We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Eureka
See the most recent reviews
Showing 489: English reviews
Redding, California
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this Red Lion a few years ago on business and it seems to be going down hill. The hotel was full on a Saturday night and they had half of the parking lot blocked off for a resurfacing project to be done on Sunday. It seems it would have been more logical to do this kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello Ann B, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you had issues with your room and did not enjoy your stay. We work diligently to ensure every room is cleaned to the highest standard. I am sorry that the standard was not met in your room. Hopefully we will have...

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Ok so we thought we had a great choice with another hotel in the area. . SO WRONG. .. had to leave that place. Not a safe area and that place was really run down Luckily, we found Red Lion Inn not too far away. Super friendly staff. Terrific in helping my mom ease her mind. ..plus it's pet friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Lisa P, thank you for writing a review. I was very pleased to hear that you and your mother enjoyed your stay. I hope we will be able to serve you again soon. Have a wonderful summer.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Staff was very friendly, room was clean and spacious. The location is great as it leads right to the highway. It is a pretty big hotel so some walking is required - just a precaution in case anyone has difficulty doing so.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hari R
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello Hari R, Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay. you are correct, this hotel covers two city blocks and can result in some walking. Luckily we have lots of parking and entrances. I hope to serve you again and wish you a wonderful summer.

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 13 June 2015

We only stay in pet friendly places and our dogs liked this place. Check in was fast and friendly. Nice grassy areas for a quick walk. The room was quiet and clean with amazing samples from the Cascadia soapery (conditioner was awesome) WiFi was fast and easy. Excellant shower. The few downpoints were no free breakfast, and the homeless in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bbfiat
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

bbfiat, Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you and your pets enjoyed your stay. The Cascadia products are our new in room soaps and shampoos and are a great product. We hope to serve you again soon!

Panama city beach
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed because of pet and was not disappointed. Was put on first floor with access to outside for my dog. Big comfy beds. Large rooms. Restaurant on premises. Service was a little slow but the food was worth it. Decided to stay an extra day. Would stay again! Indoor pool and hot tub is on the agenda for this evening!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rapidcward
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Dear Rapidcward, thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to see that both you and your pet had a pleasant stay. Hopefully, you also enjoyed the pool. thank you for your business and have a great summer.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We stayed here because the hotel was pet friendly, however they do require that you pay a pet fee and an additional $40 deposit. The room was clean and fairly quiet. The staff at check in and check out was not very friendly. There is no breakfast but there is a dining room where you can order breakfast, however based...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Greetings Ann M, Thank you for writing a review. I happy that we were able to accommodate your pet but disappointed that the breakfast and comfort were not at a high standard. Based on reviews, we have changed our breakfast offering and added more selections. We also have night security that patrols the property to increase safety. I hope that...

South Devon
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

We pre booked this hotel as part of a three week trip along the Pacific Coast. We were disappointed by the location of this hotel, soul less on a junction of the 101. On checking in, were told breakfast was available at a charge of $10.49pp. Despite our booking voucher which stated breakfast was included. We did not stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jlosouthdevon
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Dear Jlosouthdevon, thank you for your review. I apologize for the confusion you experienced with breakfast. We work to provide the best service we can to each customer and are disappointed that was not your experience. I hope that we will have an opportunity to serve you again and improve on your experience.

California
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We stayed for two nights over Memorial Day weekend. The room was comfortable although it was difficult to adjust the heat to a consistent temperature. The general quality of our room was ok but very dated and in need of an overhaul. The top of the pictures were dusty but the room was pretty clean otherwise. Mostly it just seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yeatswan
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Dear Yeatswan, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to note that you felt our location was convenient and that our staff and rooms were to your standard. I am disappointed that you felt our breakfast and fitness room were poor. We are very passionate about providing excellent food as well as...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

We had an awesome time at the Red Lion Hotel in Eureka. Being in the middle of everywhere we toured in the Redwoods and the coast and some really awesome places to eat and drink. The staff was hands down the best and very attentive to our needs. The hotel was well maintenanced and very clean. I'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel G
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Mel G, Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We look forward to serving you again!

Devon
Reviewed 23 May 2015

It was comfortable enough but it's in the middle of nowhere. We took the advice of others and got a room at the back overlooking the trailer park , there's a road but it was pretty quiet. The problem was the smell! From the shower curtain to the bedding and pillows it all smelt, well, unpleasant. Musty and sweaty. Yuk....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martinthecritic
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Dear Martinthecritic, Thank you for your review. I apologize for the odor issues you experienced in your room. We dedicate ourselves to room cleanliness and comfort and work daily to improve. It is disappointing to hear that your room was not up to our usual standard. I will also share your comments with the wait staff. They are very dedicated...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
672 reviews
0.9 km away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
213 reviews
0.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Price Range: $125 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Eureka staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Eureka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a first floor room in the back if you want a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles noworries2000, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor in front have sliding door to parking lot so convenient moving luggage from car. Rooms are loud, very little insulation”
 of 5 bubbles gogirlie3, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room without an adjoining room door”
 of 5 bubbles 655reneec, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Parking lot side of the hotel if you want a balcony (they are not large, and don't have any chairs on the balcony).”
 of 5 bubbles Weekender327, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just ask Louis....”
 of 5 bubbles C414UOsusanl, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay