We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley

Save
Share
1820 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1516
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Wyndham
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (12)
Bathroom (4)

About

#11 of 20 hotels in Berkeley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Energize your next trip to the beautiful San Francisco Bay area and book a room at our Berkeley Travelodge hotel. Centrally located in the heart of East Bay, our Berkeley, CA, hotel is only 3 blocks from University of California Berkeley places you within minutes of great restaurants, shopping and top attractions.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
64Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
7Attractionswithin 0.5 km
352Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 95
  • 90
  • 41
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Reviewer123456603948 wrote a review Jan. 2021
1 contribution
Bed had dirty sheets, roomed smelled like cats peed in it. And someone’s hair was allover the place. I really did expect employee to so rude as well. Hopefully noons has to stay there the night. Keep yourself safe
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded Jan. 18, 2021
Dear guest, We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at our hotel. It certainly does not sound as if you had the experience that we strive to provide for our guests, and we sincerely apologize for any failure in delivering on our commitment to provide you with a clean, comfortable, and pleasant place to stay. We do wish that you had notified our staff about this as they would have gladly taken care of the issue and switched your room to ensure a pleasant stay for you. Nevertheless, we have noted your feedback, and we will conduct an investigation within our housekeeping department to correct any lapses in current cleaning standards. At Travelodge Berkeley, we generally receive numerous compliments for our professional, friendly, and helpful staff, and we are disappointed to learn that this was not your experience. We will ensure that our team is aware of your impression and see to it that all of our staff members endeavor to make sure that each guest has the positive experience that we aim to provide. We know we can do better, and it would be an honor to have a chance to redeem ourselves with you and restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
Richard L wrote a review Aug. 2020
Santee, United States10 contributions2 helpful votes
Colorful building. My room was clean, comfortable and very Ikea. Didn't hear much traffic during this Corona pandemic except for the guys a few rooms down partying outside one afternoon. The hotel is next to a bike shop if you're on vacation with a bike and need service and across the street is Trader Joe's if you need grocery items. All staff members I had contact with were very nice. Will stay again when in Berkeley.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Owner at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded Aug. 11, 2020
Hey Richard, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We are glad that you found our accommodation affordable and the room clean and comfortable, and it's nice to read that our location suited you. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff. We apologize if some of our guests were disruptive on a particular afternoon. When you stay with us again, if there is ever any such issue, please notify our staff members and they will be happy to request the concerned guests to keep the noise level to a minimum. We trust that everything else was in order, and we hope to welcome you back when you return to Berkeley. Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
Phil N wrote a review Mar. 2020
Sonora, California46 contributions44 helpful votes
Nice, clean, conveniently located (for my purposes, anyway) motel. It is close to downtown Berkeley. It has on-site parking. Rooms are well appointed. The glass shower was enjoyable. The continental breakfast was just right. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The Manager, Manny, is caring and attentive, and runs a well organized motel. I stayed there a few years ago, and it was not very good. It is great now.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are away from University Avenue, which is not that busy or loud. The motel is two story.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded Mar. 5, 2020
Hey Phil, Many thanks for the positive rating. We really appreciate the time that you have taken to leave such a detailed review of your stay with us. We are glad that you found our accommodation clean and conveniently located, the rooms well-appointed and our staff friendly and accommodating, and it's nice to read that our on-site parking, glass shower, and continental breakfast were to your liking. We also hope your stay was comfortable, and you had easy access to everything you needed. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future. Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
cdlaat wrote a review Mar. 2020
2 contributions
Nice spacey room with two beds, very fast internet, Microwave and Fridge so that you can do your own breakfast/food, the grocery Trades Joe across the street. Location is great, about 5 blocks from start of UCB campus. The provided breakfast is very basic, so for once, but not every morning. Street (University Avenue) can be noisy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded Mar. 4, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We are glad that you liked the room and found it spacious and it's nice to read that our location suited you. We also appreciate you telling us that the WiFi speed and room amenities, such as microwave and fridge, were to your satisfaction. We apologize that our breakfast fell short of your expectations. We do review our breakfast selection regularly, and we will take your feedback into consideration when next doing so. Your comment about noise is duly noted. While we don't have much control over external noise, we can probably look at assigning a quieter room for you the next time. We trust that the positives of your stay outweighed the limitations, and we hope to welcome you back when you return to Berkeley. Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
jeremytoste wrote a review Feb. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Garbage experience. Read previous comments. Guy tried to open our door at 6 am after giving other guests our same room key. He was also barefoot when we checked in which was pretty gross. Bad stay. Should have been comped for the guy trying to force our door open
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge berkeley hotel berkeley, berkeley travel lodge, berkeley travelodge, travel lodge berkeley
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBerkeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Nearby attractions include Berkeley Repertory Theatre (0.4 km), Freight and Salvage Coffee House (0.4 km), and Aurora Theatre (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eureka!, Berkeley Social Club, and Imm Thai Street Food.
Is Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Berkeley.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chapel of the Chimes Oakland (5.0 km) and Camron-Stanford House (7.8 km).
Is Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.