Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya

Carretera Federal 307, Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Traveller (25257)
Panorama at the Valentin Imperial Maya
360
Panoramas (24)
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
C$976
Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
C$941
Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
Breakfast included
C$870
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 all-inclusive in Playa del Secreto
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya.

Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya.

Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it!

Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Archery
Car hire
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Diving
Game room
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Carretera Federal 307, Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles18,697 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in a picturesque location, Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya garners praise for its immaculate rooms and well-kept grounds. Guests laud the exceptional service that enhances their stay, with the staff's warmth and professionalism standing out. The vibrant resort atmosphere, bolstered by the Imperial Band and lively entertainment, keeps the mood festive, although a few guests suggest a more modern music selection. While opinions on value vary, the amenities, including sprawling pools and diverse dining options, are consistently celebrated. However, some guests note room maintenance and humidity as minor drawbacks.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Lavish
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
18,697Reviews4,129Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14,288
  • 2,982
  • 879
  • 306
  • 242
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ain1974 wrote a review Jun 2023
Cincinnati, Ohio8 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took our first trip to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya from Sunday, June 5-Friday, June 9, 2023 after six trips to Excellence properties. We love Excellence and has always been phenomenal but on this trip, we took our 18 year-old son and his girlfriend to celebrate their high school graduation so we chose Valentin for its more lively vibe that is still not a huge “party resort”. We arrived in Cancun at about 11:45 a.m. Getting off the plane and through customs and immigration took about 15 minutes. We used the e-gates since we are all over 18 and hold US passports and it was super quick and efficient. They were not in existence the last time we went to Cancun but the lines with the agents did not seem too much longer on that particular day. By the time we got through that area, our luggage was already out and off the bag carrousel. We exited the airport to find our transportation with Kalido. If you have never been to Cancun, do not talk to anyone until you are among the transfer companies. People will try to sell you timeshares and get you in their taxis but if you ignore them, you’re fine.

We found our driver, Rafael, with Kalido and off we went. If you need a transfer service, I very much recommend Kalido. They are organized, extremely professional, and very nice. The drive to Valentin took about 25 minutes and when we pulled up, it was clear Valentin was a nice resort. Even its entrance is stunning. Since we were pretty early, we checked in with Phoebe and she told us that we were able to get the room types we had requested (two beds in each, and next-door rooms) but our rooms were not ready so we had a drink at the martini bar and then we went to lunch at their buffet. The lunch buffet truly has something for everyone and if you like dessert, they probably have about 20 different things on it just for you.

When our rooms were ready, we were taken by golf cart to them by Kevin, who gave us a lowdown of the resort. We had rooms 5111 and 5112, on the ground floor. The rooms were very nice and we were happy with the closed concept of the restrooms since I was stying with my son’s girlfriend and my son was staying with his dad. Our rooms overlooked the grounds and we could not really sit on the patios because of the mosquitoes. We had been to Cancun 5 times previously and have never used the insect repellent we brought but we were glad to have it this time. Three of the four of us were bitten all over but my husband did not have a single bite. The resort had a lot of vegetation and wildlife (coatis and iguanas are everywhere) and it is truly beautiful.

After we checked in, we were off to the foam party that they have every Sunday at 3. It was a lot of fun and I am glad we arrived in time for it. The Go Team is truly great; they work really hard to get the guests involved and excited. They had a mechanical bull on Monday, chair basketball, pool volleyball, music trivia, a “magic carpet” race, aqua cycling, and many other activities.

We spent our days at the main pool where we were very well taken care of by Miguel. He is a terrific employee for Valentin but he is also just a wonderful person. The drinks around the pool are outstanding and they did not seem watered down at all. If you want premium liquor, just ask. The pool has food available as well so you can order lunch or snacks. Everything we had off the menu was good. Just be careful when you are eating, as the coatis and iguanas are definitely drawn to the food. We did not feed them so they didn’t bother us too much. If you like to have shade, plan to arrive at the pool early. That was not a problem for me at all this trip since I naturally get up early. I did not want to wake my son’s girlfriend and since I could not sit on the patio due to the mosquitos, I would order room service coffee and head to the pool area to read and then I would head to the beach for a little while to watch the sunrise. I was able to get under the palapas at the pool every day but they were all occupied by probably 7:30 or so. If you are OK with chairs in the sun, you could wait longer but those were mostly claimed by about 9. I can’t comment about the beach during the day because we only did pool. The main pool is lively but if you want more tranquility, there is the golden pool as well as a silver pool. The silver pool in particular looked to have spots available any time, if you don’t want to play the towel game in the morning.

The food at Valentin was really good and we had no complaints with any of it. We did the buffet most mornings but did try the huevos rancheros and divorced eggs at Mar y Tierra. Both were delicious but the buffet was best for us since we have different types of eaters and everyone could find something they liked. For lunch, we again went to the buffet most of the time and were happy with that. The buffet also has snacks later in the day and we went one day for some nachos and they were terrific. The servers at the buffet are extremely kind and hardworking. Jorge remembered our names from the first day and we would request him but we also really liked Yair and Isaac. For dinner, we had l’Alsace twice (the filet, onion soup, and crème brûlée were our favorites). Luis was our server and he is awesome. We went to la Hacienda once. The chips and guacamole/pico there are good and I loved the mushroom crêpes as well as the enmoladas. My husband had the ribeye and he liked it. We had Martin as a server and he was excellent. L’Olivo and being served by José was terrific. The mushroom risotto was my favorite and my son and his girlfriend really liked the fettuccini Alfredo. Mar y Tierra was probably our least favorite but it was still good. I really liked the vegetable cream soup there.

Each night, we visited Don Miguel where the drinks are not only delicious, many are a show in their presentation. I really liked the Imperial martini and the blackberry martini. The flaming coffee was really neat to watch them to prepare but it took several minutes and I could not help but wonder how much the employees hate making that. They have live music and on our last night, they had a trio of men singing who were incredible to watch. The shows at Valentin that we watched were entertaining. We watched the Micheal Jackson show but did not love it. The performers were good but a lot of the music was remixed and it just didn’t draw us in too much. The burlesque show and fire show were more fun to watch but the best one we saw was the magic show by far. After the show, we would hit the churro cart for me and the rest of the group would get ice cream at Café Sisal. The man working the churro cart is really nice and the churros are yummy.

The housekeeping was good during the day but the turndown service for us was sporadic. Normally, that would not be a problem, but at Valentin, they do not have towel huts around the pool so you only get the ones in your room and they exchange them during turndown but a couple of nights, no one came. Not a huge deal; I just asked housekeeping or the concierge the next day for fresh ones but it would have been easier if they has the huts so we would grab them as we needed them. It was also hard to have dry towels throughout the day with how they do it.

At Valentin, you can upgrade to their privé package for about $75 a person per day for perks like liquor in room, a reserved Bali bed, dinner reservations, and lobster. We did not do it and I can’t see ever doing it. If you want a drink in your room, you can ask a bartender to make your drink in your cup (we always travel with insulated tumblers). They do have beer in your mini fridge as well. For dinner, we did have to wait a couple times so we went to Don Miguel while we waited so we were OK not having reservations and like I said, I get up early so I was always able to get the spot I wanted around the pool.

On departure day, they arrived with a golf cart promptly at the time we requested and took us to reception. Kalido was on time to take us back and this time, Rene was our driver. He was extremely funny and a great guy to chat with,

Our trip to VIM was absolute perfection and I cannot wait to come back. If you are thinking of going, do yourself a favor and book. You will not regret it!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isabel Casanova, Other at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Jun 12, 2023
Dear New Valenthusiast, We truly thank you for the kind comments you have shared about your first experience at your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya hoping it will not be your only one. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share with great detail your stay for others to read and have the need to come visit us as well We will be happy to welcome you in your next visit hoping it takes place soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tasteful I wrote a review Jan 2020
Calgary, Canada13 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here from January 2 -10, from the moment we got out of the Airport terminal and into our private transportation (did't have to stop at multiple other hotels before getting to ours) to the resort we new we were in paradise. It was a quick 30 minute drive to the resort, and as we exited the car we are greeted with warm face cloths and a welcome drink. We opted for the Privilege Package (which I will go into more detail later) and were taken to a private area to check in which was so quick and was offered another beverage and some small appetizer's. We were then escorted onto a golf cart and taken to our building which was #2 as the grounds are massive in size there is constantly gols carts driving around asking if you need a ride anywhere. All of the restaurants are A'la carte for evening dining with multiple courses to choose from, you can have as little as 1 course or as many as you want to eat we actually saw some guests have 2 entrees each. We were able to try some restaurants multiple times as our ten days there allowed us the oppertunity to do so, I can't even say which one was my favourite as they were all fabulous. Now with paying extra for the Prvilage package I have seen some reviews saying that it wasn't worth the extra money, I have to disagree I think it is worth the money as we were able to pre-book reservations in any restaurant that we wanted and for whatever time we wanted without having to wait as other guests were given buzzers that would notify them when they could be seated. Another benifit was being able to reserve Bali Beds either on the beach or pool side, because as we noticed if you are not an early riser to get down by the pool to put down a towel and reserve a lounger you will be hard pressed to get one. I am horible with remembering names but every one of the concierge staff in the buildings, beach side and by the pool would greet us by name every morning, we didnt have to worry about bringing towels down to the pool as they were alredy layed out for us every day and it was no problem if we wanted extra towels. Beverage service around the pool was steady as they had multiple servers walking around and also a small snack cart would come around in the afternoon. As for food during the day breakfast was available in two locations, one near the main building where all of the main restaurants are or down on the way to the beach both are buffet style with chefs cooking eggs any way or omletts the way you want. Buffet lunch is available at the beach side restaurant as well as a small BBQ at the pool side bar as well as a couple small food carts at the begining of the pool. This was the first time we stayed at an adult only resort and I must say you can definitely tell the difference with not having small children around. Also took in a message while we were there and a must do for anyone looking for a relaxing experiance. Overall this resort is an absolute exceptional experiance and would definitely return to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN C, General Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear guest, We appreciate all kinds of feedback, and when we receive compliments given our hard work and efforts we feel rewarded and encouraged to keep it up. It is so refreshing to know you had overall a great experience and look forward to your next visit! Best Regards, Vicente Iglesias General Manager and all the Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Joey and Linda Johnston wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from out 5th visit to our home away from home !!! The Valentin is by far our favorite resort , we have tried others but always return to the VIM. Was a little hesitant about traveling due to Covid but sooooo glad we did not cancel our trip. Was everything exactly the same as before no BUT nothing is the same anywhere right now. The staff did an amaizng job keeping everything clean and safe. All staff wore masks and shields. This resorts is always very clean but they are now going above and beyond to keep things sanitized and safe as possible for the guests. The pool swim up bars were closed but the pool side service was great they kept the drinks flowing all day. Occupancy is low so the pools were not crowded at all. Also due to low occupancy we were able to upgrade to a swim out room for what we thought was a very reasonable fee. This was our first time with a swim out room and would highly recommend it. Not as much night time entertainment as usual but was not a problem we actual relaxed much more than we usually do. Dont think we will ever get tired of this resort already looking forward to our next trip back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we have stayed in silver, golden and swim out rooms and all are great
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN CS, Director General at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Jul 13, 2020
Dear repeat guest, It is very pleasant to read your 5th stay at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya was such a success; we are grateful that you have chosen us and it is very comforting to know you enjoyed each minute of your time among us. We will be more than happy to see you on your next visit and we will welcome you with wide-open arms! Kindest regards, Vicente Iglesias General Manager and all the Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya Staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristy wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the VIM last April for 10 days. It was hands down the most amazing vacation. I was very stressed and anxious about our trip, as I have very many allergies. My food allergies are too numerous to list and I have allergies to fragrance and chemicals that make even staying at a hotel in my own country (Canada) just a nightmare. We don't go to restaurants because it's so hard to find something safe to eat. I can't begin to say just how thankful I was for everyone at VIM that made our experience not just stress free but outstanding. I emailed the resort a few weeks before our departure and the rep (Edwin) was awesome. He answered all of my questions and put my mind at ease. He made sure our room had no fragrances, that our bedding and pool towels were only washed in water, our room cleaned with nothing that I would react to. Every restaurant was made aware of all of my allergies. The chef's came to our table to reassure me that they could accommodate me. Chef Delfino was spectacular! I couldn't partake of any of the lovely cocktails so they created me my own drink "Kristy Martini" (thanks Ramon) and made sure that every bar was stocked with the ingredients. I literally could go on and on and on. I really cant ever see us going anywhere else because I know we will not get that service elsewhere. Hats off to all the staff that went over and above for us! Special thanks to Ramon,Armando, Edgar, Delfino, Carlos, Sonia, Ivan, Thalua. Cant wait to see you again amigos ❤
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN C, General Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Dear guest, On behalf of the entire team that makes up Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, thank you! We really appreciate the kind words you have shared with us and the world by recommending the services and experience you had while you were here with us during your holidays. We focus on the best customer service and making all our guests feel like family and at home. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon! Vicente Iglesias General Manager and all the Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nef wrote a review Jul 2020
Leon, Mexico2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I traveled to Valentin Imperial for 7 nights with my family. Every member of my family enjoyed our stay very much!!

All the staff members were amazing!! They treated us like we were family, they antincipeded our needs and they were always making sure that we did not need anything else! From the moment we checked in Maria welcomed us with a very big smile that you could be see even if she was wearing a face mask and was very friendly. Everytime we came by the lobby and she was there she seemed very happy to see us and was always making sure that we had all that we needed.

Jesus and Lorenzo from the Go-Team staff were amazing!!! I loved the way they treated my parents and little brother, my parents grew very fond of them. The bartender at the pool bar Michelle and Sonia were also great, they prepared amazing drinks and always cater to our needs. Imelda our pool waitress was also on point!! After the first day she knew exactly what we like and how we like it, always making sure we were hydrated and giving us great suggestions.

Omar the waiter that works in Le Marche and Mar y Tierra was also amazing, even if we were not his table he always came by and made sure we were being taking care of, he was really nice. The Chef Angel was also very nice, he taught us how to eat cochinita pibil and prepared a special sauce that goes with it!! Very very friendly staff.

With the COVID situation I was a little bit worried and I was not sure what to expect, however, I was very pleased with all the precautions that they had. They give you hand sanitizer and take your temperature upon arrival, all the staff had a face mask and a face shields, the room is sanitized before you go in, there is a bottle of hand sanitizer in the room and when you check out they give you a safety kit that comes with two face masks, two sanitizing towels and antibacterial gel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN CS, General Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Jul 29, 2020
Dear guest, On behalf of the entire team that makes up Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, thank you! We really appreciate the kind words you have shared with us and the world by recommending the services and experience you had while you were here with us during your holidays, your health being is paramount for us and we are happy to know find on point our protocols. We focus on the best customer service and making all our guests feel like family and at home. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon! Vicente Iglesias General Manager and all the Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RWWhite wrote a review Feb 2020
Orlando, Florida54 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This stay was our first all-inclusive, normally we do cruises. We had a wonderful time and would consider going back.
We found the grounds to be beautiful. Wonderful flora and fauna with abundant wildlife in terms of cuito, iguanas and birds. And the staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful.
Food was very good but not excellent. Which is what people told us to expect. That's not a complaint, we're talking 4 out of 5 stars, so it's not like we were dissatisfied by any means. We liked the variety of restaurants. We didn't like that the priviledge package allows you to make reservations, which can make getting seated difficult. But shame on us for not understanding that ahead of time and paying for the priviledge package.
Servers were very friendly and happy. Only very minor complaint would be the lack of attentiveness with coffee at the buffets. Really just room for improvement. They are extremely busy making sure everyone's napkins are folded just right whenever someone gets up to go to the buffet, but don't come around to fill coffee or water at a proper frequency.
We spend most of the day at the pool. As I would expect anywhere, although there is no reserving of pool spots, people go out in the morning and dump their personal belongings on chairs to reserve them for the day. One morning the staff collected items people had left before 7:30am, which was good. Overall, finding a decent spot can be an issue - or even a free chair if you come late morning or into the afternoon. A bit annoying. All the more reason to get a room around the lazy river style pool where you have your own set up or once again buy the priviledge package so you can reserve a cabana.
The staff does an excellent job cleaning the rooms, turndown service and keeping the minbar stocked. The rooms are beautiful. We saw a few as we went with others, so we got to sample the different rooms.
A good variety of activities and nightly entertainment. Some evenings they have vendors in to sell goods, which makes for a fun experience (and you don't even have to leave the resort).
We very much enjoyed our time. If we go back, we would definitely do the priviledge package to take away from some of the smaller concerns we had. We'd also consider other locations, just because we don't have anything to compare this to except cruise ships. But we also could very likely return here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor - noise from above. Emerald suite 1st floor has nice hammock, but no ocean view...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN C, General Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear guest Kindly accept our gratitude for the charming review that you have shared on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya. Your kind words left nothing to the imagination. For sure, prospective guests who read your comments will be enticed to experience the same level of service and entertainment which you enjoyed during your holiday. May the wonderful memories of your stay entice you to return for another splendid holiday. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T & K wrote a review Jan 2021
McKinney, Texas3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent the first week of January at the hotel with friends of ours and we all booked the swim up Jr. Suites. The rooms are very nice, clean and the swim up view and access was spectacular. The staff at the swim up suites were very attentive throughout the day and the rooms were always clean with fresh linens, towels, etc. Big shout out to Omar and Rosa who worked building 6. They were both excellent at what they do and should be commended for their excellent service. There is no premium liquor in your room and there was no NA beer choices. I found this disappointing.

The restaurant choices are plentiful but I wouldn't say the food met my expectations. It wasn't horrible but equivalent choices state side are far more flavorful. The steak choices were horrible to say the least. They claim to be Angus beef but every restaurant has big issues with preparation. Breakfast and lunch options are better than the dinner selections by far. The beach restaurant (Tierra-Mar) was by far the best one for lunches and breakfast. The sushi restaurant (ginger) has really good sushi but the main dishes were sub par. The Italian restaurant was pretty good and the sea bass is superb but other than that, I just found the food to be average. The cafeteria also had good breakfast and COVID rules are in place but given they provide individual serving as opposed to full on buffet, the foos was dry.

Entertainment was ok and the main pool was ok as well but it was just lacking some pizzazz.

All the staff was friendly UNTIL the end of the trip when a jerk at the main entrance was rude as hell to us. It was the first time anyone spoke to us like that and he came across like we were unimportant. For his behavior alone, we will not return to the hotel. Another staff member (Ricardo) stepped in to help us with transportation but Alfredo was incredibly rude to us. We missed our shuttle to the airport (our fault) but when trying to find an alternative Alfredo was very short with us and walked away. His facial expression, tone and gestures were so demeaning and rude that our entire party were angry with him. He ruined our departure and in all my years of traveling for business and pleasure, I've never met anyone this rude.

Overall the resort is good and given Covid they are doing the best they can but I wouldn't call it spectacular. If you do choose to go it wont' be a horrible experience for you it will be relaxing and you wont go hungry. If you are looking for 5 star food and premium liquors at your disposal this may not be the place for you. I'd give the food a 3.5 star rating with some as high as 4.0. I wont go as far as saying don't go because I did enjoy my time there but it did have a couple downfalls and the end of the trip with the complete lack of customer service by the main entrance left a sour taste in my mouth. 10 of us went together and it highly unlikely we will return as a group.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Swim up suites are awesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN CS, General Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Jan 12, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for your honest and objective review!We do not give for granted the comfort of our guests and it is, for this reason, we evaluate conscientiously each one of the comments and feedback our guest shares in order to improve as much as possible every day! Please be sure we will check with our bellboy staff the incident that you have related in order to improve our services and take the actions we need to take. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we will do our best to keep improving and look forward to seeing you in the future to pamper you and change your perception into a better one. Best regards, General Manager and all the Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
G7117GBjoanneb wrote a review Jan 2020
Spruce Grove22 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel, awesome food, attentive staff. Clean resort. Many options to choose from for rooms. Themed restaurants to enhance your dining experience.
There are upgrades available but we found that for us it was not worth the additional cost, we had a great jr suite and could always find loungers by pool with enough shade that we did not need the personal bed at either pool or beach.

Nightly entertainment at either the open plaza or theatre. The Imperial band was a regular entertainment and did a good job playing cover music to keep the crowd happy

The staff were great. Sorry did not get many names but if you treated them right (politely and small tips) service was good

Rudy who was part of the Go staff was a fun guy who enjoyed his job
Sonia who booked our spa pkg was a sweetie

Overall we had a great vacation and would go back

My only con. Was that a few times it did not seem that our bed linen was changed daily despite our request. We did get fresh towels daily
It seemed that for a couple of days they were short staffed in housekeeping

A big Thankyou to the staff for our anniversary cake bottle of wine and towel swans with real rose petals. What a sweet surprise to find in our room on our first night during turn down service
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We enjoyed building #2. It was between the main hotel and the pool. Very convenient location....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN C, General Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review about your stay with us at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya! It was quite an honor to be part of your holidays, and we appreciate that you highlighted the aspects and service that made your vacation something pleasant. We look forward to your next visit; we will be happy to see you and will wait for your soon return with wide-open arms in order to keep creating treasurable memories full of smiles, colors, and magic. Kind regards, Vicente Iglesias General Manager and all the Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were impressed the minute we pulled up to the lobby of the Valentin. We were greeted with a warm “welcome home” and a cool towel from the friendly bellhop who escorted us in to the front desk to check in. The check in was quick and painless. We were offered a first or second floor room with a view of the beach. First floor had a hammock . We chose the second floor for a better view of the ocean, we were not disappointed. Our room had a large balcony chairs to sit and watch the ocean. The crown jewel of the room is the waterfall shower that also had a hot tub next to it. It was the first resort I’ve been to that had a bidet, hooray for new adventures!🤣
The food was probably some of the best I’ve had in Mexico. The buffets we’re spectacular, all the fruit was covered and fresh. Made to order breakfast and lunch very flavorful and the wait staff was super helpful and friendly. Sit down restaurants for dinner we’re all very high-end we ate at the French restaurant, Indonesian, and Italian. The only reservation needed for dinner was at the hibachi restaurant and it was amazing. Better than any hibachi restaurant I’ve been to here on Denver. The drinks were wonderful with many high end alcohol available.
The grounds were immaculate and well maintained. Lots of jungle and flowers, Iguanas, Quaties (sp) and birds. The beach was beautiful a little steep at the waters edge and there is coral in spots so you had to swim/walk in certain places. No seaweed this year!
Overall this place gets a 10/10 from us!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN C, General Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Feb 15, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing such kind words of the great service and holidays you experienced while you were here with us; it was truly a pleasure to have you around. You have a place right here waiting for you every time you wish it. Looking forward to welcoming you back with wide-open arms. Vicente Iglesias General Manager and all the Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allie wrote a review Jul 2020
7 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My now fiancé and I stayed at the respite for 5 days 4 nights. We were treated with friendly smiles, respect, and kindness.

During the coronavirus I was nervous to travel but they were very carefully they sanitized Our luggage, our shoes, and hands when we entered. All the staff was wearing masks, shields, and gloves. After you stood up from your chair they would sanitize them. The staff was very careful and taking all the steps necessary to ensure your and their safety.

The food! Amazing, they have multiple restaurants but are limited due to the coronavirus and you are asked to make reservations. It was absolutely perfect. We are at the seafood and steak, the French, Japanese, and Italian. It was so elegant and we were required to dress up. They were all absolutely amazing and delicious. The buffets are amazing as well.

The activities, apparently not all activities were on due to the coronavirus but it was perfect. So intimate. I participated with the pool workout classes with LORENZO and ALEX. They were absolutely amazing and you get a good workout in! They are so kind and enthusiastic! The pool is amazing all the staff was so kind walking around and taking our order for our drinks.

Room service was great too because sometimes I would fall asleep and miss a meal and they would bring your food covered because of the coronavirus. Very sanitized and would come quickly. Very kind staff.

The drinks were PERFECT. They all know how to make a variety of drinks that were so good!

I ended up getting engaged, the hotel helped arrange a photographer with my boyfriend without me knowing he was going to end up proposing. It was amazing! I absolutely loved every second of it. The staff was so kind and helpful, I would definitely love and would like to return!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VALENTIN CS, Director General at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Responded Jul 20, 2020
Dear guest, We appreciate all kinds of feedback, and when we receive compliments given our hard work and efforts we feel rewarded and encouraged to keep it up. It is so refreshing to know you had overall a great experience and look forward to your next visit! Best Regards, Vicente Iglesias General Manager and all the Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Isabel Casanova
3 helpful votes
Hi! Yes, we offer everywhere purified water including bottles in the room. Our ice is made as well with purified water. We have all certifications and regular inspections that allows us to operate and keep everyone safe! We look forward to welcoming you soon
Answer from Isabel Casanova
3 helpful votes
Hi, we do not have Crown royal anymore
Answer from BrentP
Nebraska857 contributions127 helpful votes
I couldn't say a lot but in all of our stays. We just haven't seen many younger people in that age group. You will see some in the mid to upper 20's. Especially when there are wedding happening. That being said. They will find many activities to participate in. BP
Answer from Isabel Casanova
3 helpful votes
Our entertainment program is updated weekly, we are sure you'd be able to plan once you are in the resort See you soon!
Answer from Isabel Casanova
3 helpful votes
Our resort has a wide range of ages, not too many 19 yo however our amazing team will have several activities everyday for whoever wants to be active We look forward to welcoming you at VIRM
MicaelaMarks wrote a tip Apr 18
Kearney, Missouri10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Interact with fellow travelers and make friends, it’s a great social setting. Or find a quiet spot, if you prefer, and decompress."
Read full review
Carmen D wrote a tip Apr 15
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very social friendly place "
Read full review
Starfish wrote a tip Apr 15
5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ocean swimming challenging due to waves and wind ."
Read full review
ModdyinVermont wrote a tip Apr 15
New Orleans, Louisiana270 contributions137 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to read the menus, you must have a QR code reader."
Read full review
Anthony P wrote a tip Apr 14
Beaver, Pennsylvania2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
" Make sure you try all of the restaurants! The swim outs are awesome! Lots of good entertainment at the main pool. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Playa del Secreto area.
PRICE RANGE
C$510 - C$796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
valentin imperial maya hotel playa del carmen, valentin imperial riviera maya
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del CarmenPlaya del Secreto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
540
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Which popular attractions are close to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
Nearby attractions include Jungala Aqua Experience (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tramonto, Il Olivo, and Havana Moon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Playa del Secreto HotelsPlaya del Secreto Hotel DealsHotels near Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars