We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surf Motel and Gardens

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surf Motel and Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

694 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Surf Motel and Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 672: English reviews
Hamler, Oh
Reviewed 8 September 2015

The front desk help was so nice, the gardens were so pleasant with hummingbirds everywhere. They had chairs outside the rooms which you park in front of, and seating in the gardens. The rooms were nice and spacious. I would go back again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lange1
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

The front desk help was so nice, the gardens were so pleasant with hummingbirds everywhere. They had chairs outside the rooms which you park in front of, and seating in the gardens. The rooms were nice and spacious. I would go back again and again. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here &...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We found this place during a harrowing trip over Hwy 1 in the dark. The room was comfortable, parking was ample, very quiet despite its proximity to the main road. The shower was spacious and had a bench...which was useful after multiple hikes and horse back riding! The gals at the front desk were very helpful and knowledgeable about activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

We are very happy that you were able to stay with us here at the Surf Motel & Gardens! It is good to hear you found your accommodations to be comfortable & that our staff was able to provide you with knowledgeable customer service as our guests are our #1 priority here at the surf. We look forward to having...

Maui
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

This was a very sweet little motel. Reasonably priced, comfortable, very clean and very friendly. A minimum continental breakfast was served. Also very quiet. This motel was just the south of town and convenient to get where I needed to go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at the Surf Motel & Gardens! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to seeing you again in the near future :)

Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Rachel at the front desk greeted us with a friendly smile and checked us in right away. The rooms have windows for a nice fresh ocean breeze, no ac needed. This was a safe, pretty and affordable location, perfect for our overnight getaway. Close to plenty of restaurants and beautiful beach side attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reddsiren
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Surf Motel & Gardens for your overnight coastal getaway! We are very happy to hear that you received excellent service & enjoyed your stay as our guests are our #1 priority! It will be our pleasure to accommodate you again during your future travels along the Mendocino Coast & would like to offer you an...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 August 2015

My wife and I traveled for the last 3 weeks thru California,Nevada and Arizona and I have to say this place was the worst and most expensive one. We stayed at the Marriot in Las V and other bigger brand hotels/motels on our trip, this place was most expensive and not worth it. It's old,noisy and breakfast is bad.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank n-opp-1e
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

we regret that you did not find your stay as pleasing as you wanted. our prices for summer rates are comparable to motel 6 rates, which are among the lowest in the town. As for our breakfast we offer more than most of your 5 star hotels with just coffee and a doughnut as to where we offer coffee, a...

kingman
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Great stay over ----- was very pleasant to walk through the gardens ,..... though somewhat overgrown . The room was nothing special but the hotel is walking distance from several good restaurants including Daves and a good Pizza Joint Nice clean place and accepts pets .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Realtor B
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Surf Motel & Gardens! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our lovely gardens & found your accommodations to be comfortable & convenient. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again during your future travels :)

Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewed 24 August 2015

This was a last minute booking, so our options were limited. We're glad we picked this hotel. The staff at the lobby is friendly and helpful. The room was fine: clean and everything in perfect working order; the bathroom could need a touch up, but that's all. Wifi is no better or no worse than other hotels in the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lemca13090
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here with us at the Surf Motel & Gardens & for taking the time to write a review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay & would love to accommodate you again the next time you are on the mendocino coast :)

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2015

The Surf Motel and Gardens is a very pleasant property with attractive landscaping and well-kept units surrounding parking and Gardens. Not a new property by any means, but in good shape and apparently well run. Pleasant and efficient staff. Though the property is right along the highway, we didn't experience a lot of road noise. Not right in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alphabetkid
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us here at the Surf Motel & Gardens! We are glad that you enjoyed our lovely grounds & were comfortable during your stay. Here at the Surf Motel our guests are our #1 priority so we are very happy to hear that the service our staff provided reflects that. Thank you again & we look...

San Jose, California, United States
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

A really nice clean room with comfortable bed and all the necessary conveniences. Slightly dated bathroom but clean and functional. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast a bonus. Stayed just one night whilst on a trip north. Would gladly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross A
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Surf Motel & Gardens! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here & that you would consider staying with us again. We very much appreciate our return guests & would gladly offer you an additional discount next time you stay. Thank you again & we look forward to seeing you in the...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The grounds were well maintained, the room was clean but the cigarette smoke was horrible. A young man (not a guest of the hotel) was doing laundry and smoking outside our room from 3:00 - 10:00 pm causing us to close our windows and use the air conditioner rather than enjoy the fresh Fort Bragg air. When he left at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy2915
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review

Dear guest, We do apologize for this major inconvenience that caused your discomfort during your stay. we are indeed a non smoking facility and have areas that are to entertain smokers. the fact that our staff had not seen it we apologize and will have them keep a better eye out for these situations. as for the laundry room it...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.8 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
458 reviews
0.7 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
593 reviews
4.2 km away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
290 reviews
4.4 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
394 reviews
13.2 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Price Range: $95 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surf Motel and Gardens staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Surf Motel and Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the very back. It is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TheCosmicTraveler, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Boat parking and fish cleaning station available.”
 of 5 bubbles Wapakk, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I believe the quieter rooms are on the inside portion of the motel toward the back.”
 of 5 bubbles EdD855, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a single story room at the back of the motel that's away from the road and a short walk to the private beach.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherL183, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“fire pit in center of complex”
 of 5 bubbles charliemaier, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5