We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grisedale Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Grisedale Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Great welcome with home made cream sponge and tea. Lovely comfortable room. Delicious home made bread for breakfast, and also in our packed lunch (which was so generous it fed us for the following several days).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoftSouthernJessies
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

We hope that you enjoyed your Coast to Coast walk and your stay in Patterdale. Glad to hear that our packed lunch kept you going for a few days! Hope to see you again. Christine and John

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at Grisedale Lodge. The B&B is in a quiet location up a lane off the main road, and yet within easy evening strolling distance of both Glenridding and Patterdale (so you have the choice of either for your evening meal). The breakfast includes great local ingredients, and for a very reasonable small extra charge Christine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J J
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Hello again! We very much enjoyed having you to stay and enjoyed your company. Hope you are able to put the lessons from your navigation course to good use. Hope to see you again. Christine and John

Nevada
Reviewed 24 June 2015

The reviews are correct. The host and hostess make this a very special stay. They welcome you with tea and homemade cakes. Do your laundry ( small fee) Offer suggestions for hiking and dining and just make this a very pleasant experience. The rooms are large and décor is modest, but very comfortable. One plus is lounge for guest use....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mistravel
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for Grisedale Lodge. We enjoyed having you all to stay and hope that you enjoyed your Coast to Coast walk. Christine and John

Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Christine made us very welcome with fresh homemade cake and hots drinks on arrival. Best breakfast and pack lunch we have had all week. Genuinely nice people and we would definately return again for a longer visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicemrobbo
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

Hello again. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you and your daughter enjoyed your post exam C2C adventure. Hope you had a good day to Shap.

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We chose to return to Grisedale Lodge as our base for a 5 day walking holiday, as we had so much enjoyed last year's visit. We were not disappointed. Christine and John are wonderful hosts who provide everything needed for a comfortable stay and more besides. You really feel that they enjoy receiving guests and whether it's overnight as you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulandvalerie
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again and you certainly clocked up the miles while you were here. Hope you emjoyed Carrock Fell on the way back and that we will see you again. Christine and John

Harrogate
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay Easter weekend. Our room was spotlessly clean and we even had a lake view. Breakfast was delicious. Hosts were so helpful and even carried out bag to our room. We would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsStanners2009
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you over Easter and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Hungerford
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the self catering ground floor apartment below the B&B to see in the New Year and do some winter fell walking and we were all delighted - the Cook by the superbly equipped kitchen, the kids by the wi-fi and bedrooms, and me by the wonderfully thoughtful touches by the owners Christine and John. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hadstthoufled
ChrisKenyon12, Owner at Grisedale Lodge, responded to this review

We enjoyed meeting you all and it sounds like you had a fabulous New Year at Lower Grisedale Lodge. Hope to see you all again. Christine and John

Reviewed 24 October 2014

Wonderful location to stay but most importantly very very friendly hosts in a very clean and welcoming bed and breakfast. Probably the best breakfast I have had in a b&b. Very nice lounge area so not confined to the room. Recommend it to anyone

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Seanpaulburke
Campton Hills, Illinois
Reviewed 21 October 2014

We arrived early and the lodge was ready, with a warm cozy fire burning. The lodge was the most well equipped accommodation we've ever stayed in - towels/linens, kitchen appliances/utensils, etc. - and surprisingly spacious. It's set well back almost 100m from the road so there is no traffic noise and the beautiful view from the back looks straight up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joeten10
Washington, Missouri
Reviewed 11 September 2014

We stayed at Grisedale Lodge during our attempt of the C2C. Christine was so nice and kind, offering suggestions of what to do if we didn't want to continue the walk. The B&B was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was excellent and plentiful. I would definitely recommend Grisedale Lodge as a lovely place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamaLama2014

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
1.0 km away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,593 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
0.5 km away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Glenridding House
Glenridding House
#2 of 6 in Glenridding
50 reviews
0.9 km away
Old Water View
Old Water View
#2 of 12 in Patterdale
228 reviews
1.2 km away
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 12 in Patterdale
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grisedale Lodge is a friendly and comfortable Lake District B&B with gorgeous views of the Ullswater fells. We have three guest rooms on the first and second floor of our home and a lovely lounge which you are welcome to enjoy. We are located between the villages of Glenridding and Patterdale in a quiet location at Grisedale Bridge. There are numerous walks from the door and the lake is only a 10 minute walk away. We are directly on Wainwright's Coast to Coast walk and a 15 minute walk from the Inn on the Lake in Glenridding which is a superb wedding venue. There are some lovely pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Our B&B rooms are simply furnished and comfortable. We have three rooms : two twin or double rooms with en suite shower and one double room with separate, private bathroom. All rooms have good WiFi access and tea and coffee making facilities. There is private off road parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grisedale Lodge

Address: Grisedale Bridge | Patterdale, Glenridding CA11 0PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Price Range: $37 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Grisedale Lodge Glenridding, UK - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grisedale Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the 2 top floor rooms had views of the lake”
cheesee01, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
“corner room at back quiet/gorgeous views/extremely small en-suite/huge comfy bed”
bambi4sluice, 9 Jun 2014 | Read review
“All lovely, extremely comfy beds, just what's needed after a days walking.”
BrumSteve96, 24 Feb 2014 | Read review
“While our room didn't have an entire bathroom en suite, it had a toilet and sink in the room and our bathroom, while down two stairs, made up for the distance in size and quality. The longest, deepest soaking tub I've seen, with a large,separate shower, great lighting and warm towel racks...sigh...”
curlyred52, 2 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
Sukithecat, 11 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5