We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amar Mahal Orchha

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amar Mahal Orchha
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 310: English reviews
Start your review of Amar Mahal Orchha
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Our family visit orchha in February month so we had stay in Amar Mahal in orchha location is good lovely food room are clean Staff very polite all place are walking distance you easily go to temple and fort

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev T
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Orcha has some historic and interesting palaces and temples, but overall it is not worth the trip. The best hotel in town, the Amar Marhal, makes the trip even less rewarding, somewhat reminding you of the hotels in Russia during the Soviet era. From the outside it looks pretty good, with fresh paint and some nice landscaping. It is all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charles r
NitendraAmarMahal, Owner at Amar Mahal Orchha, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, We heartily apologise for all the inconvenience caused to your goodself and assure you all for the best of our food,services and accommodation in the coming future. Thanks & Regards for Amar Mahal Nitendra Singh Rathore

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The setting of the place is amazing, the rooms are large and the ambience is quite nice. What was a let down was the abysmal service. Our bathroom did not have hot water at all, after several reminders, I was offered a bucket and mug, really, I would have had it better at a hotel run by the state tourism...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shalini E
NitendraAmarMahal, Owner at Amar Mahal Orchha, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We heartily apologise for all the inconvenience caused to your goodself and assure you all for the best of our food,services and accommodation in the coming future. Thanks & Regards for Amar Mahal Nitendra Singh Rathore

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location in Orchha is perfect for accessing the town and forts. The hotel layout is amazing. The rooms are really large and well thought out. The place has a fantastic old world charm that is just amazing, I loved it! But! I live in a modern world and 200mb of slow internet just does not cut it.... ever! Don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Auscoach
NitendraAmarMahal, Owner at Amar Mahal Orchha, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We heartily apologise for all the inconvenience caused to your goodself and assure you all for the best of our food,services and accommodation in the coming future. Thanks & Regards for Amar Mahal Nitendra Singh Rathore Director

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This heritage property is in our view not suitable to be a hotel in its present form. There is no sound insulation at all between the rooms and the central courtyard, making it impossible to get any sleep if there is any kind of activity in the central part. Added to that, the internet only works in the lobby near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
NitendraAmarMahal, Owner at Amar Mahal Orchha, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We heartily apologise for all the inconvenience caused to your goodself and assure you all for the best of our food,services and accommodation in the coming future. Thanks & Regards for Amar Mahal Nitendra Singh Rathore Director

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Expensive for what you get. Reasonable stay. Would expect a lot more for how much you pay. Large but plain rooms. No wifi in rooms. Breakfast was nothing exciting. Poor service. Good location is the best thing about this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilsonAus
NitendraAmarMahal, Owner at Amar Mahal Orchha, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We heartily apologise for all the inconvenience caused to your goodself and assure you all for the best of our food,services and accommodation in the coming future. Thanks & Regards for Amar Mahal Nitendra Singh Rathore Director

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is maintained impeccably by very friendly and efficient staff. The lawns are very well manicured, the rooms well appointed and the overall environment was serene. We can easily highly recommend this property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nowshir B
NitendraAmarMahal, Owner at Amar Mahal Orchha, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thanks for your valuable comments. Thanks & Regards for Amar Mahal Nitendra Singh Rathore Director

bosworth UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A cold, unwelcoming reception experience.. Booked 4 months in advance but they were unable to provide the room requested. Very large bedroom but felt cold and damp, little natural light , very sparsely furnished, no wall decoration, poor furnishings ( no drawers, wardrobe had ONE hanger ). No hot water on either night of our stay. 'Luxury bathroom' basic and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carltonmike
NitendraAmarMahal, Owner at Amar Mahal Orchha, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We heartily apologise for all the inconvenience caused to your goodself and assure you all for the best of our food,services and accommodation in the coming future. Thanks & Regards for Amar Mahal Nitendra Singh Rathore Director

KENT
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Charming hotel. Looks older than it is due to spacious lay out and room. Lovely views of palace. The restaurant let it down. Staff very pleasant but lacked training. Needed manager to oversee service. A la carte food good but buffet was poor. ( hunt the lentils! ). Lacked ambience due to too many overhead lights. Central location so good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaureenKent
NitendraAmarMahal, Owner at Amar Mahal Orchha, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We heartily apologise for all the inconvenience caused to your goodself and assure you all for the best of our food,services and accommodation in the coming future. Thanks & Regards for Amar Mahal Nitendra Singh Rathore Director

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Whilst central Orchha is a location with few redeeming features, a very dusty brickworks for example , once you have left the town the Amar Mahal is extremely impressive. Built relatively recently but in a very traditional style it made for an extremely pleasant stay after a long drive on some very indifferent, albeit typical Indian, roads. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S

472 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (469)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (166)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
1.2 km away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#5 of 8 in Orchha
113 reviews
0.0 km away
Bundelkhand Riverside
12.2 km away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#6 of 8 in Orchha
2 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Shrinath Palace
Hotel Shrinath Palace
#10 of 14 in Jhansi
37 reviews
0.7 km away
The Orchha Resort
The Orchha Resort
#1 of 8 in Orchha
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amar Mahal is situated at a stone throw away from the banks of River Betwa, about 18 kms from Jhansi railway station. Amar Mahal, Orchha is located in a calm and serene zero polluted area, completely away from the hustle –bustle of the city. The strategic location of Amar Mahal ensures a panoramic view of the monuments, surrounding hills and wildlife sanctuary. Enjoy the breathtaking view of sunset and sunrise from the lawns and the terrace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amar Mahal Orchha

Address: By Pass Road | District Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Price Range: $85 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amar Mahal Orchha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Amar Mahal Orchha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amar Mahal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amar Mahal Orchha staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Amar Mahal Orchha staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are none”
 of 5 bubbles 835charlesr, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As far as I could see all the rooms look onto the inner garden area.”
 of 5 bubbles 496valeries, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The corner rooms are cozy with a private verandah between 2 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles DRP1958, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be prepared for noise if travelling in the wedding season as Indian weddings are something to be heard to be believed.”
 of 5 bubbles larraine2016, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms near the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles sohels, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5