We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Guesthouse El Maranon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Guesthouse El Maranon
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 7: English reviews
Playas del Coco
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I had to spend a couple of days close to Ciudad Colon for professional reasons and wanted to profit of some shopping (more in the Santa Ana and Escazu area). It's not the first time I'm here, but a long time since last time. The place is a little oasis with it's rooms nicely arranged around and jungle style garden....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CocoDiver
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Reviewed 10 June 2016

El Marañon is a very nice and quiet boutique hotel in the Santa Ana - Ciudad Colon area. Their rooms are basic but cozy and their restaurant is really great. many Costa Rican come to dine at the Marañon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivier C
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I really enjoyed this place. It was beautiful and quaint. We stayed during the worst month of the rainy season, so it was VERY humid in our room. This was to be expected of course. The good thing was that it was nice and cool in our room, even cold at night time. The breakfast was delicious and the scenery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingStudent
Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Really nice people, the kitchen has some surprisingly adventurous dishes (avocado and habanero sauce chicken and coffee and wine steaks). Comfortable, a great base from where to do a series of ecotourist types of adventures. Twenty minutes walk to “downtown” Ciudad Colon (where the church is).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rafael G
Rockford
Reviewed 6 October 2014

This is a rustic and comfortable hotel. We were made to feel at home the moment we arrived. No pressure to leave and tour the surrounding area because the gardens and natural setting at the hotel make you feel like you are already in paradise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lmzuba
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is the second time I've been here, just because another person made the reservation. It is a very cozy and intimate place, with nice gardens in a jungle ambient, and rooms are comfortable and clean. However, guest services are below standard, staff is not very dedicated and breakfast is really poor and badly served.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marcos H
Management response:

Thanks for your comments. When you were here, we had a bad time with some employees - that has changed a lot - We hope, you come back to check it out with one night for free.

Germany
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I found it very dissapointing that my jacket was stolen out of the closet and no one really cared or at least offered me an apology or some kind of compensation!! I also complained several times about the cold water in my shower. There was no one willing or able to fix it. Finally, the cook climbed up the roof...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelingLuna
Management response:

What a pitty, that you didn´t like our place which obviously is not in the capital San José - we offer a quit and natural place outside of San José! I have to repeat, what our staff told you several times: There was no jacket in your room when you left and our solar-heat-system sometimes is not that efective as...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Colon
0.0 km away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
306 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Colon
Hotel Villa Colon
#1 of 2 in Ciudad Colon
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Guesthouse El Maranon

Address: La Trinidad, Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Ciudad Colon
Price Range: $85 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse El Maranon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse El Maranon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Guesthouse El Maranon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a larger room. Also, higher floors have more of a breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles TheTravelingStudent, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay