We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kimpton Goodland

Show Prices
#6 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kimpton Goodland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Lake Forest, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We rented a suite at the Goodland over the holiday weekend and were disappointed. We love staying at funky hotels, such as this Ace in Palm Springs, but the Goodland did not live up to expectations. Many of the their remodeling seems to have been done haphazardly when they were trying to change this motel into a hipster paradise. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pkashinsky
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

pkashinsky, Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and sorry to hear about your stay. We will be sure to have our engineering team take a look at the heating unit in the room and get that repaired. Please feel free to contact me by the email address below or phone as we would love...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We paid almost 275$ per night but disappointed !! This hotel should not be worth more than 150$ per night 25$ for "resort fee" - what resort ? All they have is a swimming pool with no hot tub even. The rooms are just a hyped up best western and they look so cheap from the outside. The neighborhood is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReluctantReviewer1
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

ReluctantReviewer1, Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and we will be sure to share your kind words with the team. As for the decor of the hotel we receive numerous compliments about the style of the hotel however we understand that the design is not for everyone. Sorry to hear you didn't feel safe...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I planned a trip along the California Coast with my girlfriend and dog. I've always liked staying at Kimpton's and decided to give the Goodland a try and was not disappointed. The location right off Highway 101 was very easy to find and made the rest of the Santa Barbara Coast easily accessible. We stayed 3 nights, originally booked 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WNY1976
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

WNY1976, Thank you for the review from your recent stay and we couldn't agree more the hotel is hip. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Goodland, really soon. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots to love about the vibe here, but as other reviews point out, at the end of the day this is any other roadside motel with lipstick and a better attitude. Pluses - friendly service, good food and nice outdoor spaces. Minuses - Sleep was impossible as the massive gap between our door and the frame kept the noise flowing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkbeecher
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

jkbeecher, Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland and we agree the vibe is great. We will be sure to share your comments with our team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Anaheim, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've read all the bad reviews and I feel that they are talking about a different hotel. I've stayed at Kimpton Goodland for 2 nights with my husband and we LOVED it! This place is really beautiful and unique. I love how they decorated, it's so tasteful. The lobby has a beautiful fireplace, the restaurant is super nice and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana D
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Tatiana D, Thank you for the wonderful review from your recent stay we will be sure to share with the team. We look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kimpton hotels are all different and this one unfortunately is at the bottom of my pile. It's a remodeled 2 floor motel. Pool is surrounded by rooms on 3 sides, restaurant & offices etc on the 4the side. Some rooms face the pool, some face the parking lot. The restaurant is nicely situated next to the poo, the breakfast offerings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Lisa M, Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland and sorry to hear about your visit. We will be sure to address your concerns with our managers to get these items corrected. Rest assured we will get these items corrected and hope to see you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Holly Springs, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Goodland June 19,2016 thru October 29, 2016. The company I worked for stated "we are under contract" and could not be moved to another hotel. I had to endure: 1. I saw an ant crawling on my arm whilst in bed. No problam. I smashed it out. I turn to shut off the light and see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank As3458
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

As3458 Thank you for the review from your very long stay with us at the Goodland. We will be sure to share your comments with the department heads for them to address with their teams. We did have a number of your co workers who informed us how much fun they had staying with us for this assignment. Please feel...

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having checked in to this hotel following a transatlantic flight, we went to the restaurant for dinner. Once we were seated we were ignored for 30 minutes despite the restaurant being 80% empty. Having eventually been served we retired to bed, heavily jet lagged. We were awoken at midnight by a terrifying and extremely loud mechanical noise coming from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snookymocha
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Snookymocha, Thank you for the review from your recent visit and sorry to hear of the issues with your stay. We have forwarded your comments to our various department heads to address. As for the refund if you have not the credit please contact me at the email below so I can get this taken care of for you. Rest...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel because it is "dog-friendly" and it really was. Room was nice and clean and we were welcomed in it with a dog bed and bowls ready to use. All over the hotel (except inside the restaurant), our dog was welcome - bowls even in the lobby. First time at a Kimpton property and we were pleased...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kardex2dog
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Kardex2dog, Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland and what took you so long to find Kimpton. We will be sure to share you comments with our team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Roseville, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Goodland multiple times for business travel. The staff have always been very pleasant and my previous stays have been ok. This last trip was the worst experience. I was woken up at 4am with a pincher bug crawler up my arm under the covers!! The disastrous started with finding, what looks like blood stains on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pyd1122
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

pyd1122, Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and sorry to hear about the stay. The experience and the response you received from the team are not indicative of the service offered. If this has not been resolved please contact me to help get this resolved. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager 805-964-3571 robert.cole@thegoodland.com

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
11.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
929 reviews
0.8 km away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
11.5 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,221 reviews
10.8 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
913 reviews
10.5 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel is a boutique surf hotel in Santa Barbara's sister city Goleta. This new beach chic hot spot features an outdoor pool, on-site spa, fitness center offering daily classes, restaurant and lobby bar. Brand new fresh carpet and wood flooring. Evenings are filled with live music, movie nights in the courtyard and more entertainment. The Goodland is conveniently located near UCSB, Goleta's business district and downtown Santa Barbara. It's all good at the Goodland: Book Now. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kimpton Goodland

Address: 5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117 (Formerly The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Price Range: $261 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Goodland 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Goodland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Goleta
#6 Business Hotel in Goleta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kimpton Goodland staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kimpton Goodland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need to sleep, get a room on the top floor on the back. Try for a room AWAY from the 0500 laundry truck.”
  • Cleanliness of the floor AFTER room service.
 of 5 bubbles As3458, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sat well clear of room 103 and 105”
 of 5 bubbles Snookymocha, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Facing the pool was very nice and preferable to facing the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles kardex2dog, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are the best with small outdoor seating areas facing the pool”
 of 5 bubbles matthewlN7115DN, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stairs to take luggage up if on floor 2”
 of 5 bubbles howard1232015, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay