We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vagabond Inn Bishop

TravelocityUS$107*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$110*
US$107*
Great Deal
US$110*
US$110*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn Bishop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 350: English reviews
Start your review of Vagabond Inn Bishop
 Click to rate
San Jose Ca
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Average hotel/motel for the price point. Recently remodeled. Flat screen w/ cable, high speed WiFi, mini fridge & microwave. 3" memory foam bed topper was the most appreciated creature comfort. Many lakes nearby, so the hotel provides"fish scaling" sink area and a fish freezer for guests to use. (well away from rooms) they also have provided two outdoor BBQ areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traverler1515
Rocklin, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

They are in the middle of a remodel so the grounds are messy. Rooms where great, new mattresses fresh paint. Once the work is done it's going to be nice. The price goes up on weekends of course. Good restaurants nearby. The breakfast was about normal for hotel continental breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airtanker1820
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Airtanker1820, Thank you reviewing our property. We are working very hard to to ensure our guests have a nice and comfortable stay with us and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We are remodeling our pool and finishing our landscaping so we hope you will come back and see our improvements. Have a great day!...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, easy check-in, near some restaurants, good beds and a fine shower. What more do you need for one night? Pool was closed for some construction but didn't really need it anyway. Breakfast good have been better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard V
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you for your review. We look forward to our guests feedback and the staff is happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

Regina,SK
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We had a room on these one floor that was clean and comfortable. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a good continental breakfast. It is on the Main Street and within easy walking distance to restaurants. We enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QCCouple
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear QC couple, Thank you very much for the review of our property. The staff is very happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We all look forward to serving you again on your next visit to beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have a fantastic day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

Nevada City, California
Reviewed 24 March 2017

First stay, and it appears that upgrades have been completed. Room was neat, clean, quiet (away from the highway). Continental breakfast only, not satisfying. Yet, for the price, it was a reasonable value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Bob H, Thank you Sir, for the review of our property. We have finished the bulk of our remodel and are working on the landscaping/pool area now. We are happy you found our rooms neat, clean and quiet. We hope to get another chance to serve you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front...

Nampa, Idaho
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We have never stayed at a Vagabond, but was happy with this one. Fresh paint in and out and looked the rooms were recently refurbished. Firm beds with newer sheets. Clean room. Only negatives were that the heat/ac unit was up high and I couldn't reach it to adjust. (I am 5'2") And it doesn't have a constant 'fan on'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awebCA
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Awebca, Thank you for your review. We appreciate our valued guests feedback. We are glad you had a nice and comfortable nights sleep. Sorry for the ac/heating unit being placed so high. We are going to be changing those out in the future. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 March 2017

I was not expecting much at a chain hotel that takes pets and I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were updated and nice. Even our pet friendly room was clean and nice. And the pet area behind the hotel is huge and convenient. The front desk clerk at night and in the morning (we only stayed one night) were both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank professorb2016
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Professorb2016, Thank you for your review. We take pride in making sure our guests have a nice and comfortable stay with us. We are pleased to hear you and your four legged family member enjoyed our newly updated rooms. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Staff was very nice~ Breakfast was good. But our room was 207..and needs a lot of TLC..our room door did not stay closed without dead bolt, light did not work, refrigerator fan ran extremely loud ..we finally just unplugged it. Found it odd how front desk clerk at night said we were getting a great deal on rate...only to hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry for the issues you had with your room. I do remember speaking to you about this during your stay. We have fixed the problems you experienced and we hope to get another chance to serve you better in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely,...

El Reno, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Took a 3 day mini-vacation to get away from big city. Easy checkin and requested a non smoking room. Uh go, we got a smoking room. Quiet? the property was sold out with a large fishing group. They partied in the parking lot until the wee hours and were up at crack of dawn yelling, slamming doors and revving engines....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bark M
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Bark M, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry for the noise you experienced. With 80 rooms things can get pretty lively around here when they are all full! Sorry the crowds made your visit miserable. That is not the experience we want our valued guests to have. We hope to get another chance...

La Verne, California
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Vagabond Inn. The rooms are clean and nice. The customer service is exceptional. They have a little continental breakfast in the morning. The value is great. I highly recommend this hotel. I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 981jenniferg
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you very much for the nice review. The staff is happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to serving you again next time you are visiting beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (24)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.6 km away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,570 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
829 reviews
1.4 km away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
230 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.7 km away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Address: 1030 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2431
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range: $145 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vagabond Inn Bishop staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Bishop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away from the highway”
X1589ZYbobh, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on first floor in back are the best location for those with pets”
professorb2016, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a room toward back of hotel, front desk did say those were all just refurbished”
mslyn08, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid a visit when the property is full with an all male sport event.”
BarkM, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make reservations in advance during the travel season and on weekends in the winter.”
X9152ZApamelap, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$107* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$110
TripAdvisorUS$107
Orbitz.comUS$107
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates