We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose Garden Inn

Visit hotel website
Traveller (160)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (5)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
77Somewhat walkable
Grade: 77 out of 100
182Restaurantswithin 1 km
14Attractionswithin 1 km
416Reviews
173Photos
7Q+A
62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 128
  • 69
  • 56
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This place is hit or miss. I've stayed here before and they have some really amazing unique rooms. But this visit was awful. I arrived to a room that toilet seat was unattached, i sat on it and literally fell off onto the floor, then sat on the corner of the bed and it tipped
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Dec. 17, 2018
Hi Aaron, We are always delighted to welcome you to our hotel, and it was great to see you here again recently. We are very disappointed to know that this most recent stay was not up to our usual high standard, and we apologize sincerely. We hope to have an opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes, and we hope that you will return to stay again. We are confident that you will have your usual great stay here on any future visits. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
I stayed in the family suite for 3 nights. I had my 25 year old son, and my 81 year old mother. It worked perfectly. The check in was super easy and they were very accommodating when we hoped to check in early. The grounds are large (for in the city) and made it easy for us to
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Nov. 8, 2018
Thank you for your review - we always appreciate feedback from our guests greatly. We were very pleased to host you during your extended stay - thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy to have provided you with a great stay, and we hope to see you again very soon! Thank you very much for your recommendation. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Lock malfunctioned and I wasn’t able to access my room, nor could the staff figure out how to access it. They finally broke into it and let me know not to leave for the night or I wouldn’t be able to get back in with my card, until “the guy” comes the next day. They couldn’t
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Oct. 1, 2018
Hi Steven, Thank you kindly for your review; we very much appreciate it. We are sorry that you experienced some difficulties with your keycard. Unfortunately, bank card and cellphones can sometimes affect the operation of these keys, but we understand how frustrating this can be. It is most unusual for our team to be unable to access your room, but we are pleased that we ultimately found a (drastic) solution. We apologize for all of the small issues that you encountered and the suggestions on how to improve our future guests' stays. We appreciate your comments, and we will endeavor to take some actions in advance of your next stay with us. We hope that you notice some improvements at that time. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
We spent a nice evening at the Rose Garden Inn. It is conveniently located a walk to Elmwood in Berkeley and the UC Berkeley Campus. The room we had would have slept 4 comfortable, it came complete with a small kitchen and sitting area with a fireplace. It was a little funky but
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Sep. 27, 2018
I am pleased to have provided you with a most memorable experience at our hotel. Our philosophy is that it is the personal relationships we establish with our guests that we value most, so if there is anything I or my team can do to enhance your next stay, please do not hesitate to let us know. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Stayed for 1 night last Friday. Thought the rate of $267 was ridiculous for what we got. Room was terrible. Holes in the wall, rotting baseboards, gaps in the bathroom between wall & tile, shower was patched. Took 5 minutes for the sink to have warm water. And this is
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn
Responded Sep. 24, 2018
Hi Paul, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently; we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and that our hotel was not entirely suitable for your accommodation needs. We are sorry that the wonderful value that we offer did not appeal to you, this is not the general feedback that we get. We are pleased to provide clean, comfortable accommodation at a very competitive rate in this area, and we are sorry that we and our property were unable to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay here on this occasion. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementRose Garden Inn
King with Two Twins
PreviousNext
12345614
What was the room type that you found the bed bugs in?
No bedbugs during my stay
0 votes
Show all answers
Haven't been back since my September review. I have just received input from a guest who stayed in the same room as my wife and I the night prior to our visit. They also had a bed bug problem and reported it to management. Boom, we were in the next night and were chewed up. Seems management needs to be more attentive.
1 vote
Show all answers
What time is check in and check out
3 pm check in and 12 PM check out
0 votes
Hi would like to know what time is check in thanks
Three o'clock is check-in time. Be sure to arrive early as parking is VERY limited and it is not a neighborhood where you want to be schlepping your luggage and you around after dark.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"One of the rooms toward the back is preferable."
"Make sure you are not next to a room occupied by junkies."
"Can't say. Only stayed in one room. It was fine."
"Ask about stairs if your knees are in less than top form."
"Horrible Hotel"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rose garden hotel berkeleyrose garden berkeley
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBerkeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing