We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hideaway

Expedia.comUS$310*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$345*
US$310*
Great Deal
US$345*
US$345*
US$310*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 318: English reviews
Belvedere
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We literally enjoyed being at the Hideaway 3 days. Services are excellent, friendly and discrete atmosphere, hotel renewed and new, breakfast with good quality food, and in the afternoon possibility of free wine tasting. And all this was in Carmel, what else you needl?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marielouiseo966
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Marie It is wonderful that you guys had a great stay with us. We do have nice place to settle in and relax. Our meal services are nice and fresh. Everything is prepared from scratch on a daily basis. We hope to see you return soon. Thank you

High Point
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The rooms are lovely and comfortable. Great breakfast and cocktails are included. We loved every minute of our stay. The location is perfect for shopping, beach or hiking. The staff is friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Susan I thank you for the kind words. I'm glad that you had a great time staying with us. I agree that our location is a great spot to enjoy Carmel. We hope to you have return to us soon and enjoy another stay here. Thank you

So. California
Reviewed 12 September 2016

You have improved the rooms since our last stay however missed in some ways as we saw it. Not having room for a lady to lay out her items for make up was a big miss in our opinion as are the closets where you cannot open the drawers easily.Otherwise all was good. Our big disappointment as having to pre...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindapD4740YQ
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Linda It is nice to read that you are a return guest and with that I value your feedback. I can understand your thoughts toward the reservation policy. We do not offer discounted pricing for that time period. We are closed to being sold out for next years event already. I thank you for your feed back and I...

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The Hideaway is beautiful hotel. Location was perfect. Short walk to the beach and very close to Ocean Ave. friendly staff and GREAT wine and cheese and fruit in the afternoon. They also offer a delicious breakfast in the mornings. Everything was very classy and the decor is modern and very natural. The bed was super comfortable and the size...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OCallie
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi I'm glad that you had a great stay with us. Our food services are really good and our team is proud of what they provide. I hope that you will return soon and experience our wonderful accommodations again. Thank you

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Outstanding all the way around.... Location, comfort, good food, wonderful amenities, bikes available for guests. The front desk personnel were knowledgeable and helpful. Coffee available for an early morning beach walk

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karon G
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Karon Thank you for the kind words. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy all that we have to offer. I hope to see you back soon. Thank you

Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Facility was clean and modern. Food was plentiful and satisfying. Service was splendid. Location was perfect and they let us borrow bikes to get around town which was a surprise bonus for us! We will be repeat customers for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyandMarilena
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello Ricky and Marilena I'm really glad that you had a great stay with us. We have a great team and they take a lot of pride in what the service they give. Our bikes are very popular and we enjoy providing a healthy way to check out our little town. we look forward to having you back soon. Thank...

Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Located on one of the more quiet and laid back corners of the Carmel commercial district; this "Hideaway" looks and feels more like an Alpine Chalet. Staff were professional and helpful. A great breakfast presentation and evening wine and cheese events makes it an even more pleasurable experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al A
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Al I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was really nice to read that you appreciated our team. I think they are a really good group. I hope that you will return soon and enjoy another relaxing stay. Thank you

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We had a fabulous stay with great service. We enjoyed having a few spots to relax. Our room was clean and comfy. The entry has a beautiful indoor sitting area with fireplace and we also enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese on the patio around the fire. The breakfast was delicious with healthy choices. Allowed us to start our day...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewX4928FG
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Thank you for taking the time to respond. It is nice to read how much you guys enjoyed you stay. A lot of people really enjoy sitting the courtyard, it has a really nice feel to it. We look forward to having you back. Thank you

Wellington, Florida
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Beautiful room. Great service. Excellent food. Perfect location. The only negative would be the walls are really really thin and we could hear everything our neighbors were saying and doing. Parking was a little tricky. Otherwise great stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank V9888FJjeffp
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi I'm really glad that you guys had a great stay with us. Our food offerings are complimented by all. Our biggest wish is parking for everyone. We hope to see you back soon. Thank you

Mountain View
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We had a great time staying at the Hideaway. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Miss Q at the front desk helped to make our stay even better. If your going to Carmel, I would recommend staying at the Hideaway, you won't be disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank normac549
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Norma It is very nice to read your kind words. I agree with that our staff are friendly and helpful. They really enjoy their job. We would deeply appreciate your recommending us to your friends and family. Please come back soon. Thank you

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
829 reviews
0.3 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,172 reviews
1.8 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
497 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.7 km away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are excited to introduce The Hideaway - re-imagined, rebranded and redesigned to perfectly complement the charming beachside community of Carmel. The 24-room boutique Inn recently underwent a massive redesign and now features sleek, yet comfortable interiors and an updated courtyard. Formerly the Cobblestone Inn, The Hideaway, is just steps away from the beach and downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Price Range: $359 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hideaway staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For UK travellers 1st floor means ground floor in the USA. If you'd struggle to carry your cases up a floor book 1st floor.”
FERG12, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose room number 1. Very loud.”
dtrnkl, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“corner suite on the ground floor that was great because of three windows.”
NancyVancouverCanada, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not - go elsewhere....”
JohnC722, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We chose a second floor room. No view though. Windows are THIN, beware.”
TiffanyG870, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$310* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$345
TripAdvisorUS$310
TravelocityUS$310
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates