We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

The rooms are good. Nothing to complain about in that area. Staff is nice. BUT! Lots of flies. They're literally everywhere - except in the rooms, thank God. The WiFi isn't stable AT ALL. It's 2015, there's no excuse. Also, only one pool (+ a small adult pool) for the entire resort. It's always crowded.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dannymalek8
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

dannymalek8, I appreciate you taking the time to post your review which gives us the chance to thank you for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for pointing our what you enjoyed and some areas where you felt we could improve. We hope to see you again if you return to the area.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Pros: The rooms are spacious, with everything that you need for a stay is there: complete kitchen, ustencils, nice dining table. Beautiful bedroom and nice comfortable bed. The room and the entire complex are very clean. Cons: the sofabed is awful. The mattress is paper thin, I woke up with a backache. You are better off sleeping on the cushions....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clarita2012
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Clarita 2012, I am happy that you enjoyed your villa. I will reach out to you via message for some clarification on your villa number. I apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay.

Reviewed 21 July 2015

Since we checked in, we have been waking up from people cutting the tree or grass at 9am. We are on vacation and do not want to be forced to wake up at 9am!. If it is a normal day of course we already awake!. First day, we thought okay, this is the day they have to do it, second...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hockeytravel888
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

hockeytravel888, I am sorry to hear about the challenges with our resort landscaping program. I will be sure to pass your thoughts on to our management team. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We were there July 11-18 we checked out a day early. Although the staff was pleasant, our room wasn't. Our room 259, was infested with cricketsand bugs. We killed 23 crickets in our room in 6 days we heard them chirping at night, and after my daughter woke up with a bite on her eyelid we left. We did call...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Songbird7287
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Songbird7287, I apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay. We have a very stringent pest inspection and treatment program throughout the year. Unfortunately there may still be challenges that arise on occasion. I apologize that we did not meet your full expectations and...

La Mesa, California
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I enjoyed three nights with a friend here just relaxing and working on a quilt project. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the mimosa Monday was a real treat. I will be back again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grossmont9372
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Grossmont9372, Thank you for taking the time to post you review. It gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us as well. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Union City, California, USA
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

Not your Marriott or Hilton resort, but still a nice, smaller complex with like amenities. We had a nice one bedroom with full kitchen for a week. Our room was upstairs and faced the adjacent golf course. Quieter as we didn't face the pool area. Complex had gym, laundry, snack bar, activities, game room. One large pool, one lap pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newdella2000
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Newdella2000, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for giving our future guests and idea of what to expect when they vacation with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning to vacation with us in the future.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel for fathers day. We had 4 rooms and we were very last minute. The staff was great at check in, but beware of the timeshare hit when you go to pick up your parking pass! The rooms were nice and spacious and the kitchen was well equiped. We brought our own ice chest and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sguidi
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

sguidi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our activities and amenities. We look forward to you returning for another excellent family getaway.

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 26 June 2015

The unit was ok but a little tired .Very frustrated with the wi fi service. It was a time share switch, not up to the standard we are used to. Like I said before, it was ok. It was centrally located. That was a big plus!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HJROB
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

HJROB, I am sorry to hear about the challenges you encountered with Wi-Fi I will be sure to pass that information on to our resort management team.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at this resort for 1 week in June. Perfect size condo for 2 people (stainless steel appliances, tile floors in kitchen, granite counters, golf course view was prefect and quite. 2 pools on site (1 for adults and 1 for families). Only downfall is Catherdral City is a bit removed from the rest of Palm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B H
Hutch F, Director of consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

B H, It is great to hear you both enjoyed your vacation here at Welk Desert Oasis. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Northridge, CA
Reviewed 18 June 2015

A very important aspect of how you can enjoy this resort and many others in this area is the season that you go. In the desert southwest summer is the slow season since most people want a little less heat and so they go elsewhere. Thus, many venues have limited hours and the communities seem quiet and abandoned. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GenoNorthridge_CA
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

GenoNorthridge_CA, I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and detail included on our resort amenities and activities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

283 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Adult Only Pool (9)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Bed (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
9.5 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
5.4 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
4.7 km away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
7.8 km away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-6637 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Region: United States > California > Cathedral City
Price Range: $174 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis Cathedral City/California Desert, CA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Kelowna, Canada
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for golf course view”
 of 5 bubbles 77maple123, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“golf course view is best and quietest”
 of 5 bubbles gerleg12, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the mountains and away from the parking lot as you can hear the traffic along Cathedral Canyon.”
 of 5 bubbles jminett, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are two floors in the various buildings. Pick an upper floor if you don't mind stairs and want more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles xj6response, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“End units have the best view and the bed is on an outside wall so it's quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles M1315PVdanw, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5