We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Uganda
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Fantastically close to the crater entrance which is a definite plus as we were the first car into the crater in the morning, before it became crowded. Pleasant tent, lovely bed, crazy but fun talking shower, well prepared food, G&T sundowners around the bush-fire talking about the day with the other guests gathered there before dinner - what more could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ingrid H
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid Thank you so much for posting a review. It is so wonderfully located and you really can enjoy the magic of the crater floor almost exclusively and avoid the dust that later in the day fills the air. Am glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you again. warm regards Veronica

MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Reviewed 5 March 2015

These tents were quite luxurious with wood floors, premium bedding and bathrooms. We had Maasai warriors guarding us in the evening and all night. They walked us to/from our tents after dark and brought coffee and biscuits in early morning. The beautiful tinkling music I heard in the late afternoon turned out to be cows with bells on being herded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MALEGARDNER
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience a truly authentic experience with hands on information about the life of a Tanzanian. We really do appreciate the feedback and so much fun to share with the team. Warm regards Veronica

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

This camp catered extremely well for all our needs. Great care and attention has been paid to ensure guests are safe and cared for. As the camp can be cooler due to its altitude, the gas heaters and water bottles in bed were a very thoughtful touch. Great food and was particularly surprised and extremely delighted by the catering and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boni119
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and am delighted you had such a great stay with us. It is located so perfectly allowing you to do early mornings down to the crater but return in the afternoons for some rest. I hope we can enjoy the pleasure of your company again in Tanzania in the coming future. Have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Another great Lemala camp at Ngorongoro. Excellent comfortable tent again with wooden floor, sofa, hot water bottles and this time a gas heater which was much appreciated in the chilly extremes of the day at altitude. Superb position with easy access to crater at 6am before anybody else. The staff were helpful and polite but seemed a little distant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gastrodoc2013
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and share with fellow travellers. I am delighted you enjoyed the staffs conversations around the Bush TV and that you enjoyed our rooms. If there is anything further you would like to share with me please do email me. have a wonderful day Warm regards

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Wonderful ..Lemala camps we stayed at two of them made our African Dream come true The hot water bottles tucked into our beds and the hot Chocolate delivered to our tents in the morning were much appreciated The camp fires lit at sunset with the G and T ...doesn't get any better it was Amazing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margot B
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review and I am truly delighted you had a wonderful stay with us. I must admit when i visit I always look forward to the home made hot chocolate and the hot water bottle. Not to mention a glass of vino as the sun sets around the bush tv. I hope you carry...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We spent two nights at the Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, and we were shocked at how luxurious the tents were and how stupendous the staff was. The obvious major plus to the camp is its access to the crater, but it was so much better than that. The tents were spacious, luxurious, and they had unbelievably comfortable beds. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis C
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

What a wonderful review to start the new year with. Thank you so much for sharing and I am delighted that you and your family and kids had a wonderful stay with us. I know that the team were delighted when i shared this with them and all asked to be remembered to you. Thank you once again and I...

Reviewed 6 January 2015

I was shocked at the beauty of this lodge and its superb upkeep given the rather remote location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater. It's simply beautiful and the tents are eloquent. The staff is so kind and will do anything possible to service your needs. The camp has night guards from the Massai village to watch for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eli R
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and experience with us and loved our tents and team. It is always lovely to enjoy nature hands on and to have buffalo come through camp is always so exciting. We get elephants too and sometimes have had lion pass by so always something...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 19 December 2014

This was the second place I stayed during my safari and the tent was nice enough, although one of the robes had a burn mark on it. The tents were pretty close together (I could hear the couple next to me a little too clearly) but the area itself was pretty in a misty, ethereal type of way. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ildiInPDX
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

thank you for your review of our property and for sharing. I hope the rest of your trip was memorable and that you have lots of photos to remind you of your trip to Tanzania and that we might see you again in the future. Warm regards Veronica

London
Reviewed 9 December 2014

This lodge was by far the most luxurious "bush lodge" that my friend and I stayed at during our Tanzania trip. Bucket showers (35l of water) and flushing toilets. My only complaint was that the water for the toilet was turned off, so during the night there is no running water. The beds were nice and comfortable, the setting just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USinLdn
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am delighted you and a lovely stay with us. The location of the camp is indeed wonderful and allows you to be on the crater floor as the sun rises and well before anyone else is down so makes for a wonderful morning experience as if you have exclusivity on...

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 6 December 2014

The good. The tent was large, comfortable and spacious. The evening meal was good with exceptions. Dennis, the staff person, most often seen in the afternoon and evenings was a joy. He talked and engaged us. His story's of his Masai childhood made the evenings interesting. He was the stand out. The two security masai, Joseph and his partner, I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank steve100
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for your review and for being so honest. I have looked into the issues you have raised and have dealt with it accordingly. There is no need to go into what information was passed on to us and what wasn't and so at this point can only apologise that what you requested was not offered. We...

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
3:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
0.0 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
393 reviews
0.0 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,081 reviews
0.0 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#12 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
200 reviews
0.0 km away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#20 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
182 reviews
0.0 km away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LEMALA NGORONGORO is an intimate camp set in a delightful ancient acacia forest on the rim of the crater, next to the quiet Lemala access route. The camp has 12 spacious canvas tents to ensure intimacy and minimal impact on the pristine forest environment. The tents accommodate two queen beds with winter weight duvets and hot water bottles. The tents are warmed in the evenings by a gas heater, ensuring a cosy night's sleep. The roomy en-suite bathrooms contain a dressing area, flush toilet and a large safari shower. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp

Address: Ngorongoro Crater Rim, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $587 - $1,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemala Ngorongoro Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Yes, I left one!”
 of 5 bubbles christinetT7021CF, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be prepared for wow!!! More a marquee than a tent :) ”
 of 5 bubbles clktaylor, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All tents are equivalent”
 of 5 bubbles LozzaClaygate, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All accommodations are identical. Tents closer to the main lodge are more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisD26336, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All tents similar”
 of 5 bubbles TravellerCleethorpes, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5