We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 489: English reviews
San Francisco, United States
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We love the rooms at this place, have stayed many times over the last five or so years. We wouldn't have minded the pool being closed this time, but the jet spa/jacuzzi right next to it that we're used to using was closed off too. The last two times the jets weren't working and we just soaked in warm water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
Petaluma
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great check in great room cleaning services! She was amazing as my check in with Wendy who was the most amazing, friendly, polite, professional, compassionate, and if I could have taken her home she would be in my bag with Renee I believe her name was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellefA5425NW
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

michellefA5425NW, Thank you so much for the very nice review. That was so nice of you to call out the employees that gave you great service. I make sure I give any employee extra recognition when they give great service and are mentioned in reviews. Thanks again, and I hope to see you soon.

Federal Way, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here one night on my way down 101 from Oregon - comfortable hotel, good rate (I got online and saved $50), comfortable bar with decent food, and a very friendly bar manager. Wish they included some sort of breakfast like other properties do, but a good stay overall. OK internet service, helpful staff, plenty of parking, and a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noworries2000
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

noworries2000, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our comfortable hotel and bar. Sorry about the pool, a part went out on it and we needed to wait for the part to show up.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean rooms, quiet most part. Company pays for room but if I was paying for room they need to have continental breakfast. I like the rooms have frigerator & microwave, & little coffeemaker. -----------

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Brian B. Thank you for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your clean and quiet room. Sorry about not having a Continental breakfast. Many guests do enjoy our roaring start breakfast, and that we cook a full breakfast buffet.

Alameda, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The wifi was very weak and was basically useless, cutting in and out, but it was free. Showers in neighboring rooms very loud. However, price was right and location was good. Overall a clean hotel. Good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Steve C. Thank you for your review. We are in the middle updating our wifi again.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed overnight at the end of our day trip from Willits through the Valley of the Giants redwoods. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. We were a couple of minutes drive from seafood restaurants and the historic old Eureka area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Peter B Thank you for the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable room. I'm glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and your visit to old town.

Weed, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at this hotel October 31 and November 1st. The hotel is very clean, rooms are large with fridge, microwave and big screen. The staff is very friendly and professional. They helped us with directions, recommended places to eat and even offered umbrellas during a downpour. Right on the 101 so easy to find. All types...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Kevin D. Thank you for the kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your large and clean room. We just installed the new big screen TV's in the rooms. I'm happy you had a good time visiting the local sites.

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This place needs a major upgrade throughout the whole facility. It is constantly noisy being next to Hwy 101. It was also loud inside the hotel with activity going on late into the night. It is clean and comfortable with nice large TV's . The breakfast is absolutely horrible, don't waste your money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miles R
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Miles R. I'm sorry your stay was noisy with the traffic. I'm also sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast buffet, we do change up the offerings daily. I'm glad you did enjoy your clean and comfortable room.

Sant Francesc de Formentera, Spain
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I left a phone charger in the room of the hotel and after two days, nobody has been able to tell me if they found it. When I call I get a really annoying 4 + 6 options menu. Then the front desk tried to transfer to lost and found and they never answer or respond to the messages I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iria F
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Iria F. I'm sorry it was hard to contact lost and found about your charger. They are not usually next to the phone to answer it right away. When you talk to the front desk, they should be able to get ahold of them during the day. Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast buffet.

Bothell, United States
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed here on our trip down the Oregon and California coast. Our walk to dinner should have told us to remove our bikes from the rack. The rough looking characters hanging out near the front door of the hotel should have warned us to move along. The curtains blocking the desk clerks view of the parking lot, should have registered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bret C
Louis R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Bret C. Thank you for your review. Sorry that the tough crowd in our city affected your trip down the Oregon and California coast.

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
672 reviews
0.9 km away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
213 reviews
0.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Price Range: $125 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Eureka staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Eureka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a first floor room in the back if you want a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles noworries2000, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor in front have sliding door to parking lot so convenient moving luggage from car. Rooms are loud, very little insulation”
 of 5 bubbles gogirlie3, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room without an adjoining room door”
 of 5 bubbles 655reneec, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Parking lot side of the hotel if you want a balcony (they are not large, and don't have any chairs on the balcony).”
 of 5 bubbles Weekender327, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just ask Louis....”
 of 5 bubbles C414UOsusanl, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay