We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Highway 60 Km Lake of Two Rivers, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G9 Canada
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (371)
Room & Suite (104)
Videos (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 16 Specialty lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Lodge is located right inside Algonquin Park on a private peninsula on Lake of Two Rivers. We offer individual lakeside cabins, your own canoe, fine country dining and friendly personal service. Our central location in the Park provides a convenient way to explore and enjoy this lovely wilderness area in comfort and at your own pace. Walk or hike, canoe or bike ... There's so much to do. The spectacular Park Visitor Centre, the instructive Logging Museum and the stunning Algonquin Park Art Centre are each only minutes away. Attend one of the many interesting programs offered by Park naturalists, or let our knowledgeable staff here at the Lodge help plan an enjoyable day trip for you! Come join us ... In the heart of Algonquin Park. Eric and all of us here at Killarney Lodge. (Pets accepted in limited number of cabins only - please enquire)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
384Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 256
  • 85
  • 28
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Malcolm K wrote a review Oct. 2022
22 contributions4 helpful votes
Bad weather limited our movements in Algonquin Park but we enjoyed our stay in Killarney Lodge - especially the food which was good country dining, with friendly service. Mixture of guests with quite a few returners who clearly knew what to expect but like others before us the high cost, associated with the exclusivity of lodging within the park, led to expectation of more luxury within the cabins - daily servicing and maybe individual wifi, coffee machines and upscale furniture - and floor rugs for the colder weather!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for the observations of your first visit with us, hopefully the weather will be more cooperative in future. We understand the thoughts of more luxurious niceties, perhaps associated with hotels. We are privileged custodians of this small part of the wilderness in Algonquin Park and this experience, along with comfort and country dining is the real benefit on offer - a connection with nature. We acknowledge visitors have personal preferences, the Lodge has evolved over the years maintaining this connection which a "luxury resort" might insulate from enjoying. Daily cabin service was curtailed during Covid, it is always available on request. The cabins are heated for the cooler Spring and Fall nights.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele D wrote a review Aug. 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favourite Review
We have been going here since 1998, and I can honestly say that they never disappoint. In the last few years we have gone with our one daughter and her family. This year we stayed in the Beach House cabin, and it was like all of their other cabins, wonderful. The food here is always delicious and plentiful, served with a smile by their wonderful staff. We are already counting the days until we go back next year!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Aug. 18, 2022
Thank you. It's so nice to hear that your long running tradition goes alongside our tradition of providing comfort and dining inside Algonquin Park. We look forward to continuing our shared traditions when the time comes for your next visit. Thank you for your kind words.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann M wrote a review Oct. 2022
Edson, Canada6 contributions5 helpful votes
We recently stayed at Killarney Lodge in Algonquin Park and enjoyed our stay. Our cabin #14 was very private and had a lovely beach to launch the canoes. The staff were friendly and service was excellent. The biggest disappointment was the food. It was good home cooking but not fine dining. It tended to be bland and was not good value for the price. I think that is reasonable to expect something more than a Nature Valley granola bar in a packed lunch when you are paying high prices. The desserts were fabulous so why could they not be included in the packed lunches. I have noticed that if there is a hint of criticism in a review the owner is very defensive and dismissive.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Oct. 15, 2022
We're so pleased you appreciated our friendly staff, delicious desserts, and lovely beach. Cabin #14 is one of our most popular two-bedroom cabins! We describe ourselves as 'fine country dining', which to us is comfort cooking, but elevated. We apologize that you were disappointed with our food. Our picnics often get rave reviews, with options like lobster salad on a croissant or smoked salmon on a cream cheese bagel, and all picnics include fresh fruit, homemade cookies...as well as a granola bar. We always have plenty of desserts available, and are happy to provide them in our picnics on request! As always, constructive criticism is appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lukehere wrote a review Oct. 2022
Toronto63 contributions50 helpful votes
Comfortable cabins with access to Lake of Two Rivers (canoes provided), and a little beach with kayaks and SUPs. The lodge provides tea and coffee 24/7 in a comfortable lounge, and three substantial meals a day (a bit TOO substantial if anything, we were podged by the end of our 3 day stay). At least one vegetarian option was available at every meal (vegan could probably be accommodated if asked). Friendly staff throughout. WiFi only available in a separate cabin near the lounge, but that's OK. Not cheap, mind you, and some would probably considered it a bit rustic for the price. But that's kind of the point - it's the Algonquin!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try for a cabin further away from the road.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Oct. 15, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words about Killarney Lodge. Guests love the comfort of our cabins and lounge, and three hearty meals served in our log dining room (You've echoed the comment we hear most....we really do serve a lot of food! Half-sized portions are always available on request). We're so glad that you 'get the point' - rustic charm in the heart of Algonquin Park!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim G wrote a review Oct. 2022
Burlington, Canada15 contributions6 helpful votes
My wife and I decided to splurge and stay at Killarney Lodge for three days in late September this year. We knew it was a lot of money but we've not travelled at all during COVID. In reading some of the negative reviews, I wonder if we were staying at the same lodge. We found all the staff we dealt with to be friendly, welcoming and very helpful. We liked the many dining options that were on offer: in the dining room, delivered to your cabin, picnic lunches. The food at all three meals was delicious and plentiful, with one exception. I found the rack of lamb very tough. Our cabin 7 had an excellent view of the lake. Two suggestions we would make: provide hair dryers in each cabin. Replace the bathtubs with shower stalls. Many of your guests are seniors who find it difficult getting in and out of the high walled bathtubs safely. In conclusion, it was a pricey stay but we knew that before we signed up. We'd love to return if we can find a hidden source of money. If money isn't a problem, Killarney Lodge is an excellent option for a real Algonquin Experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Oct. 15, 2022
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on our 'plentiful' dining options, and our 'friendly, welcoming staff' really do make Killarney so inviting. The views at Cabin 7 help as well! With regards to you suggestions, we have hair dryers available at the front desk for guests to borrow and keep in their cabin during their stay. We also have several cabins that are more 'accessible', including one cabin that even has a 'roll-in' shower. Any guests who mention accessibility concerns on booking are directed towards these cabins. We'd love to have you return, and hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike Yvonne C wrote a review Oct. 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
This was our first visit to Killarney lodge and it didn't disappoint! We went for an October weekend, and the nice weather certainly helped, but it was a great getaway for us. The cabin was perfect for us and the other couple we went with. The only thing we kind of missed was a coffee maker in the cabin, but it was certainly a motivation to get dressed and go to get coffee in the lounge cabin! The staff was top notch, looking after anything we needed, and the picnic lunch for our canoe trip was amazing, way more than we expected! The food we had was outstanding, and we definitely didn't go away hungry! There was a limited selection for each meal, but certainly a good variety to choose from. We did think the price was on the high side, but we feel the service and food at the lodge was well worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Oct. 8, 2022
Thank you for your review! It is a delight for us to hear that our efforts are appreciated. Certainly nice weather can add to a visit with us though weather cannot effect good food, great service, comfort and the enjoyment of a getaway in the beautiful Algonquin Park. On your next visit, why not consider having breakfast delivered to your cabin - it'll save that walk to the Lounge for coffee! Thank you for your kind words.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tripping10Toronto wrote a review Sep. 2022
Toronto, Canada40 contributions19 helpful votes
We have been to the Kaillarney Lodge a number of times and loved everything about it - he pristine location, friendly staff, comfortable cabins and cleanliness. It's difficult to critique such a lovely place but there was a noticeable difference this year. We had a 2 year absence and were surprised by the change in the quality of food. We understand that the long term chef had retired. The change was apparent. The food tended to be bland - seared fish - dry, beef needed tenderizing, vegetarian cabbage roll (rice with red kidney bean, black bean and chick pea) with flavourless tomato sauce, leathery pie crust. We saw evidence of a lovely herb garden on the premises which didn't seem to make it into the food prep! Hopefully things will improve next year because we'd love to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Sep. 13, 2022
'Pristine location'! 'Friendly staff'! We couldn't agree more! We're glad that you've enjoyed this lovely experience year after year. We're at a loss as to why you disliked the food so much...our chefs and prep cooks put in the same care and effort as they always have, and our wonderful bakers Sharon and Rose have been making our pie crust the same way for the past 20 years! We always appreciate constructive criticism. We hope to see you next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles G wrote a review Aug. 2022
