Santos Express Team

Gansbaai, South Africa
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We booked the royal suite. ... very interesting and different but not what we expected... the modern furniture that is in the rooms does not suite the nostalgy... sleeping in the very last cabin did not make us feel very safe, because people walks around at night outside the train. The beds are comfortable and with the sea in your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kleinh2015
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Kleinh2015, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of once again upgrading the decor in the Royal suites, which would mean that the modern furniture will be replaced with antique pieces. We do regret that the restaurant was not to your taste,...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We booked a Royal Suite for our stay. As we arrived after sunset, it was only the following morning we got to appreciate the beautiful setting! It is right on the beach, with a private gate accessible from the royal suites (I don't know if all guests get access to this gate). As part of our accommodation, we got breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guest048
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Guest048, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your experience with us is exactly what we aim for. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy the view and the dolphins! Always an added bonus! We do hope that you will stay a little longer next time and get to enjoy the whales on our...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
1.8 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
458 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
163 reviews
28.6 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
313 reviews
10.1 km away
Little Brak Beach House
Little Brak Beach House
#11 of 30 in Mossel Bay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santos Express

Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: $28 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santos Express staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the Royal Suites if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bigger units have their own bathrooms and outside stoep”
 of 5 bubbles 357mariaanb, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a train, just enjoy it and have fun”
 of 5 bubbles larsonvacation, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spend the extra on a Royal Suite. It's a special experience.”
 of 5 bubbles BryanG311, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Royal suites! Not up to standard!!!”
 of 5 bubbles stone_rehanna, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5