We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 454: English reviews
Start your review of The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had decided to extend our stay. We had been at a hotel next door, but they wanted too much to extend our stay, so we went here. We ended up liking this hotel better! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was nice. We have a follow-up visit set for during the Summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank empresssharyl
JeffHeadLumberjack, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to be your second and better choice... and now we get to see you again in the summer. We love return guests. And our full breakfast is back and better than ever. Safe travels.

Arlington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel five nights. When I arrived in my room the first night there was a big clump of dry dirt on the floor. It was never vacuumed up. Still there when I checked out. Twice I had to go down to the office and get clean towels in exchange for the ones left on the floor....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X6923RCdavids
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The kitchen was being remodeled so no hot breakfast. That was a big draw for us because we had early morning starts. No hot breakfast meant getting up earlier to find something. Also found out that the pool area felt air conditioned. It was flat out cold. And evidently there needs to be an update to the online pics, because...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eden2020
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

First, we have replaced all the heating/cooling units at The Redwood over the past seven months. We have three rooms left to replace and those have been ordered. It is unfortunate that you chose to stay in your room under such adverse conditions and could have simply brought up the issue to the front desk... they would have happily moved...

Yorba Linda
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The TV cable service was not working and the desk was not helpful. The room was adequate. I do not like using dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and lotion. For sanitary reasons, I would prefer individual bottles. The bathroom shower/toilet area was very cramped.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherryf707
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

We are updating our cable system and will have better channels and quality... I do apologize for the lack of help from the desk. We are the mercy of the cable company and are new system will have better access to correct any issues. We switched to dispensers about three and half years ago. It has allowed us the ability...

Reno
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

$240 for 2 nights the "heated" pool was cold. The breakfast was basically gas station prepackaged crap. Had to call the office numerous times to complain about people above us and their noise into the wee hours of the night (and nothing was ever done about it)... Was expecting way better for the price we paid!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardcE4034TA
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

We have new pool equipment and our pool is always heated... if the staff is made aware we can quickly rectify an incorrect situation. I do apologize for our loud guests, although we try, we cannot always make others respectful. I have also discussed this issue with the staff to ensure we are following up.

Coquille, Oregon
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I stayed at this location previously in February 2012 when it was a Holiday Inn Express, and since then has been a place that I have thought of if I need a stop over along the 101 in California. Well, the need happened after being held up by a crash that closed the 101 for four hours south of here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank speedracer05
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Redwood... again. Same owners and great staff as before! We are in the process of replacing mattresses and our rolling out the process throughout the year. Safe travels.

Sacramento
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We booked a last minute stay as one of us I had a job interview just a few hundred yards down the street. However, our single overnight stay was overall great, with the exception of the hotel NOT having a elevator. Especially, considering that both of us have back and knee problems.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 778deirdrea
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

We do try to get some downstairs rooms available... but it is not always possible to accommodate our last minute guest. But... our staff always able and willing to assist with luggage and comfort. Glad you enjoyed The Redwood. Safe travels.

Reviewed 11 February 2017

It was terrible. They didn't refill the soap, body wash or the lotion they have out to use the floor was still wet from them shampooing the rug. When called about this the lady stated she would be right here to refill everything she NEVER showed. My neighbors were up all night talking really loud. If they have people living...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle W
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

We made a mistake and did not fill your dispensers. And i did speak with our Front Desk staff concerning their follow up... it appears there was mis-communication on our behalf. Just to be clear, we do not have "drugies" living at The Redwood. If at anytime our guests have issues with noise we are able and willing to assist....

Canberra
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We stayed here due to bad weather during our travels along the East Coast, Check in was quick, lady not very forthcoming with information as she seemed disinterested in being there. Rooms were a decent size, bathroom was clean. Laundry facilities available. Free WiFi, TV, heating in room, Fridge. Dog Friendly. People a few doors up were drinking and smoking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thackers75
JeffHeadLumberjack, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

First I want to apologize for your experience at our front desk. Myself and our Hotel Steward pride ourselves on the level of service our team offers. We will definitely be reviewing your experience with the front desk team. The property is non smoking and and we are always happy to remind our guests this... please let us know. Very...

Sacramento
Reviewed 27 January 2017

I wish I could have stayed longer. The room was very nice and I got a great nights sleep. The tv worked great and thanks for the user friendly remote. Hot water in the shower was immediate and there were plenty of towels. I was very impressed! Staff was very gracious for our late arrival. Will definitely be back as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wandad952
JeffHeadLumberjack, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Glad that everything was great. We are actually upgrading our tv service and look forward to our guests' continued enjoyment. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Redwood. Safe travels.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
189 reviews
22.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
7.2 km away
Bear River Casino Resort
0.0 km away
Super 8 Fortuna
Super 8 Fortuna
#3 of 7 in Fortuna
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. . In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540-8535
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Price Range: $119 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles MZSSR, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevator but I believed the staf would try to accommodate on the first of given the chance.”
 of 5 bubbles Greg&Shannon , 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“great location, dog friendly, excellent breakfast, reasonably priced”
 of 5 bubbles 364sharonh, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face the parking lot - it was very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherL183, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The larger back rooms around 130 are nice and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles nidan196, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5