We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hacienda Guachipelin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
Panoramas (32)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Guachipelin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 684: English reviews
Midland, Texas
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Visited the Rincón de la Vieja National Park and Hacienda with my four "almost" adult children. Wonderful visit!! Highly recommend!! Reservations were made online through the Hacienda's web site for the activities that we wished to enjoy. Upon arrival the process went amazingly smooth everything was set. We got checked in and within minutes we were mounting our horses and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank brown11
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for so many nice comments, this is our motivation, I´ll pass this to the staff, like I always do for them to know we are doing something right, we work hard trying to satisfy most of the people most of the time. Hope to see you soon back with us.

Reviewed 18 March 2012

1. It was next to the national park 2. the rooms were very comfortable and clean 3. the gardens were beautiful 4. Welcome cocktails! 5. Really nice staff and help 6. Awesome staff 7. Great restaurant and breakfast 8. Just Pura vida!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ignacio O
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you friend from Montreal, you said it all, those are strong remarks. We feel glad you could experience them, come back and enjoy with us again.

Montreal
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Hacienda Guachipelin is a great destination for nature lovers. Can be very active with hikes and horseback riding, and can also find peace and relaxation. My son and I arrived w/o a vehicle; the Hacienda provides transportation to various parts of the park for hikes as well as to their own hot springs on the Rio Negro, and to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaurieMcL59
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Hello, thanks very much for your comments, we feel glad you enjoyed all our activities, we try to satisfy people from all ages and likes. For us is very nice to hear that you had a good time, please come back soon, it will be a pleasure for us.

Levis, Canada
Reviewed 12 March 2012

very conveniently located, this hacienda is a must for exploring Rincon de la Vieja and the surroundings. clean, wll organized, with amazing fauna and flora around. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank patrick b
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments the staff of the Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin feels very proud in making costumers happy. And yes the location to visit the park is very convenient. Hope to see you and your family soon back with us.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2012

In February of 2012 I had the opportunity to hike up the Rincon de la veija volcano. I went with Adventure Tours. The staff were very helpful with my booking. The guides name was Cesar, he was very knowledgeable about the volcanco,plants and animals. The hike is not easy[16km. return,7-8hrs],but most defintely worth it. Highly recommend it, and ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryM M
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your comments, we feel glad you enjoyed Rincón de la Vieja National park from Hacienda Guachipelin. We hope to see you back soon.

Kent
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Guanacaste is a hotter drier area than much of the rest of the traditional tourist circuit of Costa Rica, but Hacienda Guachelpin is a wonderful green oasis in this lovely National Park. The resort accommodation bounds a lovely garden with tall trees and flowering shrubs that are greatly attractive to colourful birds. Parrots, toucans, trogons and lively wrens are the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lizziesbirds
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Hi, I see you like birds, I am glad you could see a great deal of them, they truly are beautiful and they can easily be seen at the hotel gardens or at the national park which is very close. We hope to see you soon back with us.

Trumbull, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This place is just cool! The grounds are beautiful. It is a working ranch, so keep that in mind. It's very close to the entrance to the National Park. The road in is not the best, but that's Costa Rica. Go with it - it's part of the charm of the country. You can make it without a 4x4. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redaries
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Hello friends, thank you very much for the time to write this comment , I can se you captured perfectly what Hacienda Guachipelin really is, a working ranch, for people that loves animals and you get to share with them very close, very close to the entrance to the park, and yes, very good advice of enjoying the bad roads...

vermont
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Nice hotel Did not eat dinner there did have the lunch buffet and the breakfast that came with the room and those meals were good.The adventure tour [zip line,horse riding,tubing,and hot springs]were worth the extra $85.My only complaint was that the bottom fitted bed sheet would not stay on thusly slept on the matteras thru out the night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skiextrm
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Hello friends, thanks for sharing your comments, we are glad you enjoyed our meals, and the adventure activities we offer, let us check what went wrong with the sheet you mention. Sorry for the inconvenience, we truly apologize.

new jersey
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is a great find. Although it accommodates many travelers, it feels peaceful and intimate; you can easily find a quiet spot to sit and read or watch nature, and you can just as easily arrange to go zip lining or tubing. There is free transportation, leaving every two hours or so, to the park and thermal pools. But...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank crocus47
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Dear friend, thank you very much for your comments, we feel very happy that you had such a great time with us and enjoyed all our activities for all ages and likes, we hope to see you soon back with us.

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Hacienda Guachipelin is in a great location just minutes (by car) to the national park. The spa was a great experience. For 5000 colones($10) you get to do the 6 step volcanic mud painting. It was great fun, and made our skin very soft. Our room was clean, was very quiet. But I must say the beds where the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IslandDrifter23
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Hello friend, thanks for your post, we always take in consideration this kind of posts and they help us to get better everyday, we are so sorry you had a bad night, we change matresses constantly, not allowing them to go that bad. On the other hand we are glad you enjoyed the rest of the hotel, specially the mud...

1,032 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (718)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (369)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Hot Springs (21)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Suite (26)
Viewed
Superior Room (20)
Viewed
Other (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
11.7 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#4 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
255 reviews
24.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
33.1 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
933 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
731 reviews
8.8 km away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-5010, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $110 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hacienda Guachipelin staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
surrey
Albuquerque, New Mexico

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Hacienda Guachipelin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms closer to reception that will allow you easy access to the swimming pool, the restaurant and parking lot.”
  • Canopy bridge
 of 5 bubbles ByronCR, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The ranch is spread out with rooms close to the restaurant or close to the barns or further. We walked but you can drive.”
 of 5 bubbles Sandie-NY, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have 2 double beds.”
 of 5 bubbles TheBlum, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the 30s have the back end up against the corral.”
 of 5 bubbles dgree206, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms by the stable.”
 of 5 bubbles scottg289, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5