We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose Garden Inn

Show Prices
#10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose Garden Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Start your review of Rose Garden Inn
 Click to rate
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When the toilet does not flush, the television requires a degree in electrical engineering, and the in-room clock radio goes off at 2:00 a.m., there's a problem. Our call for help fell on deaf ears. We reported the toilet and TV to the front desk man who promised to have matters corrected "right away". By late evening, the toilet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jersey850
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to read your review, to see that your room did not meet the standards that we wish to provide for our guests. Our staff should obviously have taken care of the issues right away for you, or provided you with an alternate room, but it clearly seems that we dropped the ball in this case. This...

Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's interesting to read the reviews of the Rose Garden Inn, which are all over the map. I enjoyed my stay here. Some aspects could maybe use a little updating, but I had no problems. I didn't wake up covered in bedbugs or water from the ceiling, and the breakfast, Wi-Fi, and bed were all excellent. The front desk people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LarryJ917
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Larry for your honest review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much, and that we met all of your needs. We obviously love to hear guests say that they would stay with us again, we hope to welcome you back very soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

BronxMom2
Reviewed 1 week ago

Front desk called us at midnight (3 am where we flew in from) and woke us up to tell us our credit card was no good. My husband went down to front desk, they ran card again and it was just fine. (Credit card company said there was no problem with card and didn't see any declination on their end)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BronxMom2
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We apologize sincerely for disturbing your night with, as you say, something that should have been clarified and sorted out much earlier in the day. We are very sorry for this bad experience; it is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Thank you for choosing to stay with...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This may have been quaint at one time but now it's just shabby. The room is in dire need of refreshing and repairs. The heater was so loud you couldn't sleep. The bathroom needed a good clean. The breakfast was embarrassing in a city that values food and healthy living. The staff were not helpful. The only reason I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRQtraveler520
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't particularly enjoy your stay with us, despite our great location. We do have an older property, which some people love, and our team maintain and clean it to the highest possible standard. We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations, and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Thank you...

Forest Lake
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one night and had a beautiful room with an amazing amount of space. The inn is a collection of restored cottages. The free breakfast was very good and included potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage, bread, french toast, juice, coffee and fruit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DougHMn
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi Doug, We're really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable room and a great breakfast, and we're really happy that's what you received. We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again - we'd love to welcome you back. Warm regards, Hotel Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is billed as a charming one-of-a-kind place, with rooms scattered about a garden area in the back. The rooms have faux traditional furnishings .... old, little run down, chipped, but generally serviceable.Screens broken and bathroom smells (awful). And the garden area is dowdy. The neighborhood is unattractive, and parking is limited. Mainly, however, the staff is always rude. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MathTraveler2014
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not receive the hospitable customer service that we aim to provide you all of our guests. We will be following up on your review with the appropriate department and personnel to ensure that issues such as this do not arise again. We appreciate your feedback, please rest assured that we will action all...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The night before I was to arrive at the Rose Garden Inn with 8 high school students to attend a conference I was notified that they had overbooked and my reservation was cancelled. I made the booking 2 months in advance, had a confirmation #, and verified by phone 2 weeks earlier about the accommodations but they heartlessly left me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vinlangan
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry about the issues that you had with your reservation, and we apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you and your party. We do require a valid credit card to confirm the rooms. We appreciate your business, and we hope that we might have an opportunity to welcome you to our property in the future....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two times out of two there was hair in my complimentary breakfast and at no point did the internet work. The front desk pretended to do something about it. I had to use my smartphone to get to the internet. Old building with perfumed room smells - tough on people with respiratory issues. On the plus side, it is peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter W
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for your review. Whilst it's great that you enjoyed your stay with us in the main, we are very sorry that there was a problem with our internet during your stay. This is an unusual complaint for us to get, our signal is generally strong, so this must have been a one-off occurrence. We apologize sincerely...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is old and quaint, and hotel staff are pleasant. The rooms are as advertised, but do not expect anything that is not advertised. The lighting and security at night is a bit lacking. The room was noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MEKonrad
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We were delighted to be your hosts on your recent visit to this area, and it's lovely to hear that you liked the style of our property. We are sorry if you experienced some noise; we trust that this did not disturb you to much, and we hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again -...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The word "inn" in the name might conjure images of antiques and New England charm. Dispel those images, and replace them with scenes from an amateurish DIY job. But keep reading this review, because the Rose Garden might still be the place for you. On my latest trip to Berkeley, I stayed at both of the hotels that are within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profe1967
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review! We are happy that so many aspects of your stay were pleasing to you; the price, the location and the style of our property. It is a pity that the weather was so bad during your stay, and you would have, as you mentioned, enjoyed our lovely patio area. We do have...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,177 reviews
4.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.9 km away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.9 km away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
246 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Price Range: $181 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Seattle, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room, 304, was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles LarryJ917, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you do stay, pay extra for the decent rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MathTraveler2014, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check out your room before taking your bags, lots of steps ,no bellman”
 of 5 bubbles 161stevem, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed behind the main facility, away from Telegraphy Avenue, and did not hear any traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles edudellsr, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was outside the main hotel area. I think that i would choose a house in the main section.”
 of 5 bubbles freetherefugees, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5