We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hideaway

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Glendale, California
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The room was very clean and quiet. Excellent breakfast and wine and cheese. Staff are friendly and the location is excellent. I love staying in this place and I will definitely come back. I recommend this place to everyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank arazkh
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi I'm glad that you had a great stay with us. We take pride in our food services and I'm glad that you enjoyed them. I'll let the team know your kind words. We hope to have you back soon. Thank you

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 4 July 2016

The Hideaway was advertised as newly-renovated and I love what they did to the place! The rooms maybe small but well appointed and designed. The eating area and outdoor fire pit/fountain are my other favorites. Delicious breakfast and we much appreciated the wine/cheese offerings available soon after we checked in. Walking distance to restaurants and shops and although they didn't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FHHendricks
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello I appreciate you taking the time to give us such a great review. The property turned out well and our courtyard keeps getting better. We take a lot of pride in our breakfast offering and our afternoon service. We hope to see you back soon. Thank you Roy

Rocklin
Reviewed 2 July 2016

The location and setting were wonderful. Everything in town is easily within walking distance. The staff were extremely courteous. The free snacks and drinks provided were a nice extra touch. Limited parking is the only negative that I can think of.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrewkN1580EU
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello Andrew We thank you for the great compliments about our property. We're glad that you had a great stay. We receive many, many compliments about our food & beverage offerings. We hope to you return soon. Thank you Roy

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Enjoyed our stay at this newly refurbished property. So nice to stay in a place in Carmel which is fresh and new, even though it was originally a traditional old motel. The standard rooms are small still, but who stays very long in their room anyway? All new bathroom is great, as I had gotten tired of the old places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monarchtravel
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for staying with us and I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. The renovation has been well received by the many, many former guests who have returned. We have also made many improvements to our food services. We hope to see you back soon Roy

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Terrific experience. Very good staff. Great beds. Lovely redo. We loved it. Walking distance to everything. Recommend it. We would stay there again when visiting Carmel And we will recommend to friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank evebenton
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello I want to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide some great feedback. We would appreciate your spreading the good word. Hope to see you soon.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Great location, we had no problems parking, nice clean rooms, and our pup loved the doggy amenities they offered in the room as well. The bed was ultra comfortable, great night's sleep. The pillows were slightly puffy for my taste, but I managed to use the least puffy one and it was fine :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 923mirandap
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello I'm glad to hear you and your puppy enjoyed your stay with us. The mattresses are really popular with everyone. We hope to have you back soon. Thank you

Placerville, California
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Great place to stay and an easy walk to Ocean Avenue for shopping and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The beds are very comfortable with good pillows. The front desk staff were very friendly and also helped with good places to go for drinks and dinner. Highly recommend the Hideaway for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lorin709
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello I want to thank you for staying. We appreciate the great comments about the team, the services and the property. We agree that this the perfect place to get away from it all and Hideaway. Thank you Roy

Paso Robles, California
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Parking is a premium in Carmel, no different at the Hideaway. So the need for more parking is really a problem. Cannot emphasize that feature enough as any handicapped person would be hard pressed to load and unload luggage if they had a mobility problem.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hangtown46
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello We appreciate your staying with us and providing this valuable feedback. We wish we could do something about the parking around the property and the town but it is a difficult issue to take on. For our hotel we do offer guests who are in need of assistance to utilize the gate to load/unload luggage and to enter/leave the...

Los Gatos, California
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Excellent location, friendly staff, and a very peaceful setting. We would definitely stay again. Only a few items we would have preferred during our stay: the room was a bit stuffy and the thermostat was not working to cool the room, the mini-fridge is actually a micro-fridge (normal leftover/takeout restaurant containers do not fit), and in-room movie options would have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello Justin I would like to thank you for staying and also for providing this valuable feedback. I apologize that we did not do a good job in going over the amenities of the guestroom with you. I will review your observations and see what improvements we are able to provide. We hope to see you again soon. Roy

San Ramon, California
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We often went to stay at this hotel when it was the Cobblestone. After changing ownership we were concerned that they would modernize and it would lose all the charm we enjoyed. We recently went to Carmel and decided to take a look at the new Cobblestone, now named the Hideaway. They have certainly modernized the rooms so all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Voyageur5510
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hello We are really happy that you came back to stay with us and that you appreciate all that was done to the property. We are very happy with the results as all of our guests have been. You are correct in noting how all the team has returned to work here. They also are excited about all the improvements....

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
802 reviews
0.3 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,126 reviews
1.8 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.7 km away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#2 of 26 in Carmel
602 reviews
0.2 km away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are excited to introduce The Hideaway - re-imagined, rebranded and redesigned to perfectly complement the charming beachside community of Carmel. The 24-room boutique Inn recently underwent a massive redesign and now features sleek, yet comfortable interiors and an updated courtyard. Formerly the Cobblestone Inn, The Hideaway, is just steps away from the beach and downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Price Range: $315 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hideaway staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner suite on the ground floor that was great because of three windows.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyVancouverCanada, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not - go elsewhere....”
 of 5 bubbles JohnC722, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We chose a second floor room. No view though. Windows are THIN, beware.”
 of 5 bubbles TiffanyG870, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I think rooms on 2nd floor rooms would be quietest. We had Room #10 which is tucked away in corner of patio on 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles gypsyheart23, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I liked being on the second floor. The room next to us had more space and some better views- it was a mini suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Dreamgirl013, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5