We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Inn

Visit hotel website
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (27)
Video
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Crown Inn is a charming 16th Century coaching inn situated in St. Georges Square near the centre of Bishops Waltham, a delightful small country town set in the heart of the beautiful Hampshire countryside in the Meon valley.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room Service
Golf Course
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Family
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
61Somewhat walkable
Grade: 61 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
461Reviews
95Photos
1Q+A
37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 247
  • 135
  • 35
  • 31
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I had a wonderful couple of nights at The Crown Inn in Bishops Waltham. The rooms are excellent, the staff and service is fantastic, and all meals in the Restaurant were amazing. The Sunday Roasts are perfect! I've been here a couple of times, and I can't fault anything!
Read more
If you're outside the Crown reading this review and wondering whether to go inside, walk another 50 yards up the lane to the Barleycorn, where you will be made most welcome and served a decent drink or something to eat! At a recent family gathering in Bishops Waltham, one family
Read more
Being a local, this is always our Friday evening 'Plan B' if the Barleycorn is full. However I feel it deserves a mention as its a lovely cosy place with nice staff. Havent yet plucked up the courage to eat here (poor experience many years go on my 6oth)
Read more
Response from Kenny D, Manager at The Crown Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear trescomania, Thank you for taking the time to leave a response. We pride ourselves in giving the best service. We really hope we could welcome you back in the future and dine from our menu. Kind regards, Laura Smith Service Coach
Read more
Been to Bishops Waltham many times but never stayed there before but how lucky we were to find the excellent Crown Inn for two nights. Unusual to be offered fresh milk for tea and coffee in the room, a very nice touch. The room was away from the Bar and restaurants below. It was
Read more
Response from Kenny D, General Manager at The Crown Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello flattley, Thank you for your kind words, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and can not wait to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Kenny
Read more
When booking this hotel, we weren't sure what to expect. Our experience here was wonderful. Clean, spacious room with beautiful decor and all that we were looking for. The pub was excellent in both service and food quality and the town is very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to
Read more
Response from Kenny D, General Manager at The Crown Inn
Responded Nov. 13, 2018
Hello Steve G, Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back again. Kind Regards Kenny
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Cosy and warm, just what you need when you are miles away from home.
enormous bathroom, big shower and his and hers basins behind the door, and armchair to the right
double bedroom, picture doesn't do it justice, it was huge and really quirky
double bedroom, picture doesn't do it justice, it was huge and really quirky
another room
PreviousNext
123456
Hello Susan, Thank you for booking with us and I can tell you our rooms are not cookie cutter rooms (we have no choice there as being a listed building, from the 5ft doors, crooked floors and history in each room) I have spoken to the taxi company and they have informed me that a taxi to the port will be £35, we can book this for you when you check in. hope this helps, if you do have anymore questions then please do get back in touch. Kind Regards Kenny Dryden
0 votes
Show all answers
"I was not resident"
"Rooms 7 or 8"
"Room 1 luxury double is a larger room with extra upstairs room"
"Pelley room is spacious looks out over the road, enormous bathroom and free standing bathtub. awesome room!"
"I didn't stay only eat in the Crown"
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBishop's Waltham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing