We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Canon de la Vieja Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Our lodge was clean, had airco, plenty of space. Unfortunately the rooms did smell mouldy if the airco was turned off. We also found some of glass plates missing in the windows which means you can turn the airco on but the hot air is flowing into the room anyway. Luckily we their are sufficient nets in front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RC583
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your comments. It is always important to receive them so that we may have a direct perception from our customers. This year we have some projects as improvements in the rooms and gardens to make them more welcoming as you mentioned, as well as the inside roads. Regarding our brand new Los Almendros Restaurant,...

Indio, California
Reviewed 21 December 2016

While the location is lush, green and beautiful, we had a negative experience on the tours they offer. We went for an all day adventure package, that we were unable to complete. We did zipling and lunch. On the next activity, horseback riding, our daughter was bucked off a horse and sprained her wrist. While accidents happen, this could have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iltalk4u
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello dear Mrs. Reed: Greetings from Costa Rica! First of all, we want to apologize once again for what happened. As advised before, we recognized our guide did not handle the situation the way he must, respective measures have been taken. We are very sorry that we are being affected by third parties, the guide you purchased the package from...

cheshire
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Quite isolated location so unless have transport or take a taxi to Liberia not able to go elsewhere at night. Rooms ok but due to gap in wooden chalet type ceiling directly over the bed, spent a lot of the night removing large ants from bed covers! Only fine mesh on windows and quite a few insects get through. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hitcharideCheshire
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello: A warm greeting from Canyon de la Vieja Lodge! Thank you for the visit and your comments. We are located in a transition area between the city of Liberia and the mountains of Rincon de la Vieja; therefore there are insects and various types of animals in the surroundings, as far as possible we try to keep them out...

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

A group of 8 of us were there just for the day. We did the zip lining and the spa mud bath, and our favorite, inter-tube ing down the river! We had fantastic guides that took care of us while we had a day of adrenaline highs!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigerwebb83
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We only stayed here one night. Our room was of a very good and spacious size. Located in a park like area it was nice. Beds were comfortable, bathroom of good size and clean! Pool area with bar was really nice. We had a nice time relaxing! We didn't have dinner here, we went into the village. We had dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatrickBuijs
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We had the best time during the Mega Combo tour. We started out horseback riding down to the river where we did white water tubing (this is a lot crazier than rafting, trust me!), zip lining and then finally to a mud bath with mineral spas. I have never pecked so much adventure into 1 day. It was amazing. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tahereh H
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

The arrival was a little bit strange.. nothing arround and the entrance was protected and chained. The reception was nice but everwhere workers were doing their jobs. The map of the lodge does not fit to reality. After reception asked for help with the luggade we denied and tried to walk to our lodge,... bad mistake the way is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Majo Ä
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Majo: Greetings from all the staff and thank you for your comments, which help us to continuously improve. We have a security guard at the entrance to provide better protection to all our guests. We are already working on an updated map of the hotel in order to show all the improvements we have now. We are sorry to...

new albany, indiana
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We booked this tour from Gecko Tours at Riu beach. We paid $130 a person for a private tour - two people. Our guide was Christian. The ziplining is fine, but the real action is the white water tubing through the rapids. The rappelling is one section of rock about 30 feet down and then you climb up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nalawyer
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

First off, we did not stay at this hotel, but rather, were picked up at our spot in Tamarindo and taxi'd out here for a day adventure. Our taxi driver, Henry, was on time and super nice. We enjoyed chatting with him and also just relaxing on the hour and a half drive out to the location. When we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Stayed with our two grandchildren. Right on the Canyon with lots of things to do. The room are in separate cabins with good bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and interesting with local foods. Very near the Park so you can get started when it opens.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (190)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
11.6 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,256 reviews
12.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
28.3 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
744 reviews
10.3 km away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
414 reviews
17.8 km away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $126 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Canon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canon de la Vieja Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Canon de la Vieja Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bungalows 1-6 are close to the pool and restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles Tallinda, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles iltalk4u, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 24-25 are near the pool and spa.”
 of 5 bubbles SummerLover71, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are duplex cabins, so there is no preference.”
 of 5 bubbles Loboli2, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have wifi, those near the pool do. Nice bar, restaurant, many available activities.”
 of 5 bubbles 882martinf, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5