We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Balai

Save
Share
Pudeto 169, Ancud, Isla Chiloe Chile
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Ancud
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Balai, located next to the Ancud's Main Square, may be your best chance to discover the Chiloe's charm. It has 12 single, double and triple rooms; dressed with native woods and decorated with the work of local painters, sculptors and craftsmen. Our hospitality will make you feel among friends, at home, but with all the benefits of a two-stars-hotel. We have the Tourist Quality Seal awarded by the National Tourism Service of Chile, and we offer laundry service, telephone, Wi-Fi Internet, Cable TV, Central Heating and parking.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
28Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 8
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Morgan2010 wrote a review Mar. 2018
Lebanon, New Jersey1777 contributions598 helpful votes
Very unusual for me to give any place a below average rating. But the combination of unhelpful service, old soft creaking bed, and small room leads this place to get a bad review from me. If it was not for the low price, I would have gone with terrible rating.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Balai
Responded Apr. 19, 2018
Morgan, we're sorry for your bad experience. Not all of our staff speaks English, so maybe that's why you had the feeling that our service was unhelpful, but we always have a good disposition to resolve guest requirements. What you say about the bed, believe me we'll look it up to avoid having bad experiences in the future. Thank you for your words and we promise you a better stay if you decide to return to the hotel. Best regards!
Read more
Erikafromreno wrote a review Mar. 2018
Reno, Nevada102 contributions15 helpful votes
I was visiting Chiloe and this was my last stop. I was not sure if I would stay for the night in Ancud, but when I saw the little plaza I decided this hotel was perfect, right on the corner, close to everything. I really liked the decoration of the common area of the hotel, and the carved dining room table, plus a great handcraft collection form local artisans. My problem was the bedroom. The towels on top of the Queen bed had about three dead black beetles; the furnace was not working properly and I had to request to increase the heat level. The noise from people walking in the street was too much to sleep well, and the worst part, some young guys threw an object to the traffic light cables right out of one of my windows and the power went off. I could not read or watch TV, and the furnace was not working again. I ended up sleeping on top of the bed since the bedspread and pillows did not smell clean to me. The next morning I went to have breakfast in the dining room where they had a wooden stove that was not on yet. I asked why and one of the ladies told me because they did not have matches. So I had breakfast wearing my jacket and scarf. Other details were that the main ring bell was not working, so you had to wait for the receptionist to see you, since the door was kept locked. The hotel employees were very nice though... and I liked my breakfast too! Maybe I just had bad luck in this place?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: For NO reason pick the corner room facing the plaza, way too noisy at night!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Balai
Responded Mar. 5, 2018
Dear Erika, first of all thank you for this detailed comment! I'm so sad you had a bad experience, we'd have loved if you've said your discomforts to us so we'd have helped you, maybe move you to another room, our priority is your confort. I believe that it was a day when we had electrical problems, our city suffers a lot from it and you had to pay the price. If you want to return, we promise to improve your experience by giving you the best room and of course a generous discount. Best regards!
Read more
The_potato_but_sweet wrote a review Feb. 2015
Shanghai, China65 contributions10 helpful votes
Good service, clean rooms, and shower with hot water and steady pressure is all I can ask from a hotel. We liked the breakfast, although it was a very basic one, it was fresh and with some delicious homemade pastry. Just below the hotel there is a restaurant with the same name, with really good chilean food. Definitely will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio M, Propietario at Hotel Balai
Responded Sep. 20, 2016
We appreciate your kind words. Hope you come back soon!
Read more
B T wrote a review Jan. 2015
Sydney, Australia12 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the shower consistently hot, the wifi reliable. Our room overlooked the plaza de armas which always had things going on to see. Fantastic location. We utilised the parking but it was painful having to ask for the key to the parking lot and then go back and return it (it is two blocks away from the hotel) every time we wanted to head out. As they don't man the front counter at all times you also have to ring the bell to get into the hotel - this is an annoying feature but not uncommon in parts of Chile it seems. Apart from that everything else was great, the breakfast was ok, but for someone who is intollerant to gluten there wasn't much on offer. If we return to Ancud we would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio M, Propietario at Hotel Balai
Responded Sep. 20, 2016
Thanks for all your comments, they help us a lot to keep improving our services every day. We hope you come back!
Read more
raimundohamilton wrote a review Feb. 2011
Talca, Chile13 contributions8 helpful votes
Just across the atreet from Ancud's main square, hotel Balai just couln't be more downtown. Very well located, near mostly everything one could need, with affordable prices and clean rooms. Breakfast is a very basic one, but for the price one couldn't ask for more. Attention is good, the rooms ok (could be a little bit brighter) and the bathrooms could have more space. For the money, it works fine.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio M, Propietario at Hotel Balai
Responded Sep. 20, 2016
Thanks for your comment! We will consider it for future guests.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChileLos Lagos RegionIsla ChiloeAncud
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Balai
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Balai?
Nearby attractions include Museo Regional de Ancud (0.1 km), Fuerte San Antonio (0.4 km), and Museo de Las Iglesias de Chiloe (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Balai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Balai?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Balai?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Balai?
Conveniently located restaurants include Club Social Baquedano, Café Blanco Ancud, and Amaranthine.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Balai?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fuerte Ahui (4.8 km).