Toronto346 contributions24 helpful votes
The place: The property is very nicely kept. Clean with lovely gardens. The cabins are well maintained, comfortable and clean. Just be careful about location. Some are very close to highway 60 which is very noisy so you want to be as far from the road as possible. It says “personal lakeside cabin” of the website which I guess is true but I was unpleasantly surprised to find we had a “duplex” (a lot seem to be like this) which meant we shared a common wall and patio with neighbours. You can’t but help hear people move around in a wooden cabin with a slamming screen door so that was unfortunate and we were so close on the patio we just didn’t sit out there which was a shame as the view is lovely. A simple privacy panel on the patio would go a long way to improving that aspect at least. So ask for a separate cabin or be prepared to be up close and personal with others. Also advertised is a canoe per cabin which is true but some have a lovely dock to launch from and others have very steep and rocky access to the water so if that is of interest be aware. Food: All meals were very good. I wouldn’t rave quite as much as some reviewers but the dining area is great and the meals were good. Staff: Very nice crew of I presume seasonal student workers. All very polite and pleasant. Access to trails: Unfortunately I though that we could go on bike trials and hikes right from the property but no, you have to drive to them, although some are close by. Value: I’m not convinced that $440 per person per night is good value. There needs to be some element of luxury to justify that price and I didn’t see it. Even if you add up the room/meals/park pass it doesn’t get to $440 per person. Overall a good stay with the unfortunate niggle that it wasn’t worth the price which will deter me from coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Sep. 13, 2022
We're glad you had a nice stay, and appreciated our clean cabins and friendly staff. While no hiking or bike trails leave directly from our property, we are in fact the closest and most accessible of all the lodges in the park! We're sorry that you found our rate to not be of value. We can see by that amount that you in fact booked a Duplex cabin with a shared deck space...our most affordable cabin! Our Prime, MainLake, and Shoreline cabins are all entirely private, with no shared space...perhaps next time you may consider booking one of those!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Weism wrote a review Aug. 2022
New Jersey256 contributions144 helpful votes
We had a lovely two-night stay. Our cabin was spotless, beautifully appointed with an outstanding view. We were delighted from the first moment. The peninsula that the Lodge is located on is just magical, with everything one needs for a luxurious rustic experience. Wonderful gardens, enchanting buildings, easy access, and views of the outstanding like and our own canoe. It is not inexpensive, but it truly maintains the tradition of this type of experience dating back to the early 20th century. Unfortunately, the food provide represented solid home cooking but was not quite what one would expect for the price, understanding that there must be a stiff convenience charge necessary to bring the food and make the arrangements in the heart of a provincial park. I am so very glad that we had the opportunity to experience the lodge and its traditions from a different time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Sep. 13, 2022
Thank you for your kind words about your 'luxurious rustic experience' at Killarney Lodge! Many of our guests return year after year, and they (like you) appreciate an experience of Algonquin Park that is true to years gone by. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DLGreenland wrote a review Aug. 2022
Greenland, New Hampshire9 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a great guest house in the amazing town of Killarney. Really clean, friendly, and great location. Breakfast was really great, and the staff were all polite, friendly, and interested in the guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killarney Lodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded Aug. 18, 2022
Mmm, we're wondering if you're really referring to another Lodge Killarney Lodge is ion the middle of Algonquin Park, the closest large town is Huntsville.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
killarney hotel algonquin park
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioAlgonquin Provincial Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Killarney Lodge - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Killarney Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Killarney Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lookout Trail (5.6 km), Centennial Ridges Trail (6.8 km), and Two Rivers Trail (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Killarney Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Killarney Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Killarney Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Killarney Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Killarney Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Killarney Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.