We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Marina Beach & Reef

Calle Alejo Martinez, Sosua 57600 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Official Hotel
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (6144)
Pool & Beach (1643)
Room & Suite (752)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#3 of 41 hotels in Sosua
Travellers' Choice

Welcome to Casa Marina Beach Resort, your Sosua “home away from home.” Casa Marina Beach Resort aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

OceanSide Christian Fellowship (4.1 km), located nearby, makes Casa Marina a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Sosua landmark.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as public wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Casa Marina Beach Resort features a concierge. In addition, as a valued Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While in Sosua, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Casa Marina Beach Resort, including Baileys Restaurant (0.3 km), Bologna Ristorante Pizzeria (0.4 km), and Margot Restaurant (0.3 km).

Casa Marina Beach Resort puts the best of Sosua at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Head massage
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Family Resort
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
5031Reviews423Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,794
  • 1,605
  • 925
  • 410
  • 296
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Xander G wrote a review Jan. 17
2 contributions
its only 200 words and i orginally wrote 4000. so i'll have to keep it brief. food was horrible front desk sucks front desk mgr was rude front desk staff is clueless roaches all over the place dont go
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Sleep Quality
Aleksandra Tyshura wrote a review Jan. 16
1 contribution
It was the best holiday ever! The hotel is incredible: beautiful and clean grounds, funny animators, delicious food and drinks, interesting evening shows, nice rooms! I will definitely return! The best animators and dancers: -Jonathan Vargas Gomez -Juan Francisco Perez -Neftali Fernandez -Jimm -Estefania -Maria Montilla An unforgettable holiday!🌊☀️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Franklin Del Rosario, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write down your impressions of your stay here in Hotel….. We are glad you had a good time during your stay. Please feel free to visit us again anytime.
Read more
Sabi wrote a review Jan. 14
1 contribution
I really like this rest. To be honest it’s my vacation, even Wi-Fi was a paid, key of safe too, but there atmosphere is so incredible that I forget about these details. Beach is so clearly and good. Also I wanna say about everything’s show with great dancers and funny animators. it was unforgettable. We met with animators who entertained us. They are really good people. we were glad to meet them 😊 In the future I want to return here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Franklin Del Rosario, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write down your impressions of your stay here in Hotel….. We are glad you had a good time during your stay. Please feel free to visit us again anytime.
Read more
Michelle W wrote a review Jan. 10
Woodstock, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
I’ll preface this review by writing that this was a last minute ‘budget’ holiday for us just to get away so we were fully prepared for what we got! We also booked on the adults only Select side so my review really only covers that area. There were 3 of us in 2 rooms - myself, my husband and our 21 year old daughter. Check in: we arrived around 10:30 at night and there was a new trainee on the reception desk to welcome us. She was unable to provide us with our wifi code, couldn’t get anyone to help us with our bags but all in all, the check in was pretty basic. We received our wifi codes the next day and they worked fine. Select guests do not have to pay for this, nor do we pay for the key to the in-room safe. Room: we booked a Select Premium GardenView Suite hoping to upgrade to a swim out on arrival. No chance of that. There are only 6 swim out rooms and they were double booked, leaving management having to downgrade several people who were quite upset ( rightfully so). We originally got a room on the 4th floor where the air conditioning did not work, which was tough after having lugged our bags all the way up ourselves. The second day we were able to upgrade to a 1st floor room that was actually in a great location. Room #116, leads right out to the hot tub and infinity pool and was close to the beach and Hermann’s. Only half of the electrical outlets worked and the TV audio sounded like it was underwater but it was clean and well located. Amenities: all pools were amazing. The beach was clean, water was warm. According to the resort map, the Select guests were supposed to have the entirety of the beach in front of our rooms to themselves. The reality of that was only half of that beach was designated for select guests. People with children were also on that beach as well as on the beach in front of the non Select rooms. Lounge chairs are limited so go early. The beige chairs are reserved for Select guests and are in much better shape. Staff will go out of their way to try to find you chairs. Service: almost nonexistent. We are typically good tippers and did tip at this resort but noticed that very few other guests seemed to. And even with our tips in most cases it didn’t seem to matter. It was accepted with a shrug and tucked into a pocket with no words of thanks. I’ve read other reviewer saying that this is a tip free resort but in my experience tips are usually appreciated. I will say that Juan and Jose at the pool par were amazing as was Santana at the beach bar and Olphany and Fabia in the buffet restaurant for breakfast. Juan will bring you sandwiches and wraps for lunch right to your pool chair or even poolside while you’re in the water. The menu is up at the bar, don’t hesitate. Restaurants: we ate mostly at Hermann’s. It is open every day except Sunday and the menu changes every other day. Excellent food and service. The Italian restaurant was ok but not great. I can’t speak to the Mexican or Seafood restaurants as we didn’t eat there, but the menus looked good. Staff: I’ve mentioned some great ones, but here are some others to know, Starling is the manager on the Select side. He starts at 9:00am every day and not a minute earlier. Money talks so if you want an upgrade be prepared to pay for it. Aside from that he was pleasant and tried his best. The man in charge of the dive centre was very loud and yelled at his staff ALL DAY LONG. Not sure why he was so upset but it was a regular occurrence and kind of disruptive to a nice afternoon nap laying in the sun. PCR test: this is done in the medical office which is located in a room just behind the theatre. Bring your passports and make an appointment as soon as you get there. If you’re on time or early for your appointment you won’t have to wait. She was extremely gentle but it certainly seemed as authentic as tests done here in Canada. Results came about 36 hours later. The email from the lab didn’t come through so the doctor sent them to me via What’s App as well as providing me with hard copies. The cost was $79 USD / $110 CAD or 4500 pesos. You can pay in cash or credit card. This seems to fluctuate. Check out: again we moved our own bags up to reception and then we had help to the main lobby. Our flight pick up wasn’t until late so we were given a courtesy suite to freshen up in before we left. This room was in the non-select side and I will say that you couldn’t pay me to spend a week in a room like that. It was very old and needed extensive upgrading. To sum up, the location and unique views of this resort made up for a lot of the stuff it lacked. Without those, I would have rated it a 3. We probably won’t be back as we prefer to pay a bit more for a complete adults only resort that offers better service. If you’re looking to make the most of your vacation, make sure you speak up. Don’t be rude, but ask for what you want. They will do their best to accommodate you but understand that some things may require you to pay an upgrade fee. They seem to be working on a very limited budget and individual staff members don’t have a lot of autonomy to be able to authorize big changes. Your attitude will set the tone for your interaction with staff…be pleasant and 99% of the time, they will bend over backwards to help you. Be rude and you’ll have to wait or will even be ignored. We watched it happen many times. Send any questions my way, I’ll be happy to answer them!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Room Tip: Upgrade to the Select side, it’s worth it for the food alone, not to mention the rooms.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Franklin Del Rosario, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Responded 1 week ago
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience of your recent stay at the Hotel ... and publicly apologize for the situation you have experienced. We have already taken the pertinent measures regarding the situation ... I am sending each of your reviews to be evaluated by the corresponding department and seek an immediate solution. We apologize in advance for the insconveneintes caused ... you can contact us directly for any questions or requirements. It only remains for me to say that please give us the opportunity to assist you again.
Read more
Sharon M wrote a review Jan. 7
6 contributions
The grounds were really quite beautiful. Two beaches to swim in. Decent food selection. Drinks were delicious. Bring a big water bottle to fill at breakfast as they put out the water fountain once. The rooms are rudimentary but clean. All staff were very appreciate of the tips I left for cleaning my room and serving of drinks. I believe it's supposed to be a tip free resort but small tips never hurt anyone! Make sure you get a room with an outlet to charge your devices on and that the safe key (which you rent for $18US/week) works in the safe. Be careful on the coralina ground as it's very slippery after it has rained. Wifi is $18/week for each device and is very unreliable, especially in the rooms. I finished up getting a sim card and service at the local Claro located in Playera Supermercado . I paid $15 for the card and three days service. I am told that you can get a sim card and service for a week for $12 locally. (I finished up returning my receipts and they reimbursed me for both devices for the week.) Make sure you get a patio facing the front of your suite. If not, you may get a room that is in the back bordering the neighbours who have a Rottweiler patrolling their property. Testing protocol is very ambiguous. The front desk will tell you that you need to make an appointment to get your test but then when you go there, it's first come first served. Go early, bring a photocopy of your passport. If you don't have one, the front desk will copy for you. Be careful with your glasses/sunglasses while swimming in the ocean. I had a huge wave overtake me and I lost my prescription glasses. I finished up paying a local $100 US to find them and they took all of 5 minutes. (I guess they know where the currents merge and where to go?) Enjoy! I will def go back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Room Tip: Ask for a room with front facing patio.
See more room tips
Response from Franklin Del Rosario, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Responded 1 week ago
We are pleased to know that our location and attention make us worthy of a next visit. We appreciate your preference for Hotel ... and the time spent commenting on your stay. Cordially,
Read more
US$109 - US$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
casa marina beach & reef resort, casa marina reef dominican republic, casa marina reef sosua
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvinceSosua
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Marina Beach & Reef?
Nearby attractions include Playa Alicia (0.1 km), Checkpoint Bar & Snack Shop (0.4 km), and Museum of Jewish Heritage (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Marina Beach & Reef?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Marina Beach & Reef?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Marina Beach & Reef?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa Marina Beach & Reef?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Marina Beach & Reef?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jolly Roger Bar & Grill, Baileys Restaurant, and Casa Valeria Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Marina Beach & Reef?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Casa Marina Beach & Reef have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Casa Marina Beach & Reef offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Casa Marina Beach & Reef have airport transportation?
Yes, Casa Marina Beach & Reef offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Casa Marina Beach & Reef?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Casa Marina Beach & Reef have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.