We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Protea HotelsUS$152*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
South Africa
Reviewed 15 May 2016

I just visited the hotel with my husband for our 24th wedding anniversary get away. It was our first visit to the hotel. It is definitely an upmarket establishment. Although we started off with a hiccup or two, deputy GM Kim was quickly on hand to solve our complaints. The Spa was pure bliss and must rate as one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoxySouthAfrica
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear RoxySouthAfrica Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to create a memorable moment for you and your husband. We look forward to your next stay with us. Kind Regards Anton Meiring General Manager African Pride Mount Grace

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Definately more a conference type venue than for a romantic weekend. Food was average, service was average and the rooms are old fashioned, but we did enjoy the splash pool which were heated and nice and private. Unfortunately our stay was short and did not have an opportunity to make a booking at the spa but looking at the great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inge d
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Inge d, Thank you for taking the time on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House and Spa. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, both as a leisure and conferencing destination. We see that you feel we have let you down on your romantic...

Reviewed 12 May 2016

You were told about the visit with the Gauteng premier.no response was forthcomming!Why not?i had the same experience some 4 years ago!!please enquire if the premier is hosted before going.have and will never go back.on top of it all the worst room was given to us!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul R, Thank you for taking the time on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House and Spa. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, both as a leisure and conferencing destination. We see that you feel we have let you down on your stay...

Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Had a work conference at Mount Grace. Always a good to visit here. Rooms smallish if you are sharing but comfortable. Buffet food was varied and tasty. Service not brilliant which surprised me. Lovely setting and worth a visit for a special occasion or for visitors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sandra H, Thank you for taking the time on TripAdvisor in regards to your work conference at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House and Spa. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the variation, along with our lovely settings. I...

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 days training in December 2015. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were superb with a great bathroom and the convenience of a pod coffee machine. The venue for the training was well set up a Nd small touches like gummy worms and nuts made it a fantastic experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RicRiche
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear RicRiche, Thank you for taking the time on TripAdvisor in regards to your 2 days spent in December 2015 training at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House and Spa. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we are extremely happy to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations....

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

We had only booked 2 nights and wanted to extend our stay. The room was neat and comfortable. We enjoyed a great braai buffet by the pool. We will definitely come back. It is a great place for escaping and relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. The spa was also great, spent a lot of time in the jacuzzi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Queen K
MountGrace, Deputy General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Queen K, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa through TripAdvisor. As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you got to enjoy not only your two nights but also the facilities and the buffet braai we had on offer. The sounds of the jacuzzi and...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Spent two nights here whilst attending a conference onsite. Good conference and dining facilities, and beautifully landscaped on the slopes of a hill. Little cottages clustered into villages, with an efficient buggy-on-call service. Rooms spacious and comfortable, with a large well equipped bath and shower. Old world charm. About a 2 hour drive from OR Tambo airport, and about over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VirajM
MountGrace, Deputy General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear VirajM, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa through TripAdvisor. As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great two night stay with us. Your wonderful comments will be shared with my TEAM. With a spirit to serve, we take great...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

The rooms are not maintained well, the furnishings are old in the Twist restaurant, and the food was mediocre - typical mass produced low quality canteen food at R260 per head. The experience does not justify the R3000 a night room rate. We will not return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mahomed C
MountGrace, Deputy General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mahomed C, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa through TripAdvisor. As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and your time taken to speak to myself and the points discussed. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time...

Rivonia, South Africa
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We had a mid week getaway due to a public holiday and went to Mount Grace. The hotel is in excellent condition and the accommodation was superb. The ale cart restaurant was closed so we had a buffet dinner that was very good. The spa treatment was fantastic and really worth the experience. Will do this again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeithBatch
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KeithBatch, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa through TripAdvisor. As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great mid-week break with us. And that you enjoyed all our other amenities we have on offer. Your wonderful comments will be shared...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I took my Husband to mount grace for a milestone birthday. We stayed for 2 nights. The Premier of Gauteng arrived on the 2nd night and it seemed like we were the only other gusts there. Never in my life were we treated so badly. I booked massages and the picnic, both of which were lovely. When we checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uri353
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear iri353, As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback posted onto TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen extremely short of our goal during your special stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the experience you had at our restaurant and by our staff and by no means...

449 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
3.4 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
2.0 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
302 reviews
2.5 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
448 reviews
30.9 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
453 reviews
11.2 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Price Range: $209 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mountain view is good, try to be as far as possible from twist resturant and garden as some time you hear the noise from them”
Q6800JHabdullaha, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a view of bush, mountain or valley. Upstairs rooms are probably a little quieter, but all the rooms are well soundproofed.”
, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford a villa then stay in the villa.”
AHMEDSULIMAN55, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Private villa is worth the premium and includes private heated pool.”
dshorneh, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“All good....”
theodoreln, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Protea Hotels
US$152* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$151
TripAdvisorUS$153
TravelocityUS$153
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates