We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostel La Posada del Sueco

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostel La Posada del Sueco
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Sweden
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We spent two night at this lovely place on our way to Cusco after a week in Galapagos. A great beach with superb swimming. The rooms where clean, good wifi and helpful staff. The garden is like heaven so quite and peaceful yet close to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stina v
MariaZwicker, Owner at Hostel La Posada del Sueco, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice words, we would like to serve you again soon...

Reviewed 9 December 2015

I emailed and was told there was availability for a room. After saying I wanted to place a deposit and asking how to do so, since there was no available information online about reservations, I received no answer. Again I emailed, and two weeks passed, and finally a response that didn't give me any information. Again I emailed, and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan P
MariaZwicker, Propietario at Hostel La Posada del Sueco, responded to this review

Dear Evan: It's very easy to book with us. You just choose the place, contact us, make the 50% deposit and just go to enjoy La Posada del Sueco. Its just some people make a storm in a little glass of water. When you started to write, your booking date was the 8th of january and for that dates, yes,...

London
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

I decided to spend a weekend with my 6 year old autistic son at La Posada del Sueco. From the photos it looked invitingly homely with a beautiful tropical garden within a rustic setting On our arrival we met the owner Bjorn who was very friendly and made us feel really welcome! We booked the ocean view room, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank submarina34
Haliburton, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2015

My family and I stayed in the two double rooms by the entrance and they were exactly as described on the site. Lack of air conditioning can be seen as a negative, but it also gets you out and about a bit more! It was easy to walk to town by beach or road or catch a bus, taxi or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tamara W
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 8 June 2014

if the speakers are blasting music from across the street at midnight, don't expect the owners to offer you a different room, even if the hostel is completely empty and other rooms (about 30 yards further away from the street and thus OBVIOUSLY a lot quieter) are available. they are so obviously unwilling to wash the extra set of sheets...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bonnie C
MariaZwicker, Owner at Hostel La Posada del Sueco, responded to this review

Living next to the ocean, enjoying the nature, a beautiful landscape, sunsets and sharing our home and experiences with people from everywhere in the world give us the best attitude you can wish… Reading this review, even we felt bad treated, if we were in your shoes. But is not because we don’t want to accept we were wrong, is...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend has stayed here twice,and we have travelled all over the world and in my expierince this is one of the most friendly and helpfull staff that we have come around.Will not hesitate to stay there again.Highly recommended :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elozo
MariaZwicker, Owner at Hostel La Posada del Sueco, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice words... we will be very happy to receive you once and over again... Best wishes allways, La Posada del Sueco

Cuenca, Ecuador
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had a reservation for this facility and when we arrived the owner informed us that it was unavailable due to renovation. We have applied to booking.com for a refund, but consider this very poor business practice. He also stated that they had tried to reach us and inform us by email of the status of his hostal, but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
MariaZwicker, Manager at Hostel La Posada del Sueco, responded to this review

James: To be honest with the people who read this website, and to make useful this review, you should tell the complete true about the situation without keeping half of the facts for your convenience... - After your booking request, we contact you and said it was the possibility to not receive you because we had an appointment in Guayaquil...

Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I totally recommend this hotel to stay. Since the moment you arrive you can feel the breeze of this natural place all over. Theres a lot of trees and good if you like the nature. Maria and Bjork the owners are really kind and helpfull. I went with my boyfriend and it was unforgettable. At night we could listen to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PipiMogro
MariaZwicker, Owner at Hostel La Posada del Sueco, responded to this review

Thanks PippiMogro! For us was also amazing to share all your joy and happiness... We wish you to have a happy life and we hope you can come back soon...

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We went to Playas with my parents and very much enjoyed the hostal. The garden was beautiful and on the grounds there were a lot of places (hammocks, tables, etc) to relax, play games, and read. During the low season the county doesn't clean the beach, so the beach was dirty. The owner - Bjorn - was extremely helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helado645
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This place is great. The garden is an amazing tropical retreat. So nice to have a pool and deck overlooking the beach. Our room was good, however the bed was a bit uncomfortable. Some of the rooms are older and some newer so make sure you know what you are booking so there areno surprises. Great kitchen and outdoor BBQ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaGou

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas
0.0 km away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
489 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Nevada
#2 of 2 in Playas
7 reviews
0.0 km away
Playa Paraiso Gastronomia & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
El Jardin de Playas
El Jardin de Playas
#1 of 9 in Playas
34 reviews
0.0 km away
Promenade Hostel
Promenade Hostel
#2 of 9 in Playas
14 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Titopolis
Hotel Titopolis
#1 of 14 in Playas
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Posada del Sueco accommodation in General Villamil Playas is a lovely exotic, topical, romantic little Eco lodge hostel/ hotel in front of the beach in Ecuador, an unforgettable vacation hideaway from it all with a relaxing/tranquil environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel La Posada del Sueco

Address: Km 2 via a Data Posorja | General Villamil, Playas 090155, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Playas
Price Range: $93 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel La Posada del Sueco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel La Posada del Sueco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms might have more of a breeze”
 of 5 bubbles 68tamaraw, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
“as far away from the street as posible, or as the owners will allow you to..”
 of 5 bubbles bonniec2014, 8 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Upper rooms are the best so u can have the ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles PipiMogro, 13 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Make sure to give your taxi driver specific directions as this place is not on the beaten path.”
 of 5 bubbles BridgetS416, 5 Jul 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay