We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parador de Santillana del Mar

225 reviews
Save
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good49%
  • Average20%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“gil blas”(13 reviews)
“car park”(9 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Room Service
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (225)Write a Review
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
22
35
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
22
35
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgil blasexcellent breakfastcar parkper dayovernight visitgood sizewe've stayedenjoyable stayold townbrittany ferriesnarrow cobbled streetsone night stayfive starsroom was largefirst flooraltamira cavelovely hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

This is our third time staying at this 3* Parador, preferring it’s slightly less ‘historic’ atmosphere to it’s neighbouring 4* Gil BlasParador in the same village. Rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious. Excellent breakfast in the hotel - the half board option offers dinner in...More

Thank Portcred
Response from Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana del MarResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Portcred: I would like to thank you for thinking again about us during your stay in this medieval village. Thank you for your comments about the treatment received. They work hard to get the client to get the best experience possible, so be sure...More

Reviewed 21 December 2017

Great. Very friendly staff and nice ambiance exactly what we had expected from what we had read about these places. Had to book this late as Brittany Ferries had changed the sailing days and this is not far from Santander as we did not dock...More

Thank PipeTheStill
Response from Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana del MarResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Pipe theStill, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment. We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to this Parador in the way we had hoped. Please know that we have taken...More

Reviewed 26 October 2017

Lovely old stone building with large rooms and bathrooms. Exceptionally helpful staff. Nice restaurant. Main problem was noisy, squeaking wood floors above us throughout the night; therefore, we asked to be transferred to Parador Santillana Gil Blas on the plaza down the drive for night...More

Thank gogirlgo4
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Second visit to this hotel as a convenient overnight stop to Portugal. Disappointed that bar facilities are not available in this building, must use sister hotel across the road for bar and dinner, breakfast only served in the annexe building. Comfortable and good overnight sleep.More

Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Faro_PortugalNorman
Response from Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana del MarResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Faro_portugalNorman: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment. We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to this Parador in the way we had hoped. Please know that we have taken note...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Two night stay. Pleasant place, good room with garden views. On site parking. Facilities are shared with the other Parador in Santillana. Nice breakfast but didn't try the restaurant as there are too many lovely local places to eat. Lovely old town to wander round.More

Thank Simon D
Response from Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana del MarResponded 7 November 2017

Dear SimonD. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment. I feel that you have not enjoyed our restaurant because I'm sure you would have enjoyed our cuisine. I hope they do it another time as we hope...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345615
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Minibar
Details
Price range
US$87 - US$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$87 - US$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sandra W
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from anthonybP3302XZ | Reviewed this property |
Yes next to the parador. Be careful, there are two close to each other (50 metres). I think there is a charge. Also, you may be worried that you are driving on a pedestrianised way but we followed the sat have and it got... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for top floor to avoid sound of walking on old, uncarpeted wood floors."
Read review
"Best quiet room are away from elevator."
Read review
"The principal building overlooks the Plaza Mayor, but we did not find it too noisy. The other building would..."
Read review
"first floor backside view"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing