We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Newport Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Newport Beach
Motel 6 Newport Beach
Panoramas (39)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Newport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Alaska
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I watched at the office that the manager was very rude to minority people! The employee treated the minority people no respect at all!!! Room was cleaned but smelly and room was not securely locked afterwards, which was a little concerning. The night went on the next door and the hallway got louder and VERY much louder and went on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilmay48
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

aprilmay48, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I'm sorry you felt that our manager was rude to minorities, but I want to assure you that we aim to treat all of our guests with respect. In fact, our manager, and most of our hotel staff, are minorities themselves. I still apologize, though, that you found...

Lake Mary Fl
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a quick hotel that's clean in Costamesa /Newport area this is good. The staff was very nice and helpful Fixing my reservation for me which had the wrong bed size. The parking is free and convenient, free wifi, pool, laundry facility's Convenient location. Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tennisfamily808
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Tennisfamily808, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back again!

Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Close to the beach. Clean, upgraded with laminate floors (glad not to have carpeting!) Even though it is close to the freeway, the rooms are back far enough not to have any street noise! There is a nice cozy Italian restaurant next door. For the price it was pretty nice!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie S
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Stephanie S, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Reviewed 8 February 2016

It is what it is... a $75 motel close to Newport Beach. The room was what I expected; laminate floors, small (but clean) bathroom, lots of nearby takeout and delivery food, and of course the BEACH is just a little ways away. When I stayed here I didn't spend much time in the room because there was so much to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PDXtrent
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

PDXtrent, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and our service, and hope to see you again next time you're in Southern California!

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

We always use mitel 6 no matter where we go. I love the ease of reserving online and if we have to change dates customer service is always friendly and empathic. We are going to ventura in a week and I have no worrys because motel 6 is known well for clean and comfortable rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Creeds_gem
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Creeds_gem, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon! Safe travels!

Centralia, Washington
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Oh my goodness, this hotel would be a 4 star hotel if it had a restaurant which is outstanding star rating according to AAA. I have been in the hotel business for over 25 years. I've consulted for marketing for 2 to 5 star hotels to get them the most business for the money people pay. This hotel is right...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristian A
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Kristian A, Thank you for the awesome review! We are glad to hear that a professional like yourself truly enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon, we'd love to have you again!

Orange County, United States
Reviewed 5 January 2016

I was very busy moving out of my home less than a week prior to Christmas in order to have my wood floors refinished. I needed something close to home and that allowed pets. I booked this hotel sight unseen based upon photos and high favorable reviews on both tripadvisor and Expedia.com. Upon check-in the desk personnel were initially very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Michele M, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than pleasant. While we cannot change your experience at our hotel, we will use your review to improve our staff and hotel as a whole. I want to assure you that this is not the way our hotel normally operates,...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 January 2016

My mom and I stayed at this hotel based on the good reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The room was large, very clean, updated and in the back away from the street. I loved the hardwood floors instead of old nasty carpet; I wasn't afraid to walk barefoot for a change. There was even enough space to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rana S
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Rana S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year's. We would love to see you back here again!

Rancho Cucamonga
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Hotel was very reasonable for price, the staff were all friendly and the rooms were modern and very clean. Don't expect beach views and bell hops and you won't be disappointed. I got to Newport Beach in about 10mins drive and there was a grocery store about 5 min walk away, they have ice and vending machines next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Matthew H, Thank you for the great review! We are very glad to hear that your stay was convenient and enjoyable. We look forward to having you back in the near future!

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Room was clean, quite basic and does not feel homely but was perfect for what we were looking for. If you are looking for luxury then this is not suitable. Secure free parking facilities, we did not use the pool so cannot comment on that aspect. Well placed for exploring costa mesa and newport beach area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Louise H, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is important to us that all of our guests are more than satisfied with their stay here, and we will continuously work towards improving the hotel with the help of your review.

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard (24)
Viewed
Double Queen Suite (26)
Viewed
King Studio (25)
Viewed
King Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Standard King (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
2.6 km away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
0.6 km away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
218 reviews
2.6 km away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
0.6 km away
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renovated in June 2009 with a modern, European boutique-style flair , modern guestroom design that features bright accent colors. The room includes ambient lighting, wood-effect flooring rather than carpet, and a 32-inch flat-screen TV. The flat screen TV is displayed on the entertainment unit which conceals the door-less wardrobe behind it, thus combining two needs into one unit. Also included on the entertainment unit is a cubby for personal items and a multi-media panel allowing guests to plug in their mp3 players, CD players and laptop computers – this feature allows guests to listen to their favorite tunes or use the flat-screen TV as their computer monitor while enjoying Wi-Fi internet access in their room. The room also features pedestal beds with a new taupe-colored coverlet and pillow-top platform mattress. Guests will also notice the clean style and the upscale touch of the colored bed scarf that matches the accent wall color. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport Beach

Address: 2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-1751
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Price Range: $112 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel 6 Newport Beach Costa Mesa, Orange County, CA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Newport Beach staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Newport Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spend a bit more.....at this Motel 6 you get what you pay for......despite overpriced !!”
 of 5 bubbles kma715, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The top floors are the quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles dven8, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The smoking rooms are the closest to the pool. HOWEVER .... as a Non smoker, there was no smell in the room,”
 of 5 bubbles brkinlv, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the top floor so no one is walking above you.”
 of 5 bubbles dven8, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you want a good room, Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles amandav511, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5