We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Canon de la Vieja Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
new albany, indiana
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We booked this tour from Gecko Tours at Riu beach. We paid $130 a person for a private tour - two people. Our guide was Christian. The ziplining is fine, but the real action is the white water tubing through the rapids. The rappelling is one section of rock about 30 feet down and then you climb up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nalawyer
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

First off, we did not stay at this hotel, but rather, were picked up at our spot in Tamarindo and taxi'd out here for a day adventure. Our taxi driver, Henry, was on time and super nice. We enjoyed chatting with him and also just relaxing on the hour and a half drive out to the location. When we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Stayed with our two grandchildren. Right on the Canyon with lots of things to do. The room are in separate cabins with good bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and interesting with local foods. Very near the Park so you can get started when it opens.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Unfortunately we stayed during low season and there were very few guests staying. Therefore the lodge lacked any personality. I can imagine with all the activities available at the lodge it can become chaotic in high season with day guests. Rooms are basic as are most in Costa Rica but clean and spacious. Each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marathonSara
CostaRicaMarketing, Propietario at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sara: Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad about your impressions regarding the room, the heated waters, the food and your tour at the national park. We are taking into consideration all your comments in order to give a better experience to all our clients. Regarding our location, we want to mention that we are only at...

Reviewed 17 August 2016

The location of the lodge/cabanas is fine, being close to the Rincon de la Vieja park, where we walked two beautiful trails. The lodge itself is nice, with a good pool and friendly staff. At the same time, it didn't feel as charming as some of the other places we stayed at in Costa Rica, probably due to the size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasper H
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The main thing about this hotel (like most others in the Rincon area) is that all the activities are right here. Without leaving the property you can zip line, run the river, horse back ride, etc. Unlike some hotels, this one doesn't seem to accept the large tour buses of people coming in from Liberia for the day. Kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1sandlover
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We visited Costa Rica this month and having been at a brilliant hotel previous to this we arrived here and its terrible! We arrived for lunch which is overpriced at 15 dollars. Alot of the options were limited and tasted poorly cooked. You can choose to pay at the end of your stay or per sitting we chose the latter....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikewolv
CostaRicaMarketing, Propietario at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear customer: We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We are surprised to hear your comments as we are not used to receive such reviews about our staff. We took note and checked with our managers at each area in order to avoid these situations to happen again. We are also paying attention about all the points you...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We did the all day tour to Canon De la Vieja and had a great time. Luis was our guide and I have to say he was Absolutely Amazing!!!! My mother was hurt in an ATV accident and he really went above and beyond for her to enjoy herself on this tour! Zip lining was fun, lunch was good, horses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessicaNicole82
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jessica: We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great time with us! We always do our best in order to exceed clients´ expectations. We will share your review with Luis and all our staff as comments like yours motivate us to do it even better! Hope your mother is recovered now and we will be looking...

Denton, Texas
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Brought 15 students and faculty for a study abroad tour. This was one of the students' favorite places to stay. The lodges' rooms are spacious and clean. Hot water, nice pool (with a nice bar for the grown ups). The views were amazing. Didn't do the adventure activities but it was well-located on the property for those who might do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Profssor
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We stayed for the first time. There was a lot to do here! The pool/bar area is very nice for friends and families. The little huts are clean and have good A/C. We did the Volcanic mud spa for just $15 and it was a new fun experience! The hanging bridge over the river is a thrill in itself. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SummerLover71

274 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
11.7 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,265 reviews
10.5 km away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
420 reviews
12.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
962 reviews
15.5 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
750 reviews
17.9 km away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $125 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Canon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canon de la Vieja Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Canon de la Vieja Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bungalows 1-6 are close to the pool and restaurants.”
Tallinda, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!”
iltalk4u, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 24-25 are near the pool and spa.”
SummerLover71, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are duplex cabins, so there is no preference.”
Loboli2, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have wifi, those near the pool do. Nice bar, restaurant, many available activities.”
882martinf, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5