We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef Dive Resort

Save
Share
Mataking 91000, Malaysia
Traveller (1181)
Pool & Beach (177)
Room & Suite (123)
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
Mataking 91000 Malaysia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
4 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
167
56
23
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
167
56
23
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmataking islandbeautiful islandgreat divingbeach chaletsand barlow tidepom pom islandcelebes seaboat ridefood varietytrue paradiseclear waterbuffet stylemeal timesarmed guardsworth the effortremote island
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 261 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Pros: Room are clean, wide and well organized The staff are friendly and always trying to help the view is awesome everywhere and at anytime the dive sites there are good and you can go to "Sipadan" from there by speed boat the dive center...More

Thank Ahmed E
Reviewed May 1, 2018

very nice staff and very good facilities, great place for escape and relief, very good option for honeymoon and new couples. not too much activities for kids, easy dive site for underwater lovers. I LOVE IT.

Thank Red Sea Secrets D
Reviewed April 18, 2018

When you pay the kind of prices this resort charges (£500+/night) you expect a certain level of service and standards. Unfortunately we encountered a number of things during our 3 days stay on the island that fell far short of the service i had anticipated...More

Thank Da_Swiss
Response from MatakingIsland, Manager at The Reef Dive ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Moncton, We were sorry that you had to wait during the transfer gong into and out of the resort. There must have been some miscommunication there and in fact all our boat schedules are included at our website and guests are advised to take...More

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing 3 nights stay at Mataking Island. Clear blue water, great snorkelling sites and amazing fishes! The hotel is great as well. Quiet, clean and comfortable room with very helpful staff. John from reception was very accommodating during our stay. Highly recommended!!

Thank Firhan F
Reviewed March 21, 2018

A group of us total 5 person came to spend our vacation here last week, and I experience the worst treatment ever in my whole life, the reason i chose this place is because it's the most expensive island resort in the area and i...More

3  Thank Miamitiger
Response from MatakingIsland, General Manager at The Reef Dive ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

We apologize to hear about your experience and the lack of care from our divemaster. We realize that the staff you have mentioned is a new dive crew member. We shall look into his behaviour seriously and rectify the matter for the benefit and safety...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The Reef Dive Resort at Mataking Island is an exclusive romantic & diving destination in the Celebes Sea, located just 40 minutes boat ride from Semporna, East Coast of Sabah in Malaysia. It is a promised ...More island with majestic treasures, natural warmth and friendship for holiday makers, spa lovers, honeymooners and divers alike. Whether it is a retreat for yourself or exciting undersea exploration, you’ll find Mataking the perfect choice.The resort is caressed by the tropical sea breeze. Our executive king chalets, premier deluxe rooms and brand new luxurious beach villas designed in traditional architecture offering simply elegant and exquisite accommodation for up to 100 guests in a serene and cozy environment. Enjoy Malaysian and International cuisine with an enticing spread of fresh local seafood or relish the weekend barbecued favorites at our sea facing restaurant. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Concierge
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
49
Price range
US$569 - US$609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Pulau Mataking Reef Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Mataking
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
49
Price range
US$569 - US$609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Pulau Mataking Reef Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Mataking
Photos
Traveller (1,181)
Pool & Beach (177)
Room & Suite (123)
Dining (39)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sonya E
November 4, 2017|
Answer
Response from ChrisKurtGabel | Reviewed this property |
The trip was bumpy on the way there and you will be accompanied by soldiers for protection as they had some issues a couple of years ago. We got three dives in easily and it was well worth it. Sipidan has a beach and you... More
2
Votes
Tricia F
August 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from UndiscoveredWorld | Reviewed this property |
I only used the Wi-Fi that was provided at the resort. Be warned though, it's slow.
0
Votes
DulcieMillward
January 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Berry_Ranger | Reviewed this property |
if you have any food restriction, you may inform this upon reservation then make clear with the restaurant staff again on arrival. the chef can prepare one special dish for you then have a look what you could have from the... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"viila is big. quiet"
Read review
"Beach Chalets were the best, however do not go here - not worth it"
Read review
"Villa room"
Read review
"Bungalow Villa"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing